North London Railway
The North London Railway running from Kensal Rise Station proceeds westwards
Post to the east Kensal Green
Post to the south Willesden Junction
This post covers only the south west corner of the square
Furness Primary School. Opened in 1908 as a council school and reorganised in 1925. It was partly destroyed in Second World War bombing and later rebuilt.
High street Harlesden
Church of God Prophecy. This was built in 1888 as a church for the United Free Methodists
33 Rebirth Tabernacle. This was originally opened by Harlesden Evangelical in 1905. It became a Baptist chapel in 1933.
154 In the 1890s this was the Hygienic Hospital, set up by Dr. Thomas Allinson (developer of the wholemeal bread). It was “Established for Treating the Working Classes on Hygienic Principles. As we have no funds, a charge of 10s. is made a-week to patients to help to make up a deficiency in our income. We treat our patients without poisonous drugs, disease-producing intoxicants, fish, flesh, fowl, or animal broths, which are poor foods, and not worth a tenth of the money paid for them. We also do not allow tea or coffee, as experience has shown us that they are the cause of many complaints”.
British History OnLine. Willesden. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Field. London Place Names
Furness Road Primary School. Web site
Malthusian Herald 1891
Mitchell and Smith. North London Line
Pevsner and Cherry. North West London
Rebirth Tabernacle. Web site