Thursday, 31 March 2016

Riverside - south of the River,. west of the Tower. Nine Elms

Riverside - south of the River,. west of the Tower. Nine Elms

Post to the east Vauxhall and Riverside
Post to the west Battersea - power/dogs/park


Ascalon Street
Previously named Cross Street and renamed in the late 19th the road is said to be named after the biblical town of Ashequelon, where Samson slew the Philistines.
Rose Clubroom and Community Centre1 Duke of Cornwall pub. Now demolished


Battersea Park Road 
This square covers only a short stretch of the road between Stewart’s Lane and Kirtling Street. This was formerly Lower Wandsworth Road, the old route from Nine Eels to Battersea Village
Public baths. These were built by Battersea Council in 1901. It was seen as a very dirty area and in need of this facility. The design was by Francis J. Smith, ‘in the Renaissance style. It had a huge swimming bath with galleries so it could be used for other entertainments. There was a reading room, women’s slipper baths and men’s and women’s entrances. Above was the superintendent’s flat, and other rooms and to the rear a public wash-house, and a crèche. Two artesian wells were sunk here. The baths became a centre for radical political meetings, and as a boxing venue. By 1904 it was being referred to as the ‘People’s Hall’.  By the 1930s structural defects in the balconies led to them being closed .the baths closed in 1970 and were demolished the following year
St George’s church, parsonage and graveyard. This was a Commissioner’s church built in 1827–8 to serve Nine Eels. The architect was Edward Blore. It was made a district church in 1858. The churchyard was closed as a burial ground in 1858. A new church was opened in Patmore Street in 1955
33 built as. St George’s vicarage by Lathey to Ewan Christian’s designs in 1862–3. This is now flats. There are now lawns and car parks covering the site of the church and graveyard
55 Plough and Harrow pub. Now demolished
101 Duchess Pub. This was originally a pub called the ‘Duchess of York’, built in 1789 and named for the marriage of the Duke of York to Princess Frederica Charlotte of Prussia. It was a new build begun on sites being developed then by Lovell & Peecock. It was demolished in 1883 and rebuilt.
77–87 and 101–113 built in the early 1960s by the Reema Constriction Method for the London County Council. Now painted bright blue

Bradmead
This short road was once part of Stewart’s Lane, cut off when the railway line was built.
21 Flannigan’s, inter-war brick pub. The interior is now a single space but still had is original counter, panelling and wooden surrounds to the fireplaces. In the servery is a dumb waiter worked by ropes. It used to be called the Old Red House.
1 The Pavilion pub



Cringle Street
Cringle Dock Refuse Transfer Station. This is now run by Cory Environmental. It was built by the Greater London Council’s Special Works Department in 1969-71 on the eastern part of a site previously used by Dorman Long ay. . This has a compacting plant at the front, where domestic refuse comes by road to be squashed into containers, which are then transferred at the rear to barges for transportation downriver to the appropriately named Mucking landfill site at Thurrock.
Farmiloe – T.& W. Farmiloe were an old established firm who had  a white  lead and colour works in part of their nine elms  lane  complex which  also  included  lead,  solder  and  brass  foundries,  a   large warehouse and a riverside wharf. In 1937 there were 9 or 10 white lead stacks in a building on the corner of Kirtling Street and Cringle Street.  The company had offices and showrooms in Rochester Row and other premises in Rochester Street and at Mitcham and elsewhere, although these were closed when they expanded the Nine Elms site.   Their other products included the once well known "Nine Elms" brand of paints, varnish, plumber's brass work and sanitary fittings.
Battersea Water Pumping Station. This was built in 1840 for the Southwark Water Company and extended in 1856.  It housed a series of Cornish engines used to pump water from the Thames into filter beds. It once housed the largest Cornish engine ever built, with a 112" diameter cylinder.  It ceased in this use in the early part of the twentieth century and has had a variety of other uses since then. Although it was listed it was demolished in the autumn of 2014
Cemex. Has had a concrete plant at Kirtling Wharf since the 1960s. The plant handles imports of aggregates via the river, and supplies ready-mix concrete to local construction sites
RMC Aggregates. took on part of the ex-Dorman Long site and converted it to a storage wharf and concrete-mixing plant.
Tideway Tunnel site.  Construction site.


Currie Street
This was one of the streets in the area now covered by trading estates in Ponton Road
2 Despard House. This was a club run by Charlotte Despard 1891-1922. Initially as a surgery for local children, it grew into a centre.  It was later given to Battersea Council having been renamed Socialist Hall.
30 Crown Pub. Long gone.


Everett Street.
This was one of the streets in the area now covered by trading estates in Ponton Road. It was named for its developer. The whole road has now entirely disappeared
Club run by Charlotte Despard.
Nine Elms Settlement. Founded in 1914 by the Women’s Freedom League established the here, serving children with dinners of vegetarian soup and large slices of pudding
Steam Ship Pub. Long gone


Haward Street
This was one of the streets in the area now covered by trading estates in Ponton Road. The Haward family had had a farm in the area.
1-9 Nine Elms Gas Works. This was a works of the London Gas Light Company which uniquely sold gas to north and south of the river. It began in 1863 as a holder station supplied by the company’s works to the east in Glasshouse Way/Vauxhall Way.   It was built as an operational works when the lease on the Vauxhall works ran out.  The works was surrounded by a brick wall and in Haward Street were a porter's lodge and the Engineer’s office, the Light office, and the Messenger's lobby. There was a Grand Entrance is from Nine Elms Lane, with two pairs of massive folding doors facing which was a flight of stone steps with ornamental cast iron banisters.  Leading to the impressive Board Room – which had never been used. A bad accident here in 1865 killed 11.  In 1870 there were “five immense gasholders with double lifts capable of holding in all 7,000,000 cubic feet of gas”..  The company was taken over by the Gas Light and Coke Co (The Chartered) in 1883.  The works was bombed in the Second World War and new plant was built post war including a new jetty in 1952, which remains. It was subsequently nationalised.  The works was closed in 1970 and the site has been redeveloped,


Kirtling Street
Park Wharf. Used by Henry Carne, Barge builder here in the early 19th.
Crown Wharf. This became Harvey's Wharf in the 1860s and used by the engineering company Harvey’s of Hayle as their London depot. They employed here Foremen, and erection and maintenance personnel
Victoria Wharf .In the 1880s this was the Burnham Brick Co,
The Haven. Riverside area. May have been a house.
RNAS Battersea. These were the RAF's Experimental Workshops here in the Great War.


New Covent Garden
New Convent Garden.  Covent Garden market itself dates back to the Middle Ages when the Abbey of Westminster owned the convent garden near The Strand. A regular market grew up and from 1670 was chartered. By the 20th it was clear this was not a convenient location for a major produce market. In 1961 Covent Garden Market Authority was established and they chose Nine Elms at Vauxhall as the new home for the market using the site of the railway goods yard and locomotive depot. Construction began in 1971 to open in 1974. It covers 65 acres and the buildings were by Gollins, Melvin, Ward & Partners, 1970-5 and planned for motor transport with parking and unloading areas. It is a huge wholesale market for fruit and vegetables where retail greengrocers buy produce... There is a brick office tower with shops linked by a bridge to the flower market. The fruit and vegetable market is in two parallel blocks the market serves 40% of the fruit and vegetables eaten outside of the home in London. There are now plans for redevelopment of the area based on some sort of so called ‘regeneration’ for Nine Elms.

Nine Elms Lane
Nine Elms. Marked as this on the Ordnance Survey map of 1822, named from ‘ix elmeslane’ in 1646. The area was low lying and marshy. The name Nine Elms apparently was used about a pub on the south side of the lane which had elms growing in front of it
1 Club Colosseum. Bad news club in vast blocks built in the 1970s as Market Towers. As part of the new Covent Garden. It was designed by Gollins, Melvin, Ward and Partners, 1970-75. And has now been demolished.
Railway dock. This was part of the London to Southampton Railway works. A goods depot was constructed, and a jetty was built out onto the foreshore. A dock was also built exploiting an inlet; the outflow of a ditch which marked the boundary between Lambeth and Battersea.  The site remained in use by the railway throughout the 19th. By the mid 20th the railway dock entrance had been infilled,
Railway wharf. This was installed by the railway company in the area adjacent to the dock by 1894.
Government Emigration Depot. This was in the old company offices of the South Western Railway in the mid 19th, where Government sponsored emigrants to Australia were housed before being taken by train to Southampton for disembarkation.
Nine Elms Wharf.  This was used for coal transhipment throughout the latter part of the 19th by John Bryan – who I assume is the same John Bryan, or one of the same family, who had numerous works and interests connected with the gas and coal industries in the earlier part of the century.
Randall’s’ Windmill. This mill built in the 18th was on the river’s edge. Randall & Co leased it in the 1770s.
Phoenix Wharf. Francis & White. Charles Francis began here in 1809–10 as a cement merchant in partnership with John Bazley White. In 1819 the firm acquired the patent for Hamelin’s Mastic, used in the then fashionable stucco. Later the firm, as Charles Francis & Son was an important supplier of patented ‘Roman cement’. This was a large factory with a tall tower and a red brick chimney.
Railway Hotel. This pub was opposite the nine elms terminus of the LSWR on the north side of the road. It was present in the early 1840s
Robbins and Miller. This lighterage firm ran a fleet of barges and were handling coal. They were licensed watermen.  They were present in the 1840-1860s on a wharf next to the railway goods yard.
41 Nine Elms Brewery. James Farren and Joseph Till leased the Nine Elms Brewery, 1833 - 1841 after which it was acquired by John Mills Thorne with 16 public houses. He was joined by his brother Benjamin Thorne in 1861. Thorne Bros ltd was registered as a limited liability company in 1897. The brewery was built by W. H.Duffield in 1898.  There was an impressive chimney and buildings decorated with the brewery name and with decorative gables. In the early 1920s this was added to by buildings on the Hennibique system. They were taken over by the Meux Tottenham Court Road based, Horseshoe Brewery in 1914 and their production was transferred here in 1921. The brewery was then renamed the Horseshoe Brewery and eventually closed in 1964. There was said to be a hop garden behind the brewery.
Tan yard and fellmonger's establishment. This is said to have preceded the brewery on its site.
Bourne Valley Pottery depot. This depot was for Sstanding and Marten whose pottery and clay works was at Branksome, near Bournemouth in Dorset. They made glazed stoneware sewage and sanitary pipes in the 19th.
Palace Wharf. In the late 18th early 19th, as Surrey Wharf .  This may/may not have been in use by various members of the Hubert family as barge builders. In the 1820s it may have been used by Hewitt and Ford that had an adjacent malt house. They also handled coal. It was later known as Palace Wharf used by Joseph Sharp, brick and tile merchants. By the 1870s it was used by Hugh Wallace & co. Manufacturing chemists, a long established company with a works in Battersea. In the early 20th it is shown with a lock at the southern end.
Prescot Wharf. Recently listed wharf which appears to be used for flower displays
Seaham Wharf. This was a coal wharf supplying coal from the Marquis of Londonderry’s Durham mines to customers calling at the wharf.  Seaham being the port of from which the steam colliers the firm used had embarked from
Newcastle Wharf. This was built 1894 1893. Before this it was owned by E. Underwood & Son, who dealt in horse fodder which arrived as hay baled up in barges.
46 White Swan. This was extant in the late 19th. Now demolished.
Middle Wharf. Shown on maps from the early 20th this was most recently used to handle aggregates. It is/was a safeguarded wharf.
Mill Pond Wharf. This is shown as an inlet to the west of Middle Wharf
Heathwall Pumping Station. Thames Water. Shown on 1913 map as owned by the London County Council. The current building dates from 1962 and is not good looking. It replaced a building of 1901 which was designed for storm water relief.
Battersea Barge. Restaurant and entertainment venue on a moored barge and jetty
Manor House Wharf. In the 1880s this was the Victoria Works of the Wade Disinfectant Syndicate with Wade’s Patent Boiler-covering cements and Wade’s Patent Boiler scale dissolving fluid
69–79 this was a row of traditional cottages which survived until demolished in 1908.
Manor House.  This stood on the south side and is said to have had nine trees facing it. It had been built for the Watson family who were whiting and lime manufacturers. It was called Nine Elms House and was demolished around 1880.
Heathfield House. This had been a farmhouse in the 1790s. After 1830 a new owner Edward Haward, pulled down the old house and built a new one. Eventually the whole property was sold to the London Gags Light Company.
Nine Elms tide mill. This was on a small stream or creek which emerged into the river roughly parallel to the point at which Nine Elms Lane becomes Battersea Park Lane. Most of the land here was acquired by Daniel Ponton who  was the promoter of a plan to expand the watercourse  into a cut leading to a large millpond There was a tide mill here until the mid-19th with a pond acting as a reservoir on the other side of Nine Elms Lane. It was established around 1760 by local landowner Daniel Ponton and presumably leased to a miller along with a granary and other buildings. Henry Darby was a miller at a mill here in the 1860s. There may also have been an associated boat building facility. What is described as ‘the carcase’ of the tide mill together with the remains of a lock was on premises used by the gas company and used for storage. Later the gas company demolished the mill and enlarged the dock. They built a purifier installation above the arm of the dock so that spent lime could tip straight into barges. In 1879 a wharf was built at right angles to the river with hydraulic cranes and a tramway system to the retort house. This dock which, although apparently foreshortened is the now the site for a number of boats, known as Tideway Village.
Mill pond. The tide mill pond was on the south side of the road and on the site later taken for the gas works. It covered about 15 acres.
Workman's Institute and Band room for the gas works. This was apparently used for Mothers' Meetings and Bible readings
Tideway Village. Affordable boat based housing. All the boats are on mains sewerage and have a full refuse collection service. They include converted Thames lighters as well as novel eco boats designed by Bill Dunster.
Mill Bridge this was the bridge which took Nine Elms Lane over the leat going to the mill site and it is said that the gas company sometimes had forty barges here and a vast coal lift. The bridge was humpbacked and a hump remained her well into the 20th.  By the early 20th a tramway – a coal conveyor – was built above it taking coal into the gasworks.
Riverlight Quay, new development by St. James on some of the old gas works site.
Riverlight Quay. Nine Elms Tavern a modern pub, opened on the riverside in 2015. It includes an upper deck with views of the river, and a large outdoor terrace
Riverlight Quay. Studio RCA, a Royal College of Apart public exhibition space -- artists, thinkers and makers to host exhibitions, screenings performances seminars and artist residencies - plus a pocket park.
33 Nine Elms Tavern. This pub, on the south side of the road dated to at least the 1850s . It is however said to have had tea gardens and walks in the area later covered by riverside coal wharves.
Kilsby’s Wharf.  Edward Kilsby was here in the early 19th - bankrupt in 1827-9. He was a a timber merchant and ship-breaker a wharf, two cranes and a timber yard
Steam saw mills. These were owned by John Pearson and were here in the 1860s
Imperial wharf. Crosse and Blackwell factory built in 1906 to replace their jam and pickle factory which had been demolished for the building of county hall. This was taken over by the Gas Light and Coke Co. In 1924 and which they renamed Watson House. It had been designed by Roumieu and Aitcheson. There were three floors for stores and on another the department testing laboratories with training facilities.  In 1933 it became the gas development centre for London.  In 1936 it was relocated to Fulham.
Loat. Whiting works and lime-kilns on this riverside dated back at least to the 17th. In 1829 Mary Loat had a whiting works here. She was part of a family with chalk pits in the Lewisham area and a building business in Clapham, she was bankrupt in the 1830s
Iron Steam Packet Co works. Mid 19th
James Atkins lime wharf. Mid 19th
Nine Elms Pottery. This was owned by John Brayne, a brown stone potter and filter maker in the mid 19th.  His father operated a pottery in Lambent.
Stationery Office Building.  Thus was by PSA architects, a built in 1982. Now demolished,
Post Office building. This was Royal Mail’s South London sorting office, now flogged off and closed. Likely to be a development site any minute


Ponton Road
Named for Daniel Ponton, landowner in the 19th. This road once went to the riverside at Nine Elms Lane. Its current route now takes in other roads on what was a small residential area – now trading estates.
Riverside Malthouses. Malthouses stood here in the area near the brewery. They may have been those of F. Hewitt and W. Ford, who went out of business in 1827. By the 1860s the maltings were in the hands of members of the Swonnell family in partnership for a time with a Mr. Smith. It was then known as the Patent Malt Works.  In 1900 Swonnells were negotiatig with sites in East Anglia to move their business nearer to the source of the raw materials.
Ponton Road School. This had originated as a branch of  St George's National School. Ponton Road School was opened by the London School Board in 1885 and the earlier school was closed. The top floors became a  Day Industrial School in it 1902 was taken over from the School Board for London in 1904. The Infants’ School remained on the ground floor and there were objections to this. In 1912 it was adapted as a remand home to replace Camberwell Green Remand Home. It was used for girls and young boys until December 1929 boys were sent there subsequently. It closed imp 1936
2-12 Inner London Education Authority Nine Elms School Bus Garage
42 Christies. Fine art auctioneers warehouse. Currently being redeveloped for housing.


Railway
The great swathe of railway lines on this square consist of the running lines going into Waterloo Station via Vauxhall and lines going into the Nine Elms Goods Depots (slightly to the east of this square).  These originated with tithe London and South West Railway. 
Locomotive Works. Between the lines on the 1869 OS map is the Running Shed’ which is said to have been the site of the mill pond for the tide mill. South of this were the Nine Elms Locomotive Works. These sheds gad suffered a fire in 1841. They were rebuilt and from 1843 were used to construct over one hundred new locomotives for the company, to the designs of John Viret Gooch and Joseph Hamilton Beattie. South of these works were more sidings and round tables constructed in the early 1860s. The company enlarged the workshops on a number of occasions and at its height in 1904 the locomotive works employed 2,438 men, building 22 and repairing 450 locomotives in a year. By the mid-1880s it was clear that further expansion at Nine Elms would be impossible and the various works moved to Eastleigh in Hampshire
Motive Power Depot. This serviced locomotives for Waterloo Station. In 1838 it had been on the north side of the main line but this was closed and demolished in 1865. A replacement for these sheds, on the south of the main line, was opened in 1865 and demolished in 1876 to make way for the widening of the main line. A brick semi roundhouse was built in 1876 and demolished in 1909 A fifteen track shed was opened in 1885, called the 'Old Shed'. Next to it was a ten-line shed built in 1910 called the 'New Shed'.  The depot was demolished in 1967, after the end of steam working out of Waterloo. It is all now a part of Covent Garden Market


Savona Street
Site for housing estate built by the London County Council from 1938 onwards. In 1960 they added three 11-storey blocks and three lower blocks built from pre-cast units by the patent Reema Construction method. Most have been demolished


Seaford Street
55 Dairy Crest Depot. Along with the whole industrial estate this is scheduled for demolition in favour of yet more flats. It was previously Express Dairies
31 John Oswald Iron Foundry. Founded 1871  by Scottish engineer John Oswald. Millwrights, iron founders & pattern makers – and ‘quick repairs’.


Thessaly Road
St George’s School. This began as St. George's National School when John Spencer Lucas, in 1857, gave a plot of land in what was then called New Street for a school for children and adults of the working classes. In 1895 some of the school premises were sold to the South Western Railway Company and the money was used for improvements. It is now a Church of England Primary School supported by the local authority.

Wandsworth Road
128-130 Southbank Club. The site had been used for the Clock Tower Cinema from 1921. It was purchased by Bernstein Theatres and demolished in 1936. It was opened as The Granada by Granada Theatres Ltd. It was designed by architects E.D. Lyons, L. Israel and C.H. Elsom. There is a brick tower over the entrance, which had a vertical fin sign on it.  Inside were decorative motifs depicting musical instruments by Frank Dobson. There was a Wurlitzer 3Manual/8Rank organ and a fully equipped stage. It closed in 1940 when it had been bombed and bombed again before it could reopen.  It eventually re-opened in 1949. In the early 1960’s bingo sessions were introduced and the last films were shown in 1967. The bingo club closed in 1977 and it became a skate-board centre. In 1986, it re-opened as the London South Bank Squash and Fitness Club, today known as the Southbank Club.
Woodgate Street
St. James Mission Church. In 1870 Thorne Brothers of Nine Elms Brewery, sponsored a subsidiary school to St George’s Schools and in 1870 later added few cottages and a meeting hall. When Ponton Road Board School was built the earlier school became St James’s Mission Church and Hall


Sources
Bartlett School. Survey of London. Battersea. Web site
Barton. London’s Lost Rivers
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Duchess. Web site
Field.  Place names of London
Francis. History of the Cement Industry,
GLIAS Newsletter
Grace’s Guide. Web site
London Encyclopaedia
Morris. Archives of the Chemical Industry
New Covent Garden. Web site
Old Bailey. Online. Web site
Pearson. British Breweries
Pevsner and Cherry South London
Port of London Magazine
Simmonds. All About Battersea
Stewart. North Thames Gasworks
Thames Basin Archaeology of Industry. Report
Wikipedia Web site. (Horseshoe Brewery, Nine Elms Locomotive Depot, Covent Garden Market)

Friday, 25 March 2016

Riverside west of the Tower south bank - Lambeth

Riverside west of the Tower south bank - Lambeth

Post to the north Lambeth Riverside
Post to the south Vauxhall and Riverside


Albert Embankment
The riverside road here was Fore Street which was effectively destroyed by the building of the Albert Embankment. Buildings in Fore Street – pre 1860s – are listed under 'Fore Street' below, to avoid an overlong list and confusion.
The embankment was built out of the original shoreline in 1866-9 under Bazalgette to take the southern low-level sewer from Putney.  Bazalgette's Assistant Engineer, John Grant, was supervisor, the contractor was William Webster and it was opened in 1868. It was named after Prince Consort. The embankment itself is a grey granite wall – apart from a short concrete section.
Lamp standards. There are 28 cast iron standards with entwined pairs of dolphins around a fluted, wreathed column with globular lamp holder and crown. The bases of the columns have the arms and monogram of the Metropolitan Board plus 1870' and "Vie Reg” as well as the foundry - Masfield & Co - and the architect, C Vulliamy. Facing the river are bronze lion heads with rings in their mouths. The walkway was opened in 1868 has four public benches with cast iron centre and end supports with arms fashioned in the shape of swans
Intercepting sewers. These run to Crossness under the embankment. It was built in 1866 70 with the low level sewer from Putney.
Bridges. The road is partly made up of bridges under which barges could pass below the Embankment to a basin one of which was in the Doulton works. Another is the Parish Dock which gives access to a draw dock.  This is the old dock which stood at the end of what is now Black Prince Road and this was used to bring in clay and remove the made goods
Lambeth Bridge House. This was built in 1938 by Costain as the head-office of the Ministry of Works. It was then the largest office block in Europe. It was demolished in 2001 to be replaced by posh flats
1 Parliament View Apartments.  Very posh flats built in 2001 by EDPR Architect. Built on the site of Lambeth Bridge House.
Doulton, Lambeth pottery.  Doulton’s original factory was in Fore Street (see below). In 1876 they built two very ornate Gothic style blocks fronting onto the Embankment. They were in red brick and faced with Doulton terracotta. The architects were Tarring Son & Wilkinson. A and B blocks housed the offices, showrooms and architectural department. Adjacent was a 233 ft high chimney in Italianate style - with a balcony at the top. It was the tallest in London until 1936.  In 1890- three were 70 kilns.  Doulton vacated these buildings in early 1940 and they suffered Second World War bomb and were thus demolished in 1951. The site was purchased by Taylor Woodrow Ltd for redevelopment. It took seven months to clear. The last firing of a kiln took place in 1955 and the factory closed in 1956
Doulton House. This building contained the head office and showrooms. A tile panel above the main entrance showed 'Dutch Potters' and this is now in the Ironbridge Gorge Museum.  Inside were hand painted tile panels designed by Joseph Mott showing coat of arms of the towns where the company had works. Upstairs was a staff restaurant and a Memorial Hall was sited at the back with a stage and cinema. In the basement was an air raid shelter for 150 people.
3 Westminster Tower/ Doulton House. Built in 1980/82 replacing the 1930s building. It is a fourteen storey tower by the John S. Bonnington Partnership. It has been reclad and refurbished and is now flats called Westminster Tower
4 W H Smith. This newspaper seller and stationery chain opened their purpose-built Bridge House for their Bookbinding Works and Stationery Department in 1933. The building was symmetrical, with a tower ‘’a la Great West Road; and included a 150 ft tower with a clock which flashed the hours at night. In 1956 their book department also moved here but in 1967 distribution was moved to Swindon. The building was demolished in the mid-1970s
4 International Maritime Offices. Built by Worby, Marriott and Robins in 1977. The frontage includes the International Seafarers Memorial. This is the bronze bow of a ship, projecting from the entrance and appearing to emerge from the building by Michael Sandle. It is on the site of the W.H. Smith building
8 London Fire Brigade Headquarters. This was designed by the London County Council Chief Architect E.P. Wheeler and opened by George V in 1937. It has a strong horizontal emphasis with art deco influences. There are sculptural panels depicting aspects of the fire service by Gilbert Bayes. At the rear are a practise tower and an obelisk. An extension with the fire brigade control room, built in 1990 is also at the rear. There are also maintenance workshops. The London Fire Brigade were here from 1937 till 2007.  It was decided to flog the site off to a developer so the Fire Brigade were moved to the old Royal Mail parcels sorting office in Union Street.
Fire Brigade Pier. This was directly in front of the ex Fire Brigade Headquarters Building. This was developed at the same time as the Brigade building but enlarged in 1990.
White Hart Dock, The origins of a dock and slipway here go back to the 14th. What remains here now was built in 1868 for the parish dock as part of the works for the Albert Embankment, constructed by the Metropolitan Board of Works.   It was used in the Second World War as an emergency water tank and ‘EWS’ is still on the wall.  In 2009, the Dock was cleaned and refurbished and decorative timber and model boats were installed
9 Now called Salamanca Square this is the former British Steel Corporation HQ. This was built by Grace & Fanner in 1957. It is now a mixed use building of offices and flats. A private college on the ground floor was suspended in 2013.
10 Wah Kwong House Hotel. This was previously a block by Oscar Gany & Partners built in 1963  and used most recently by various environmental standards agencies.
12-18 Queensborough House. Built in 1956 for the National Coal Board, this incorporated the Old Father Thames Public House . The pub had an adjoining wine bar in the basement called Tugs.   Designed in 1954
18 Park Plaza Riverbank. Hotel. Built and opened in 2005. This is still known as Queensborough House.
20-21 The Corniche. This is a scheme for three towers with flats, a hotel and offices. This is on the site of what was Hampton House designed by TP Bennett in 1956.
22-26 Dock Labour Board HQ. This was one of the first office buildings to be built following the lifting of the post-war office building restrictions in 1954. It was designed in 1954 by Frederick Gibberd and opened by the Duke of Edinburgh in 1956. It is now owned by a developer.
27-29 Prince Consort House - architects Pascal & Watson. Built in 1959. This is now owned by a developer with permission for a 30 storey tower and any social housing built miles away.
29 Art Metal Work Company.  J Starkie Gardner. Gardner was 'Metalworker to King Edward VII', and for 50 years he was the foremost authority on the history of decorative ironwork. The business began in 1752 as a partnership between two families following a marriage. Their first factory was in here from 1885 to 1905 and they then moved elsewhere in the locality.
30-34 Eastbury House. This was built by Ian Fraser & Associates in 1958.  There is now planning consent for more towers
35 The Rose. This was The Crown. Also called Rivers Bar and also apparently Tricky Dicky’s. This pub is from the 1850's when it was a Whitbread house. There is decorative ironwork
36 -37 Vintage House. The last remaining warehouse. A traditional gas mantel style lamp is attached to one of the left hand piers. From 1969 this was the head office of Sandeman, wine merchants. In the early 20th this building was called ‘Pomona House’ and was the London Offices of the Devon based cider company, Whiteway.
38-46 TheTexaco Garage
85 demolished the only reminder of an earlier age. It was called 'modern' in 1809 and in 1823 'replete with every office and convenience fitting for a Genteel Family'. Two storeys with two bowed projecting wings.
85 MI6 Headquarters.  Monumental building in the post-modem style designed by Terry Farrell. This is thought to be the costliest office space in London, and the subject of many Parliamentary enquiries and complaints.  The developers were supposedly saved from financial difficulty by a Government offer to use the building for MI6. There are hints at an underground fast exit route from Whitehall. Terry Farrell is the architect.  It was built 1989 – 1992 with a series of interlocking terraces as part of its formal symmetry. There is also a new wall, promenade and gardens with fountains and a stone pergola with a walkway which runs back along the inlet of Lack's Dock – which serve as a security moat.  The site was previously owned by Anglo-American Oil and had at one time been laboratories for Esso.
87-90 Camelford House. Designed by TP Bennett in the late 1950's and built in 1960. It is used as offices and at one time entirely occupied by British Telecom.
92 Tintagel House. Designed by TP Bennett in the late 1950's and built in 1960. It is owned by the Duchy of Cornwall and was occupied by the Metropolitan Police as their computer centre until 2011 but has since been converted into flats.
93 Peninsular Heights. This was formerly Alembic House - a 15 storey tower designed by Oscar Carry & Partners and built for the United Nations Association in 1965. It was- remodelled and converted into flats in 1996,
Bust to 12th philosopher, statesman and poet Lord Basaveshwara.


Auckland Street
This is now a tiny turning off Kennington Lane, but it was once a road lined with houses which crossed the area of what is now spring gardens.,
1a Lord Clyde. 19th pub. This was closed in the 1990s and is now demolished. It was briefly a hostel and refuge for street sleepers.

Aveline Street
This was previoyusly Esher Street
The Moffat Institute. This was set up in Vauxhall Street in 1875 by Robert Moffat. It moved here in 1896 and Members of the Brixton Congregational Church, organised activities including free education for adults and children, penny dinners, social evenings, the Boys' Brigade and sewing classes for girls in these premises undertaking missionary work. It was rebuilt after Second World War bombing and became the Alford House youth club
Alford House Youth Club. Alford House was founded in 1884 by Frank Briant, Liberal MP for Vauxhall. It was based in Lambeth Walk. Since the death of Frank Briant in 1934 Mill Hill School Old Boys have sponsored it and constitute the Governors. The Moffat buildings were given to the club by the London Congregational Union in 1949.

Beaufoy Walk
This is on or near the site of Hutton Street.
26 Hutton Street. This was the site of the Cale Distillery of Burroughs Beefeater Gin.  They moved here in 1908 from Cale Street in Chelsea with stills from Dore and Sons. By 1958 they needed more space and moved away.

Black Prince Road
The final section of the road between the railway and the embankment was once known as Broad Street. Then a short section was Lambeth Butts, and then Workhouse Lane. The name of Lambeth Butts probably refers to an area set aside for archery practice, a legal requirement in the middle ages. It has been suggested that this road was the ‘royal road’ from White Hart Stairs to Kennington Palace.
Kennington Palace. This stood between here and what is now Sancroft Street.It dated from the 12th but was rebuilt by the Black Prince from the 1340s. There was a large hall with a solar and a chapel, which was later enlarged with a second hall. It is thought that the bricks used here were made locally. It was demolished in 1531 and replaced by two manor houses demolished in the 18th.
South Bank House. This is the last bit of the huge complex of what was once the Doulton Pottery. It was built by Doulton in 1878 to show on the outside their range of bricks, tiles and mouldings. It housed the pottery's museum and art school. It is probably by R. Stark Wilkinson.  Reliefs showing potters are by George Tinworth. It has been developed by Berkley Homes as flats and offices.
71 Queen’s Head pub. Dates from before 1780 and rebuilt.  Comfortable island bar style pub with pictures of old Lambeth on walls.  This is now a cafe
54 Imperial Pottery. This belonged to Stephen Green in the 1850s who produced a wide range of stone ware.
49 The Jolly Gardeners. This claims to be a German Gastro pub. It is said to date from around 1750, and been rebuilt in 1895. In 1968 it became the Jolly Cockney but has since reverted to its original name.
St.Mary the Less. Built in 1827 as a chapel of ease to St.Mary by Francis Bedford and later became a parish church in its own right. It was brick with a thin bellcote. Some Doulton ware plaques inside. Demolished and there is now housing on the site. It is shown with a school on both sides of the building.
Sullivan House. Flats built in 1927 by Lambeth Borough Council on the site of the demolished workhouse
Workhouse. Lambeth opened a parish workhouse in 1726 on this site in what was then Workhouse Lane. By 1777 it is said to have had 270 inmates. The Lambeth Poor Law Parish was set up in 1835 with a Board of Guardians who continued with the existing building. This became the subject of a number of stories about condition there, in particular the medical facilities where, in effect, no staff were caring for a nearly a thousand sick and/or insane people. In 1887-8, a new 'test' workhouse was built here was done to the designs of T.W.E.Aldwinckle for the able-bodied and a site in Renfrew road used for the aged and infirm.  The site of the workhouse is now a small park. In 1927 built their four first blocks lf flats on the site. Two of the blocks were demolished after the Second World War and the site turned into open space, leaving gates which display the Council’s logo
Deacon House. Flats built in 1927 by Lambeth Borough Council on the site of the demolished workhouse
39 Beaufoy Institute. In 1850 Henry Beaufoy built the Lambeth Ragged School where John Doulton was a trustee. This site was sold to the London and Metropolitan Railway Companying 1903 it the Institute relocated here in 1907. It was designed as a technical institute for boys by the architect F.A. Powell. An extension to the main building was added in the 1920s. It is in Brick and terracotta with a ¬typical free treatment of Baroque motifs.  There is a relief panel moved from the original 1850s building of a teacher and pupils and plaque.  Inside is a central hall and classrooms.  The staircase is made of brown glazed tiles with a moulded terracotta handrail. Begin is a caretaker’s house. The boy’s toilets have their original brown glazed ceramic urinals and the brown glazed tiling which runs through the building. It has been suggested that these are 'Cockrill-Doulton Patent Tiles', patented with Doulton ceramics and this was a test site for the system. This is now to be a Buddhist centre.

  
Citadel Place
This road is fenced off with no access. It seems to entirely consist of offices
National Crime Agency
Ethelred Street
This ran south of and parallel to Lollard Street
Windmill. This is shown on maps in the mid-18th. A watercolour of 1780 shows a three-storey tower mill with a stage at first-floor level and an unusually elongated windshaft at the front.

Ferry Street
Ferry Street ran very close to Westminster Bridge from the High Street to Fore Street. I t disappeared when the Albert Embankment was built.
Batstone's pottery No.5. This was owned by William Batstone. In 1870 he sued the Metropolitan Board of Works for loss of access to river water and to restrict use of the draw dock.
Ferry Street Pottery. In the 19th this was owned by Thomas Janeway and made brown salt glaze and Bristol Ware.  He took over the Batstone works
James Stiff’s pottery. Stiff had worked as a mould maker for Doulton and Watts and set his own pottery works. In 1842, he began working at his own premises in Ferry Street, which had previously been the premises of T. Higgins. He was then making water filters. Although he also worked at 39 High Street he kept the Ferry Street premises until 1844.


Fore Street
This ran along the riverside before the building of the Albert Embankment in the 1860s. The sites below are in no particular order.
Ship Tavern. This was next to Lambeth Bridge and very close to it in Fore Street. Said to be occupied by Wentzell, boat builders
Whiting Works. Owned by James Cann. Here they washed and crushed chalk is used to make whitewash
Andrew Wentzell – made high quality racing boats. He was born in Stepney and apprenticed as a boat builder in Millbank. He supplied boats for lakes in pleasure grounds – including Crystal Palace and Victoria Park.
Edward Wyld. Wyld both built boats and sold them second hand - in 1859 he advertised –“four-oared outriggers, ratters oat rigged at bow stroke, four-oared gigs, randan tigs, and wherries, pair-oar outrigged gigs etc”.  He also managed a boat house for Westminster Boys' School.
Doulton. Drain pipe wharf. Used to handle drain pipes from the High Street factory which was founded in 1846.
Robert Bain. Mast, oar, skull & pump maker,
Duke’s Head. Present in the early 19th and big enough to have a court attached to it
White Bear. Present throughout the 19th
Cross Keys. 19th pub
Three Merry Boys Pub 19th and earlier
Site of Princes Stairs – these were the stairs to which Princes Road – now Black Prince Road – led.
White Hart Stairs. These were at the end of Lambeth Butts
Alfred Hunt, bone merchant. Hunt, who had a works and a wharf here, is variously described as a soap or bone merchant.  The firm moved in 1868 just over the Essex border to Stratford High Street, on the Lea, in order to escape regulation ns on noxious trades. Where they remained until the 21st.  They appear to still be in business in the dead dog trade although their current location isn’t clear.
Whiting Works. A whiting works was owned by James Brunsden in the early 19th and later by Walford Jones. The wharf here was used by the works to unload chalk but was also used by the gas works for coal.
Bomb house stairs, mentioned in an early 19th gazetteer as being opposite Glasshouse Street – this seems to be the site usually shown as Gun House Stairs
Gun house stairs
Vauxhall Foundry.  This was alongside what later became Gun House stairs. The Gun Founder was William Lambert working initially for the Government and the Marquis of Worcester. It was then sold to a Mr. Trenchard in 1652. This site is shown as being ‘Copt Hall’ but it is on the riverside and not the site of the later Vauxhall Gardens. After the Restoration there was an attempt to turn the building into a “College of Artisans” with Casper Kaltoff and Lambert. It is thought that cannon were cast here. The Marquis died in 1667 and the premises returned to be a sugar bakery.
Corn distillery. This site, shown on Horwood, may relate to an abortive plan for a distillery in this area put forward by the engineer Ralph Dodd. 
Vauxhall Stairs.  This is where people visiting Vauxhall Gardens would have disembarked after crossing the river.
John Baker Glass Works.  This dated from before 1681 and was on the site of the present MI6 building.  Baker, who was said to have experience in making plate glass, worked here in connection with the Duke of Buckingham. Some of the site is also thought to have been used by a John Bellingham, who later leased the whole site. It was probably demolished by 1704.
Patent Wheel Works. Owned by Theodore Jones.
Royal Flour Mills. This was owned and operated by members of the Brown family who controlled a number of mills in the London area. Charles Brown controlled a number of these. He opened this mill on the Albert Embankment but died in 1915 and the milling continued as a family business run by his sons, Edmund Dunn and Herbert Brown, but it was finally sold to Spillers in 1953. The Royal Flour Mills were demolished about 1955 to make way for new office blocks next to Tintagel House.
Fasset and Burnett. The firm was originally based at Horsleydown. As Sir Robert Burnett's distillery it was highly controlled by the Burnett family. As well as vinegar they made gin and bitters and some liqueurs. In 1927 the entire equipment of the refinery at Vauxhall was moved off to Canada and installed in the Distillers Corporation works in Montreal.


Glasshouse Walk
5 Vauxhall Gardens Community Centre.
1-5 This was the premises of an English branch of the St.Pauli Brewery Co.  It was in use in 1911 for St. Pauli Breweries Co. Ltd., based in Bremen. They made the ‘Finest Pilsner Lager Beer. Girl Brand’. It appears to have been short lived here and the premises was used to make planes for the Government by 1917. 
5 Leopold Laserson. This company made raw materials for the perfumery trade and were in occupation here since before the Second World War.
London Gas Light Co. The site immediately to the rear of no.5 was the London Gas Light Co. – indeed it appears from some maps that this may have been the entrance to the works. It had been set up in 1832 by engineer Stephen Hutchinson and was unusual in that it served customers both north and south of the river. The original site fronted onto the river but the building of the railway cut the site. For over thirty years this was the manufacturing station of the London Company. In 1834 it was one of the first gasworks to install a telescopic gasholder. In 1864 the company moved to their new works at Nine Elms however this works remained open for some time afterwards making specialist cannel gas. After closure three holders remained while the rest of the site went into other use.
Albert Works. This appears to have been on the part of the gas works site not used for holders.  It was used by a building company run by Benjamin Ebenezer Nightingale from at least the early 1870s and rebuilt in 1901. They went out of business in 1909.
Adam, Grimaldi. In 1917 Albert Works was used by Adam, Grimaldi & co, the Invincible centrifugal pump and the Albert motor car were made here. In 1919 they were making aircraft parts – including the DH4 biplane in which Peace Conference delegates travelled to Paris. In 1923 they were taken over by Gwynnes of Hammersmith.  The Albert was a four-cylinder car with four speed gearbox shown at the Motor Car Show at Olympia and the White City. A Gwynne light cars was also made. However the company was bankrupt by 1923 and the works sold.
Park Works. This was a factory where wood-working machinery was made in the late 19th and early 20th.
31 G. Rigby, Lucifer match and India rubber paste and blacking manufacturer. This works was present in the mid-19th
85-86 British Essence Co., Ltd. Distillers, manufacturers and compounders of essences, essential oils and perfumes, 1920s
The south side is now parkland but it was previously a housing estate for the Guinness Trust

Goding Street
This street runs beside the railway and park land. There are numerous small businesses in the railway arches. It marks the western edge of what was Vauxhall Gardens

Kennington Lane
At the western end of the road it runs along what was the southern edge of what was Vauxhall Gardens
247 Pilgrim Pub
250 Quadrant House. Building used as offices. This is shown as an Engineering Works in the 1950s as Electrical Engineers’. It also seems to have been used by an industrial clothing manufacturer
271 Kings Head Pub. This was closed in 1933 and has since been demolished
263-75 Tesco. The supermarket building itself is low which means the view of, the gasholders from Kennington Lane is improved
Tesco Car Park. This is the site of what was Gasholder Place.
Upper Kennington Lane Board School. This was apparently destroyed in Second World War bombing. This was a London School Board School which was built in the 1880s to some opposition. This is now the site of the Tesco store
275 School Equipment Centre. Set up by the London County Council as the largest education authority in the country to supply its schools. Designed by LCC architect Hubert Bennett in 1959
Drill hall and drill ground. This was alongside the school with a drill ground tom the rear. It appears to have gone by 1914.  It was probably the hall of the 7th Surrey Rifles.
Sisters of the Holy Name Mission and Convent. The Community of the Holy Name of Jesus, originated with the newly built St. Peter’s in 1865. Some ladies got together for mission work, and they became the nucleus of a Community. They lived in poverty in Tyers Street and then moved to a larger house then numbered at 171 Kennington Lane
Kennington Liberal and Radical Club next door
310 St.Peter's Church. The parish was created from part of the district chapelry of Saint Mary-the-Less in 1861. The church was the first designed by John Loughborough Pearson and was consecrated in 1864.  It was built to a precept that to confront and deal with urban overcrowding and poverty that churches should be large and magnificent but with attached social provision. In 1983 it became part of North Lambeth Parish. The church was built the edge of what had been Vauxhall Gardens and it has been said the altar is on the site of the Neptune Fountain or maybe on the site of the Moorish Tower. The church was built in the 1860s for the slum area which had developed here. The church currently hosts many music events and hopes to continue a musical heritage from Vauxhall Gardens. It has a T.C. Lewis organ installed in 1870.
308 St. Peter’s House. Late 18th house with an added top floor. Used as the Vicarage until 1980 and now the home of lay community attached to the church. This house was built in 1793 for Margaret Tyers daughter in law of the manager of Vauxhall Gardens.
Herbert House. Built 1860 as an orphanage for the daughters of ‘education men’ who were to be trained as pupil-teachers for the elementary schools.
St.Peter’s Schools. These stand at the back of the complex and included an art school. They were built in 1857. A soup kitchen was added in 1863.
Art School. Lambeth School of Art was founded in 1854 by the Reverend Robert Gregory as a night school in the national school with the support of Henry Cole the school flourished. In 1860 a new premises was built in what is now St Oswald’s Place.
323 Lilian Baylis Technology School. This is a secondary school. The school is named after Lilian Baylis the theatrical producer and manager. Until 2005 it was based in a 1960s school building in Lollard Street, and then moved to Kennington Lane.
349 Eagle aka Duke of Cambridge. Pub which dates from at least the 1860s
355 Royal Oak Pub. 19th pub with decorative front. Said to beenlock Brewery insignia on the windows
369 Szerelmey. Established in 1855 and they are a restoration and construction company. Nicholas Charles Szerelmey was a Hungarian officer serving in the Austrian army who was interested in ancient buildings particularly in Egypt. He began work on processes for restoring and preserving buildings based on their methods, calling it the zopissa induration process. In 1855 he set up a company in relation to decay o the stonework at the Houses of Parliament. This they continue to do.
363 St Anne Catholic Church. The Mission of St. Anne’s was established in 1892. In 189 the Diocese had acquired a site for a Church and school in Kennington Lane.  On it were four houses one of which became the Clergy House. A three-storey building for infants, boys and girls was begun and opened in 1893.  Frederick A. Walters was engaged as architect for a church and a foundation stone was laid in 1901. It was built bit by bit as money became available. An organ was acquired and the large tower which includes a heating chamber, a ringers’ room, and a belfry, which contains a bell by Mears and Steinbank. Work was also done in Harleyford ‘Road to secure a Settlement and other facilities and to upgrade the school
Vauxhall Electric Theatre. This was opened before 1910, and continued until at least 1915. It was on the corner with Glyn Street
Two tall concrete cyclinders, painted black, at the entrance to what is now Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens
Railway Bridge. This carries Vauxhall Station, on the main line, and the line into Waterloo.  It has had a series of cheery train related drawings on it.
372 Royal Vauxhall Tavern. Gay pub for many years with nightly shows and many top drag artists. It was built in 1863 land which was originally part of Vauxhall Gardens and was partly used as a music hall.
Vauxhall Station. The station opened in 1848 when it was a main line station running into Waterloo on the London and South West Railway. Supposed to have given its name to the Russian word for station Vokshal.  And it is sometimes called ‘Vauxhall Bridge Station.  It was the only intermediate station on the line built to connect the terminus at Nine Elms to somewhere nearer central London.  Sir William Tite produced the first station at Vauxhall which was entirely timber. It disappeared in an unexpected and spectacular style fire in 1856, destroying the entire station structure. Since then there has been a four-platform layout with a centrally-located island in-between the middle tracks and outer lines served by platforms on cast-iron struts along the sides of the viaduct. The booking hall and waiting rooms were all to at street level.  In 1892, the station was rebuilt with six platforms in three islands. With an ornate spiked canopy supported on a cast-iron framework. A pair of timber signal cabins were carried across five of the seven running lines upon lattice gantries.  At the outset Vauxhall’s primary role was that of a ticket collecting station. With inspectors boarding London-bound trains to check tickets. The station building was no higher than the viaduct arches and had a stone exterior frescoed by a series of identical arches. The main building was approximately mid-way down the station’s western side and a spacious subway linked the islands through flights of stairs. Vauxhall had no visible goods facilities, but the handled very large quantities of milk traffic. Trains from Clapham Junction loaded with milk from the west country would pull into the down side platform, where a pipe was provided to the creamery on the other side of the road this ran through the pedestrian subway.  In the late 19th more lines were added through Vauxhall and the station was altered. Electric services began during the Great War.  Since then the station has been changed again – at one time a cleverly distorted BR logo was painted on the wall of the subway, only to be understood from one specific place.
Vauxhall Station is now also served by the Victoria Line which opened in 1971.


Juxon Street
This was once called Mill Street
The Mill. On the Rocque map is a circular building here and it is assumed this is a mill. A tall, ten-sided smock mill existed here through much of the 18th and appears on several later maps before 1791. It may have been used for pottery-making materials, and in 1760 a druggist called George Rudd was the tenant. In 1788, after Rudd’s death, the tenancy was transferred to trustees who included John Field, apothecary. During the next century the site was obliterated by the railway viaduct.


Lambeth Bridge
Lambeth Bridge is on the site of a horse ferry owned by the Archbishop. Following a petition this was replaced with a suspension bridge designed Peter Barlow which opened in 1862. In 1879 it was taken over by the Metropolitan Board of Works and its tolls were quashed. From 1910 it was closed to vehicles because of corrosion. It was replaced by a five-span steel arch with piers and abutments in Cornish Granite. It was designed by George Humphreys. Reginald Blomfield and G.Topham Forest for the London County Council. It was built by Dorman Long and opened in 1932


Lambeth High Street 
This was once known as Back Lane
1 Palace View. Thus was The Royal Pharmaceutical Society's headquarters from 1976 until 2015. This was their offices and museum.  The building was by the Louis de Soissons Partnership with eight storeys on a cramped site. They have now moved to East Smithfield. The building is being redeveloped as flats.
Recreation Ground. Land here was provided for a parish burial ground by Archbishop Tenison. In 1814 the trustees extended the burial ground with the land given to fund the girls’ school. This had a number of ancient houses on it and a passage called Tearoe's Alley, which was cleared in 1814. The burial ground was closed in 1853. In 1884 Lambeth Vestry turned it into a public garden. Gravestones were moved to boundary walls and the mortuary and watch house of 1825 remained – a stone now marks its site. In 1929 it was enlarged by Lambeth Borough Council who purchased a glass bottle factory in Whitgift Street. By the late 1970s it had been asphalted over, but it has now been re-landscaped with grassy mounds, a water feature, shrubs, seating, and pergolas.
18 Girls School. In 1706 Archbishop Tenison provided a girls' school in the space between Lambeth High Street and the burial ground. He provided funding for it with some of the land of what had been Norfolk House. In 1863 a new school building was provided. This closed in 1961, when it amalgamated with Archbishop Temple's Boys School to form a mixed Voluntary Aided school. The building was then used for first-year pupils until 1974, when it closed.
28 Doulton and Watts. John Doulton and John Watts moved their stoneware bottle manufacturing business here in 1826 from Mrs. Jones pottery in Vauxhall Walk where they had traded in partnership with her. In Lambeth High Street they were joined by John Doulton’s sons – John Jnr, and Henry. Both sons were to start independent businesses. In 1853 John Watts retired ending the partnership and the Doulton family merged their three independently operating businesses and formed a new partnership under the name ‘Doulton & Co.
Henry Doulton, the son, founded a separate firm but by 1853 he had acquired his father's pottery and then under his management, the firm expanded rapidly along the Lambeth waterfront, growing to fully occupy Lambeth High Street.
39 James Stiff’s London pottery. Stiff was born in 1808 in Suffolk. He worked as a mould maker for Doulton and Watts, having done an apprenticeship with Coade, and set his own pottery works in 1843. From 1842, he had premises in Ferry Street making water filters. Within a year Stiff he had leased the first part of the High Street premises. In 1863 Stiff brought his sons, William and Ebenezer, into partnership with him as James Stiff and Sons. He died in 1897 and his sons set up a new partnership which lasted until 1912. In 1913 firm was sold out to Doulton. Stiff & Sons produced bright colourful pottery.
44 Windmill. Pub behind the offices of Albert Embankment. The name of this pub may relate to the nearby smock mill and the mustard mill which stood opposite in the late 18th.
63 Henry Doulton manufactured sanitary ware and earthenware pipes from 1846
Griffiths Pottery. Abigail widow of William Griffiths was here 1768- 73 making delft ware.
Stonard and Watson. The Doulton Works was said to have been built on the site of this starch works.


Lambeth Walk
Lambeth Walk was in the 18th century a country lane known as Three Coney Walk.
Lambeth Wells. Mineral springs were discovered here which became Lambeth Wells in the 18th. The waters were advertised as a universal medicine. Bottles were sent out by the dozen and stamped with the proprietor’s seal. There were two wells here called ‘Nearer’ and ‘Farther’. Before 1697 a ‘Great Room’ was opened for music and dancing. In 1755 the dance hall lost its licence. A pub called the Fountain remained which was rebuilt in 1829.
105 The Fountain’ traded as a public house up to 1915. It then became a hosier’s shop and finally an eel and pie shop. Demolished as last link with Lambeth Wells.
73 London Eye. Cheap tourist hostel. This was the Journey Hostel, and before that the Lambeth Sportsman pub. It catered for the indoor sportsman with a vast stock of trophies. Originally it was The Angel founded before 1884.
120 George pub.  Opened in 1977 closed and demolished by 2001.  
189 Lambeth Walk Picture Palace

Laud Street
Late Cross Street. 
Following the Leader. This sculpture is by Peter Peri and is a memorial to the children killed in the Blitz. Darley House was built in the late 1940s and it the piece is on the back stairwell. Peri had developed a technique for sculpting in wet concrete directly to a wall which attracted interest from industry and an exhibition of his work in 1938 had been sponsored by the Cement and Concrete Association. The composition shows children holding hands in a spiral towards the sky.


Lollard Street
This was previously East Street
103 Anchor & Hope. This pub closed in1912 and has now been demolished
114-115 Rose and Crown pub. Closed and demolished 1972
Lollard Adventure Playground. This was begun in 1954; the London County Council invited Lady Allen of Hurstwood to start an adventure playground on a bomb site. The LCC, Lambeth Council, the National Playing Fields Association and the Greater London Playing Fields association all contributed. The playground opened in 1955and continues to operate from the same site now run by the Kennington Association.
Lilian Bayliss School. This was originally the Beaufoy School.  This had opened in 1964, amalgamating four secondary schools. When it built it was architecturally innovative in that it comprised of a number of linked buildings of two and three storeys. It was by the Architects Co-partnership in brown brick with shuttered concrete floors and beams.  In 2005 the school moved to new premises in Kennington Lane. The site is now being developed for flats.
Arthur Sullivan was born in Bolwell Street which was demolished when the school was built.


Newport Street
This was previously called Doughty Street
Damien Hirst's Newport Street Gallery. Built to put his collection of over 2,000 artworks on display to the public. The gallery takes up three listed buildings flanked by new buildings designed by Caruso St John.
22 Beaconsfield Gallery. Lambeth Ragged School. Art gallery in two floors of the school and a railway arch.  The School was built by Henry Beaufoy FRS in 1851 as a memorial to his wife. Initially it was known as the Beaufoy Ragged School and later as the Beaufoy Institute. Today it is an art gallery and cafe.

Old Paradise Street
The street was formed in the late 16th on some of the land on which Norfolk House had stood.
Norfolk House. Land which belonged to the Earls of Arundel and Surrey passed to the wife of the Duke of Norfolk.  Catherine Howard spent her childhood here. In the late 16th the property was divided. 
Sugden House boiler house. This has been redeveloped for housing and the chimney was preserved as a local landmark. The boiler house was part of a 1970’s district heating scheme


Oval Street
Kennington Lane Depot, London Borough of Lambeth. Closed in 2000


Railway Viaduct
The railway viaduct into Waterloo dominates the area and neturalises the frontages on the roads it travels alongside. It dates from 1846 when the construction of the Nine Elms to Waterloo Bridge extension began with Joseph Locke as engineer and building work subcontracted to Messrs. Lee. The proposed line was made up of four tracks, and after the first quarter mile east from Nine Elms it was laid upon a viaduct. This comprised six iron girder bridges, with a combined weight of 800 tons, in addition to 300 arches. The extension used than 80,000,000 bricks and the arches were covered with ‘’Seyssel Asphalt’’, making them completely waterproof and thus ideal for business use. The iron rails of the four-track layout accounted for a weight of around 1200 tons


Randall Road
The road runs alongside the railway and is blocked half way down.
Pedlar’s Park. This became a park in 1968. It was built on the site of the St Saviours Salamanca Street National School. The park is names after the ‘Pedlar of Lambeth’.
St Saviour’s Salamanca National School. This dated from 1870


Sail Street
This was previously Windmill Street


Sancroft Street
63 Duchy Arms pub. This has been taken over and run by two local residents. ‘Duchy’ refers to the Duchy of Cornwall who own and maintain this area. 
Housing for the Duchy of Cornwall by the Louis de Soissons Partnership built in 1948.
Spring Gardens
Spring Gardens. This is a park created following Second World War bomb damage on a site which links back to the old Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens of 1661. There is an all-weather ball games area, and paddocks developed in association with the Vauxhall City Farm
Skytours. This tethered balloon offered rides with views of London. You didn’t actually go anywhere.  Now closed down
Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens.  These famous gardens covered the area between Kennington Lane, St Oswald's Place, Vauxhall Walk, Laud Street, and Coding Street. They were originally called New Spring Gardens and were the first public gardens to be opened. They were most popular during the 18th. Jonathan Tyers became the land Owner in 1728 and in 1832 spectacularly re-launched the park as a place of entertainment. He began to charge for entrance and laid on many musical events. Various buildings were built to house these events - although originally the arbours had been made of old coaches. In 1792 the Barratt family became owners set up firework displays, tightrope walks and balloon ascents from 1802. The balloons were inflated using coal gas in the 1830s, and gas was also used for lighting in the gardens. With another new owner in 1821 the gardens were re-named The Royal Gardens, Vauxhall. The site and its contents were sold by auction for £800 in 1859. This was a big and important site about which a lot has been written.


St Oswald’s Place
This was Miller Lane It marks the eastern edge of what was Vauxhall Gardens
Saint Paul's Chapel. This was on the eastern corner with Kennington Lane and used as a temporary church whilst the church of Saint Peter was being built. St. Paul. It is shown as ‘Baptist Chapel’ on 19th maps
Lambeth School of Art. This moved here from St Peter’s Schools round the corner. It was was founded in 1854 by Rev. William Gregory as part of his philanthropic work with the local poor. In 1879 it become the South London Technical School of Art. In 1937 it became the City and Guilds of London Art School. The school flourished and became a leader in the provision of instruction in applied art and design to working artisans getting them employment in local firms particularly in ceramics. In 1860 the Prince of Wales laid the foundation stone for these premises. In 1863 Henry Doulton joined the management board and exhibiting experimental works by students. Students were trained for pottery design work primarily for Doulton. It is thought possible Van Gogh attended classes here. Many noted English modellers and sculptors owe their careers to this partnership. Later they secured the backing of the newly founded City and Guilds Institute funded backing by City Livery Companies. Some departments moved to become the South London Technical School of Art. In 1937 it changed its name to the City and Guilds of London Art School. After the Second World War II bomb damage prompted the establishment of restoration and carving courses to assist with the rebuilding London's damaged architecture. By the 1960’s the School had become more Fine Art orientated and the 1997 the Fine Art and Sculpture courses attained degree status. Many important 19th and early 20th artists trained here and Doulton pieces decorated by Lambeth artists are valuable collectors’ items.


Stoughton Close
Site of St.Mary’s Church and Schools.


Tinworth Street
Named for George Tinworth, main artist employed by Doulton

Tyers Street
64 John Bull pub. A family pub which closed in the 1990s. It is now flats.
Vauxhall Christian Centre. A London City Mission Centre, with community facilities and a food bank.
Vauxhall City Farm.  A little piece of the country in the town where you can see pigs, ponies, a donkey, goats, ducks, calves, hens, rabbits, ferrets, and guinea pigs.In 1976, a group of architects were squatting at St Oswald’s Place and began working on a small vacant plot which became one of the Jubilee City Farm. Local residents grew vegetables and cared for livestock. The farm has a number of rare breed animals, a riding centre, education and youth projects, and a horticultural therapy group. Traditional techniques are used to spin wool from the sheep and alpacas, dyeing it with plants grown in the gardens. There is also a small garden with a pond and herb garden. In Tyers Street they are based in some of the rear buildings of St. Peter’s Church and School.


Vauxhall Bridge
Vauxhall Bridge. This is a steel and granite deck arch bridge Opened in 1906. It replaced an earlier bridge, designed by John Rennie which was at first called Regent Bridge but renamed Vauxhall Bridge. It was built between 1809 and 1816 and replaced a ferry. It wad disliked by the Thames Conservators did not like it because of the amount of dredging. As the first iron bridge on the Thames it was very expensive. It was a privately owned toll bridge brought into public ownership in 1879 by the Metropolitan Board of Works because of its poor state of repair.
The current bridge was built by the London County Council in 1906 to the designs of Sir Maurice Fitzmaurice, W. E. Riley and Sir Alexander Binnie. There was however money available to put bronze statues on both sides on four piers made up of 8 women representing the arts. Upstream are by Lambeth Art School educated F.W.Pomeroy – Agriculture, Architecture, Engineering and Pottery. Downstream are by Alfred Drury – Local Government, Science, Fine Arts and Education.  The bridge was the first in London to carry trams and one of the first two roads here to have a bus lane. The design and appearance of the current bridge has remained almost unchanged since 1907. It carries the A202 across the Thames.


Vauxhall Street
16 George and Dragon pub. Demolished 2015
38 Eclipse pub. Closed in 1915. Demolished
45 Derby Arms. Closed and demolished before the Great War
60 Duke of Clarence. Closed and demolished in the 1920s
133 Rising Sun pub said to have had a large nicely furnished saloon bar. The pub closed in 1995 and is now flats.
166-170, appears from directories to be the factory of W.E.Gayler, Piano maker. In the 1960's and '70's it was used as one unit by Englehard, metal refiners, making liquid gold and other liquid preparations for the ceramic trade'
Vauxhall Primary School. This was a London School Board School dating from the 1870s.


Vauxhall Walk
It marks the northern edge of what was Vauxhall Gardens
34 Albion Pub. Closed in 1910 and since demolished
49 Schweppes Mineral Water manufacturers. Factory built in 1912. By 1912 Schweppes were a major company with many outlets. Originating with a Swiss inventor on the 1790s they had moved in the 1890s to larger premises in Hendon and subsequently opened other manufacturing bases, including this one.
66 The Pheasant pub. Closed and demolished in the 1920s
139 The Queens Arms. Latterly called the Queen Anne it closed in 2011. This is now the Tea House Theatre founded in July 2011 by owner and director Harry Iggulden.  It transforms into a theatre by night. Cafe in the day time
112 Black Dog. Pub which is still in business. In the 1860s this was also a Mineral Water factory. Owned by George Warner maker of ginger beer and mineral water
Albert Glass works. This was owned by Charles Henry Kempton in the late 1880's. He has married the daughter of a glassblower in 1860 and worked as a glass works labourer. He left to start his own lamp selling business in 1869 and in 1880 Charles and his sons started the Albert Glass Works. By 1917 they went their separate ways. And Richard was left to run the Albert Glass Works with his eldest son Reginald. This continued until 1920, when they closed it and moved elsewhere.
Wesleyan Chapel and schools in Vauxhall Walk date from 1841. The Chapel, stood back from the road, flanked by the Boys' and Girls' Schools of ragstone.
The Chapel, which stands back from the road, is built in yellow stock brick in Gothic style with lancet windows. The approach is flanked by the Boys' and Girls' Schools of ragstone.
Dust yard – there are a number of names associated with refuse disposal in this yard adjacent to Salamanca street. Booth in the 1890s mentions Clarkson as having contracts with a number of local authorities
St. Paul's National School
Roman Catholic school. In the early 1860s, a retired teacher opened a school in a disused shop near the Wesleyan Chapel. Soon after the Order of Notre Dame of Namur, built a school for girls and infants in Vauxhall Walk opposite what were later Guinness Buildings. The girls and infants’ building was sold in 1894 and in the 1940s in commercial use.
Vauxhall Motors. The very first Vauxhall car is said to have been built by Alex Wilson of the Vauxhall Iron Works in Harleyford Road who had a panel factory here. The first car was a 5hp single cylinder model steered using a tiller and with two forward gears but no reverse. -
Surrey Iron Works. Original building of c 1877 considerably expanded over the years, including both sides of street Horatio Myer founded the business in 1876 and the Company employed 19 people. Through the reign of Queen Victoria 18th and 20th Myer’s continued to grow. Initially solely maker of iron bedsteads, now still in same line. But divans/mattresses. In 1962 the Huntingdon site was opened, and from 1962 to 1982 Huntingdon and Vauxhall continued to manufacture beds and other furniture including display cabinets and coffee tables. In 1982 the Vauxhall plant was closed and all production was transferred to Huntingdon.
Myers First World War memorial has been returned to Vauxhall after a 30-year absence. It commemorates 13 employees of bed manufacturers Horatio Myer & Company who died in the 1914-18 war. It was removed by the Myer family when the company moved out of London in 1982 and has now been returned,
Doulton and Watts. The firm was initially here in 1815 and moved to Lambeth High Street in 1825. It had originated as Martha Jones' Union Pottery in 1812
Carmelita Centre sports and community centre run by local tenants’ organisations. It was an ex housing office leased to by Lambeth Living for use as a community Centre. It was named after Carmelita Tulloch who was murdered on a local estate street.


Whitgift Street
Windmill. This was a smock mill standing near the point where the railway arch now crosses Whitgift Street but in line with the Windmill pub in Lambeth High Street.  This mill  was probably used by the mustard mill shown at this point on the Horwood Map and may have been extant as a flour mill in 1845


Wickham Street.
Kempton Glass Works. Charles Henry Kempton started his own lamp selling business in 1869 and Ten years later he moved to Wickham Street where he manufactured flint glass.
Sure Start Children’s Centre

Worgan Street
Vauxhall Methodist Mission


Sources
Art blogs. Web site
British History. Online. Lambeth. Web site
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Cavanagh. Public Sculptures of South London
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. Face of London
Difford’s Guide. Web site
Dobson. A Century and a Quarter.  Halls
Ffoulkes. Gunfounders of England
Gibberd. On Lambeth Marsh
GLIAS Newsletter
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Gosse. Sir Henry Doulton
Hillman. Underground London
Lambeth Walk Pub Crawl. Web site
London Borough of Lambeth. Web site
London Archaeology
London Encyclopedia
London Gardens Online. Web site
London Remembers. Web site
Lost Pubs. Web site
National Archives. Web site
Nazeing Glass Works. Web site
Osborne. Defending London
Pevsner and Cherry. South London
Renier. Lambeth Past
Royal Pharmaceutical Society. Web site
Stewart. Gas Works in the North Thames area.
St.Peter’s Vauxhall. Web site
Thames Basin Archaeology of Industry Group. Report
Thames Discovery Programme. Web site
Tradescant. Blog spot
Vauxhall City Farm. Web site
Vauxhall Society. Web site
VGERTA Web site
Victorian Web. Web site
Watts. Glassmaking in London
Workhouses. Web site

Thursday, 17 March 2016

Riverside - south of the river and west of fhe Tower Lambeth Riverside

Riverside - south of the river and west of the Tower Lambeth Riverside

This posting covers sites south of the river only.

Posg to the north South Bank
Post to the east St.George and Waterloo
Post to the south Lambeth


Addington Street
The street is now reduced to being a quarter of the roundabout east of Westminster Bridge
Park Plaza County Hall Hotel
Park Plaza Hotel- on the site of the County Hall Island Block
GLC Island Block. The building was opened in 1974. It was designed by R. A. Laker, J. E. Knight and W. Sutherland, under Sir Roger Walters as Architect to the Council. Trollope & Colls were the main contractors. The building is in situ-cast concrete faced with 'grit blasted calcinated flint panels   the building had no entrance at ground level and was connected to the rest of County Hall by subways and a bridge across York Road,. There was a roof garden and internal spaces were arranged as large open offices and the whole building was a sealed environment, fully air-conditioned.  At first it housed the Valuation and Housing Departments.
Addington Street Extension. During the 1930s the LCC had been negotiating with the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for the purchase of land between York Road and Belvedere Road for their extension scheme, and were forced to take Addington Street at the same time. There was an old school on the site. In 1960 the Council built a four-storey structure
Addington Street School, This was a School Board for London School built in 1877.  It closed at some time before 1950. It was briefly attended by Charlie Chaplin

Amphitheatre Row
This was also known as Stangate Street
Astleys Amphitheatre. This was a public entertainment venue opened in 1773. It was burnt down in 1794, and then rebuilt. As time went it it became known as Astley's Royal Amphitheatre and the site of a circus – and it set international standard for the size of circuses since. The theatre continued to be popular long after Astley's death in 1814. Its final owner was Lord George Sanger who bought it in 1871. It finally closed and was demolished in 1893.                                                                              

Archbishops Park
Archbishops Park was once part of the grounds of Lambeth Palace. From the late 19th some of the gardens were opened by Archbishop Tait who was concerned about the welfare of the local poor. This area for local children to was called Lambeth Palace Field and in 1900 a campaign to poem it permanently was undertaken by the Metropolitan Public Gardens Association. Subsequently the park was laid out with lawns, a children's playground and sports fields and opened in 1901 by the Prince and Princess of Wales. At the northern end is a garden area dedicated to Octavia Hill. More recently a Millennium Path has been created, and a community orchard opened – with tree varieties selected which would have been here when the area was one with market gardens and nurseries. This park is still owned by the Archbishops of Canterbury and Lambeth Palace is still visible behind the trees

Belvedere Road
This road parallels the river in what is now a tourist area – up until the early 20th it was heavily industrialised.  The southern stretch now runs between the two halves of what was County Hall, and is now gated – calling itself ‘County Hall Apartments’; thus privatising publicly funded open space. Before County Hall was built this was called Narrow Wall. The bottom stretch up to Westminster Bridge was called Pedlar's Acre which was part of a bequest to the parish which was sold the London County Council in 1910 of the site for the new County Hall. 
Shell Centre.  A 25-storey slab block built for the Shell Petroleum Company to the designs of Sir Howard Robertson In 1953-63. There were two buildings – the Upstream and the Downstream – but the Downstream has been disposed of. The building is steel-framed, in reinforced concrete faced with Portland stone. There is below ground parking space for 400. There is a swimming pool, and four squash courts. In the inner hall is Marino Marini's Horse and Rider and the Upstream Restaurant has murals by Sidney Smith. The auditorium of the theatre was designed by Cecil Beaton with murals in the foyer by Osbert Lancaster – this closed in 1998. – but much of the surrounding area has been used by skate boarders and others.  The building was used as Shell’s UK head office. It has now been sold to developers.
Shell Fountain by Franta Belsky where shells once poured water into one another. This is in the courtyard of rhea Shell Centre.  It has suffered from wind effects on the water and is thus rarely working.  It was cast by the Corinthian Bronze Foundry at Peckham in 1958
Motorcyclist by Siegfried Charoux made in 1960.   It was originally called Man and exhibited at an open air scupture exhibition in Holland Park.  It was originally in the downstream building but was moved when that was sold.
Horse and Rider by Marino Marinin. This was made in 1961 for the Shell Centre’s Inner Hall but sited in the York Road lobby.
Shell Ball. By the garage entrance to Shell House. Six foot high ball with rings of granite and stone.  Many carvings of shells. Eric Aumonier given by the architects of Shell House in 1959.
Jubilee Gardens. Opened To celebrate the Silver Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II and Laid out in 1977 on the site of the 1951 Festival of Britain.  . Beyond a hornbeam hedge is an avenue of cherry trees with granite benches and blocks. On the other side of Belvedere Road there are more topiary, lavender beds and a water sculpture. It was redesigned and reopened in 2012. Lion
Memorial sculpture to the casualties of the British Battalion of the International Brigade in the Spanish Civil War. By Ian Walters
Dome of Discovery. The Dome of Discovery at the Festival of Britain covered most of the area of Jubilee Gardens.  It had nine sections – the land – the earth – polar – sea – sky- outer space – the physical world – the living world. It had a diameter of 365 feet and stood 93 feet tall, making it at the time the largest dome in the world. It was constructed by Costain.   It was demolished as soon as possible by the incoming Tory government led by W. Churchill and fragmented so it would be forgotten.
Monumental Group on the Podium of the Dome of Discovery by Barbara Hepworth
Myers Builders Yard. Ordnance Wharf. This was in the area covered by County Hall. There was a steam saw mill, blacksmiths and stables. 1850s. Myers came from Hull where he was in a partnership masons business which flourished including major work for Pugin. Moving to London his business grew and he was very prosperous. He built many important public buildings.
Grissell and Peto. Builders. On both sides of the road with a bridge joining the two. The partnership was 1830-1847 and they built many well-known buildings in London. It was the largest building and contractors’ businesses in Britain. Their buildings included Hungerford Market, the Reform, the Great Western Railway between Hanwell and Langley. Much of the South Eastern Railway and the Great Eastern Railway and the Woolwich Graving Dock. They built Nelson’s column and the London sewers
Crosse and Blackwell Jam and pickle factory. This famous firm was based in Soho and this was one of many factories they owned mainly concentrating on pickles and preserves.
Brush Electrical Engineering. The Company was established in Lambeth in 1880 to work the patents of Charles Brush of Ohio. Charles Francis Brush (born in Cleveland Ohio in 1849) who had invented an electric dynamo in 1876, and whose system of light was. As the business grew at larger premises were required and they moved to Loughborough as the as Brush Electrical Engineering Co
23 London County Council. Tramways offices, stores and depot. This was at the riverside end of Chicheley Street

Carlisle Lane
The northern end of this lane was once called Back Lane. South of that was The Green where the lane widened and where Carlisle House stood. This included Dog House Fields which is now under the railway – somewhere near where it interfaces with Newnham Terrace is Hercules Road. It and now winds its way down under endless railway arches of the lines going into Waterloo Station.
Carlisle House. This was a house owned since 1197 by the Archbishop of Canterbury but handed to the Bishop of Carlisle in 1539. Carlisle House does not appear to have been used as a bishop's residence after the Restoration. It was later used as a pottery. Later still it was a pub, then a dancing school and then a boys' school – Carlisle School. It was demolished in 1827 and the grounds sold to developers
Pottery. This was in Carlisle House about 1690 with kiIns making white stoneware.
Lawrence Charity School. This was in Dog House Fields funded by a bequest of 1661 from Richard Lawrence who left 6 houses in Dog House Field to the parish.  This school was rebuilt in 1814. In 1847 the estate was sold to the London and South-Western Railway Company, who rebuilt the school elsewhere
43 Lambeth glass works. Opened by Jessie Rust here in 1846. Flint, opaque, and coloured glass manufacturers. Rust’s expertise however was in decorative and artistic glass mosaics. They moved from this site in 1870
27 Royal George. Free house popular with medics from St Thomas' Hospital.  Demolished.
The Church of Holy Trinity. Thus dated from 1839, was built on part of the kitchen garden of Lambeth Palace with the vicarage and schools being built later to the rear. It was designed by Edward Blore. Following Second World War bombing the church was demolished
Holy Trinity Primary School, this group of low school buildings date from 1847 and are unused. It was used as the Kagyu Samye Dzong London from 1998 and remained here until 2007 when the site became subject to a later aborted redevelopment scheme.
Lambeth Parochial Sunday Schools
Mosaics on the walls of the railway tunnels.  Southbank Mosaics artists worked with 300 volunteers over a period of 7 years to research, design, plan, make and install these mosaics based on the words and paintings of William Blake. The names of all those who helped with this monumental work have been included in ceramic plaques being installed nearby.
Outbuildings. These are south of the allotments and consist of Archbishop's Park’s maintenance facilities and yard
Vandon’s Almshouses. These almshouses were in Petty France in Westminster and derived from a charitable bequest by a soldier. Following redevelopment work in Petty France in 1852 the Westminster Vestry purchased land from the Railway Company by the viaduct at the soothe end of Carlisle Street. They built here two new almshouses each with eight rooms.

Centaur Street
This square covers only the western end – another dark trek under endless railway viaducts
Mosaics on the walls of the railway tunnels.  Southbank Mosaics artists worked with 300 volunteers over a period of 7 years to research, design, plan, make and install these mosaics based on the words and paintings of William Blake. The names of all those who helped with this monumental work have been included in ceramic plaques being installed nearby.

Chicheley Street
Slug and Lettuce – Pub in what was the north block of County Hall
Festival of Britain. There was an entrance at the southern end of Chicheley Street with a circular planted area opposite. The furnishings here were done by the Faculty of Royal Designers for Industry of the Royal Society of Arts.
Power and Production Festival-of Britain exhibition – this was on the west side of Chicheley Street along with the Whistle Restaurant – self service. This highlighted the growth of present day industry calling it the lifeline of Britain.  With examples of first class design and production.
Sculpture by David McFall at the entrance to Power and Production. This was called Boy and Foal and it is now at Missenden Abbey.
Bas relief at the river end of Power and Production by Karel Vogel and the Camberwell School of Arts and Crafts called The Industries. This has apparently been destroyed.
Minerals of the Island. Pavilion at the Festival of Britain which was adjacent to Chicheley Street gate.  About how the British have drawn on their natural resources to produce raw materials for industry
The Country .pavilion of the Festival of Britain, this stood east of the Minerals of the Island. This sought to demonstrate a highly mechanised and efficient countryside resulting from experience with science and engineering. On the ground floor was the Dairy Bar – milk swerved in particular.
Sculpture by Henry Moore set against the turf slope. This was Reclining Figure. After the end of the Festival, this cast went on loan to Leeds City Art Gallery. It was vandalised in 1953, and lent to the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art in 1961, and there it remains.  There are however other casts of this sculpture some in private hands and some on public display.
The Natural Scene. Pavilion in the Festival of Britain which was east of the Minerals of the Island, This was about the rich and varied wildlife which inhabits these islands. Architect Brian O’Rourke
The Land of Britain Pavilion in the Festival of Britain.  This stood east of Minerals of the Island and north of the Natural Scene.  The architect was H.T.Cadbury Brown.-- How the natural wealth of Britain came into being.

Hercules Road
Liberty Bus. This was an independent operator based in a railway arch. The owner was Reginald Quickett with one bus called Liberty. This was an experiment by an MP called Macquiston who thought buses in London should operate like taxis and plying for trade and also take short cuts and diversions at the discretion of the driver to avoid jams. So he bought this bus and got Reg Quickett, to run it for him. This was in 1923 and Quickett soon moved to Chalk Farm.
192 railway arch the ‘Imperial’ bus worked on routes in Lambeth in 1923.
National School for Boys – is this the Lawrence school having moved from Dog House fields?? In 1848 after The London and South Western Railway Company had purchased the freehold of the School property in Dog House Fields a new School and Master's House were built in Hercules Road. This was finished in 1851 and accommodated about 300 boys. A large upper room was added in 1885. In 1904 the railway was again widened and the school had to move.

Lambeth Palace Road
St Thomas’s Hospital.  The hospital was founded in the 12th by Augustinians connected with St Mary Overie in the Borough. It was re-founded there in 1552 under the City Corporation and dedicated to Thomas a Becket – but changed by Edward VI, to St Thomas the Apostle. The hospital moved here in 1868 having moved for the Charing Cross Railway Extension. The new buildings were designed by Henry Currey and it was one of the first civic hospitals to adopt the Nightingale principle of a pavilion layout. Originally seven pavilions were built on the riverside, linked by arcades plus a chapel – nut only three pavilions and the chapel remain. Ornamentation is in Ransome's concrete. The pinnacles and chimneys are part of a complicated ventilating system. Following Second World War bomb damage some rebuilding began in 1962 with the East Wing. Later Yorke Rosenberg & Mardall provided two thirteen-storey ward blocks with a piazza over a car park. This needed the realignment of Lambeth Palace road. A thirteen storey block – the North Wing was built by John Laing in 1975. The Hospital uses a combined heat and power plant which operates on natural gas
Cross the Divide by Rick Kirby. Sculpture outside the Main Entrance unveiled in 2000. This is of two stainless steel figures reaching out to each other.
Torsion Fountain. In the centre of the formal garden on the piazza is a large stainless steel fountain, after a design by Naum Gabo of 1929 and erect4d in 1973.
Dreadnought Unit. With the closure of the Dreadnought Seamen’s hospital in Greenwich in 1986, services for seamen are provided here. It allows Merchant seafarers access to priority medical treatment. Dreadnought patients are treated according to clinical need
Sir Robert Clayton. Marble statue by Grinling Gibbons’s workshop from 1701-2.  It was done in Clayton’s lifetime and he is shown in contemporary dress with a long wig.  He was a Lord Mayor, President of the Hospital and a great benefactor. The statue has however suffered in bombing and some parts have been replaced. It has been moved many times and is now on the terrace
Edward VI statue. He refounded the hospital. The limestone statue dates from 1682 and is part of a group by Thomas Cartwright, which was on the front gateway of the old hospital. It has been moved many times since then and is now on the North wing Terrace. The rest of the group – the fower cripples - is in the main entrance hall and are very frail.
Edward VI. Another statue of the boy king. It is in bronze, by Peter Scheemakers, from 1737.  He is shown robed and with a garter collar.  .The statue has been moved many times including being exhibited at the Festival of Britain. It survived Second World War bombing. It is now in the North Wing corridor,
Queen Victoria statue. By Matthew Noble dating from 1873. This was commissioned to commemorate the opening of the new site by the queen.  It is now sited in the north corridor.
Enamel panels. In the entrance hall are six large enamel panels by Robyn Denny, 1976, and a mobile over the staircase by Nechemia Azass. There are also Doulton’s tile murals of 1910 in the hall to the treatment block and a sculpture by Antonas Brazdys.
Florence Nightingale.  Statue by Frederick Mancini. She is shown in a cap and frilled cuffs and carrying the wrong sort of lamp. This was produced from a plaster model of Walker statue in Waterloo Place.  Using money from a memorial fund to Alicia Still. What we see now a replica as the original bronze was stolen in 1970.  It is in the Central Hall having been moved several times.
Bust of Cicely Saunders. This is alongside the Nightingale statue. Bronze by Shenda Amery  from 2002. Cicely Saunders was a pioneer of the hospice movement
Bust of Rheodora Turner. This is alongside the Nightingale Statue. Bronze by Robert Dawson from 2002.  She was a matron at the hospital
Silver Bird, stainless steel sculpture by Antanas Brazdys installed 1975.  This is in the north wing near the café.
Head of Elizabeth II by Franta Belsky In bronze and installed in 1982.  This is in the corridor from the North Wing to the Central Hall.
Other art works at St. Thomas – these are; Bust of Dr. Charles Murchison, Bust of Sir William MacCormac, bust of Sir john Simon, Bust of Frderic Le Gros Clark, Bust of john Syer Bristow, Bust of William Cheselden, Bust of Dr, Richard Mead, Bust of John flint South, Bust of Dr. William Lister, bust of Samuel Solly,
Medical School. The medical school founded about 1550. It became part of the University of London in 1900 and is now a branch of Kings College of London University. In 1982 it merged with the medical school at Guy’s Hospital.  The building has a tower and an Italianate chimney.
Florence Nightingale Museum. The first training school for of nurses, inspired by the pioneering work of Florence Nightingale, was founded at St Thomas's in 1860.The museum details her career. It opened in 1989, on the site of the former Nightingale Training School for Nurses which she, founded in 1860.
Sasaparella. Large stainless steel construction opposite the hospital. Schollander.
Evelina Children’s Hospital. The hospital was founded in 1869 by Baron Ferdinand de Rothschild whose wife, Evelina and their child had died in premature labour. It was originally in Southwark Bridge Road and became a branch of Guys Hospital within the NHS and in 1976 it was moved there. In 2004 it moved to a new specialist hospital for all children's services on the site of a former nurses' home.
Chapel – this contains various artworks:  Reredos which is a Memorial to Sir Henry Doulton. By George Tinworth, and made at Doultons. Memorial to Florence Nightingale by Arthur Walker, memorial to Sarah Elizabeth Wardroper past matron made by Doultons,
Lambeth Palace - The Archbishop's Palace. A complex of medieval domestic buildings. The Archbishops of Canterbury owned the site from the late 12th when they built a house and chapel here - a small section of the original chapel remains in the undercroft. . It was begun by Archbishop Hubert Walter, 1193-1205, and first occupied by Stephen Langton, 1267-28.  It is on the site of a Saxon manor house that probably belonged to the sister of Edward the Confessor. William the Conqueror gave it to the Benedictine monks of Rochester, and in 1190 it was taken over by Archbishop Baldwin.  It was attacked in 1381 by Wat Tyler’s rebels. It was bombed in 1941. 
The Gatehouse.  This is next to the parish church. It was built by Archbishop Morton in 1495 and called Morton’s Tower.  Morton’s audience chamber was above the archway. 
Courtyard: memorial to Archbishop Lord David who died in 1930.  Fig- believed to have stemmed from those planted in the 16th by Cardinal Pole.
Residential part of the palace. This is in a Gothic wing on the north which was added in 1828-33 by Edward Blore for Archbishop Howley. 
Cranmer's Tower, brick, probably built in the mid 16th.
Great Hall.  This is of medieval origin but damaged during the Commonwealth and rebuilt after 1660 by Archbishop William Juxon, whose arms are over the door. There is a hammer beam roof, 70 ft in height, restored after war damage.  The windows are in 16th-17th glass.  The hall has part of the Library from the collection of 1610 by Archbishop Bancroft - .Illuminated MSS., the medieval registers of archbishops, and early printed books, 
Bust of Archbishop Temple by Epstein. This is in the cloister, where there are also the remains of wall painting.
Crypt – this is the oldest part of the palace. It is a vaulted chamber with marble pillars built about 1200.
Chapel. This is accessed via a 13th doorway.  It was built by Archbishop Boniface 1245-7 but gutted in Second World War the bombing. It was rebuilt by Lord Mottistone and Paul Paget and rededicated in 1955. 
Lollards' Tower. This was built as a water tower 1414-43 and it is thought that the followers of Wyclif were imprisoned here.  Bears the rebus of Archbishop Morton of the fork
Lauds Tower on the south is smaller. It was built about 1635 by that archbishop.
Guard Chamber rebuilt by Blore. Around the walls are portraits' of archbishops,
Monument to Archbishop Davidson by W. Reynolds Stephens, 1930. Two bronze angels kneeling below a cross.
Former stable, also by Blore, with buildings on three sides, now cottages.
Palace Gardens.  The river used to come right up to the palace wall behind and it is London's second largest private garden. The monks from Rochester were the first to lay it out. A formal garden for fruit, herbs and flowers was maintained for several centuries. Formal courtyards with historic white Marseilles fig were planted in 1555 by Cardinal Archbishop Pole. It is a parkland style garden with mature trees, woodland and native planting, pond, hornbeam tree. It was transformed by Rosalind Runcie, the Archbishop's wife, in 1987. The Croquet Lawn has a spring border with shrubs donated by the Duchy of Cornwall.
Mother and Child statue by Emma Pover.
St. Mary’s Church. This is the   former parish church of Lambeth, Disused since 1972.  The Parish Council wanted to demolish it but it was rescued in 1979 by the Tradescant Trust and restored as a Museum of Garden History. Cuthbert Tunstall, 1559, bishop of London and Durham, and several archbishops are buried in the church.  The tower dates from a rebuilding of 1370 although the top storey renewed in 1834 by W. Rogers. The main body of the church is from the 1370s: with a restoration by P. C. Hardwick in 1851-2.  There is a rare immersion font which is a memorial to Archbishop Benson 1896. There are brasses and monuments. The  'Pedlar's Window' in the south chapel commemorates the bequest to the parish of the 'Pedlar's Acre'
Churchyard. This has been laid out as a garden planted with flowers introduced by the Tradescants to England. The Tradescant sarcophagus, has a design has reliefs on four sides based on drawings now in Magdalene College, Cambridge. Nearby, is the tomb of William Bligh of the Mutiny of the 'Bounty' 1817, with a flaming urn.  There is a Knot Garden has been created in honour of the Tradescants
Museum of Garden History. A museum housing the largest collection of garden implements in the UK and run by the Tradescant Trust. It recalls the 17th plant hunters the John Tradescants, father and son.
Statue of a charity school boy. In Coade stone. This has been here since 1998 but was intended in 1785 for the front of the Lambeth Parochial School for Boys. And was on the front of the rebuilt school in 1808 moving with the school to Hercules Road.  By 1951 it was in the hall of the Archbishop Temple School but never made it to the comprehensive school.
Gardens opposite Lambeth Palace. This is a garden along the riverside with long raised beds, There is an evergreen holm oak planted for the Millennium by the Mayor of Lambeth in 1999.
Monument commemorating members of the Special Operations Executive.  This includes a bust of Violette Szabo, a Lambeth resident, who was a French resistance heroine.
Red brick building plus a drinking fountain

Lambeth Road 
The length of the road between the railway bridge and the embankment was once known as Church Street. The road is said to have once been a cart track from St. George’s Fields to the horse ferry. The road was renamed Lambeth Road form its constituent parts in 1876,
Turnpike – this is marked on the Roque Map of 1747 it the end of Hercules Road
178 Corner Café. This was a pub called The Union Flag; it dated from at least the 1870s and was a cafe by the early 1980s.
188 Railway Arch. Coach spring maker. Mr. Mangan. 1860s.
Railway Bridge.
202 Marine Society. This is entered through a decorative gateway.The Marine Society College of the Sea is a distance learning college for those at sea. It is used by members of the Royal hand Merchant Navies as well as all seafarers - wherever they may serve and in whatever capacity. The Marine Society dates back to 1756 and was begun by Jonas Hanway. He recruited boys from poor backgrounds and gave them naval training so they could fight on the King’s ships.
Archbishop Temple's Boy's School, T his school was built in 1902–4 on land given by Archbishop Frederick Temple. It was made up of three older schools - Thomas Rich's Grammar School, Richard Laurence's Charity for the clothing and education of twenty poor boys of Lambeth Marsh, and a subscription parochial school. It moved here from the end of Carlisle Lane when In 1904 The Railway was again widened. a new building was erected next to Lambeth Palace sold to them by the  then Archbishop of Canterbury, Frederick Temple, On the death of the Archbishop it was resolved to name this School "Archbishop Temple's Lambeth Boys' School.. In 1921it became the first Church of England Central School in the country. In 1961 the school amalgamated with Archbishop Tenison's Girls School as a step towards becoming a comprehensive. The school moved to another site in 1972.
109 Lambeth Distillery. This was Hodges Gin Distillery and then taken over by Daun and Vallentin. Closed 1912
109 Police Control Centre and Forensic Science Laboratory
Archbishop Tait's Infants' School 1888. This was named Archbishop Tait's Infants School was named for Archibald Campbell Tait (1811-1882), Archbishop of Canterbury from 1869. It was situated at no 220 Lambeth Road, SE1. The school seems also to have been called Saint Mary's Infants School, and was associated with Archbishop Tenison's School for Girls. With an attached schoolhouse and a turret.
212–204 This is Union Place
214 former rectory. Before the Reformation rectors of Lambeth were chaplains to Archbishops, and lived in the Palace. The “Parsonage House” was set up opposite the Pound, called Pound Close. In 1778 land by the pound was identified for a new rectory. It was used until damaged in Second World War bombing. At the back is a stone tablet inscribed in Latin about its founding. And another on the west side with the date of 1778

Leake Street
This was called York Steet.
Dr. Leake was the founder of the Lying In Hospital. This is another road lost in the depths of railway tunnels. It is now pedestrian access only and every inch is covered I graffiti – the result of a series of graffiti festivals.
Waterloo Station. Cabs entering the station in 1853 did so via an incline from here
Necropolis Station. The first Necropolis station connected to Brookwood cemetery was on the east side of the railway bridge here. From 1854, it had two sidings and a single platform. It was connected to the offices above by a staircase. This was removed and the service was moved in 1902.
Hydraulic train lift. For hoisting Waterloo and City Line rolling stock up the surface for repairs and installed in 1898. Now gone

Riverside
Queens Walk. This is the new name for a walkway on the south bank of the River between Lambeth Bridge and Tower Bridge. In this section the renaming changes the name of some of the road from what was the Albert Embankment This was completed by Bazalgette and named for Victoria’s consort and to compliment the Victoria Embalmment on the north bank. Part of the footway opened in 1868 and the date of 1870 could be seen on the cast-iron lampposts.
Lampposts – Dolphin lamp standards were designed by George Vulliamy, superintending architect of the Metropolitan Board of Works.  These were cast in 1870 and along with the date have the monogram of the Metropolitan Board of Works/London County Council.  This stretch has the original edition of the standards.
Lion Head Mooring ring supports. Designed by Timothy Butler and cast by Singer in 1868-70. The same design was used when County Hall was built under Maurice Fitzmaurice.
Outfall for the Shell Centre’s air conditioning. This is said to be Visible in the Thames at low tide in line with the Shell tower
Sufferance Wharf.  This is now in the area covered by Jubilee Gardens but was at the end of what was College Street. These wharves suffered in Second World War bombing and were used for the Festival of Britain site.
Providence Wharf. Like Sufferance Ward this is in the area covered by Second World War bombing.
The London Eye is a giant Ferris wheel Also known as the Millennium Wheel, It had been owned by British Airways, Merlin Entertainments and EDF Energy. It is now the Coca Cola London Eye.  It was built n 1999 and was then the world tallest Ferris wheel. It is the most popular tourist venue in Britain.
The 51 restaurant at the Festival of Britain.  It was in a corner.  It was a luxury bar with good snacks.
Youth. Sculpture by Daphne Hardy Hebrion in the garden at the Festival of Britain.  After the festival it was rejected by the Ministry of Education and it was then secured by Manasseh and Hardy in 1952 to save it from removal to Langley Airfield. It was eventually placed in the garden of the Manasseh family home in Highgate in 1959 where it remains.
Water mobile sculpture at the Festival of Britain by Richard Huws
The Islanders. Monumental group by Siegfried Charoux at the Festival of Britain.  It is not known what happened to it after the Festival, probably destroyed.
Mural on the river side of Sea and Ships by John Campbell Hutton at the Festival of Britain
Sea and Ships. Pavilion at the Festival of Britain – shipbuilding, propulsion and fisheries.
Statue of Neptune on the wall of the pavilion near the entrance by Keith Godwin
Jetty and Nelson Pier – shuttle service to Battersea and other passenger boats, designed by Basil Spence. Festival of Britain skylark restaurant – self help service, light refreshments. This pier was later removed,
Skylon Festival of Britain by Powell and Moya. Sold for scrap by the Tories
Pottery Wharf – pictures appear to show it handling chimneypots.  It appears to have been in the ownership of the Gladdish family in the 1860s. They were limeburners with interests in Northfleet and Gravesend chalk pits and other industries.
Wharves – in the 19th wharves in Belvedere Road serviced many industries. Some of them – for instance Grieve and Grellier were into various artificial stones, some were importing actual stone. There were also mineral water companies, as well as some remaining river trades, including haulage firms like Eastwoods.
Jubilee Oracle. William Morris's lines on London, from his great poem ‘Earthly Paradise’ inscribed in the pavement in front of the Jubilee Oracle statue.  'Forget six counties overhung with smoke, forget the snorting steam and piston stroke.     Forget the spreading of the hideous town; Think rather of the pack-horse on the down, and dream of London, small, and white, and clean, the clear Thames bordered by its gardens green.'    Jubilee Oracle has an inscription on a granite base.  Alexander 1980 and cast by Singer
The Link sculpture by Mina Sunar.  This was in Jubilee Gardens but was stolen. A
Flagpole cut from the forests of British Columbia especially for the Festival of Britain. After the Festival the flagpole was taken down but then re-erected by the British Columbian government to mark the Queens Silver Jubilee.
Riverside garden
Horse Head Mooring ring supports. These are by Ralph Knott and Gilbert Bayes, cast by Singer in 1911. These are on the central sections of the embankment outside County Hall.
London Dungeon. This was previously located in Tooley Street under railway arches but has moved to the Riverside Building at County Hall
The Sea Life London Aquarium is on the ground floor of County Hall. It opened in 1997 as the London Aquarium
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Flour mill. This was prominent on the approach to Westminster Bridge on the east side of the road.  In the mid 18th it had been Burnham's wharf but later became Simmond's flour mills. In the latter part of the 19th they were owned by John Whately Simmonds who bought the site in 1881 and sold it the London County Council in 1906
Mitre Public House
Godfrey and Searle. Searle’s boat building business. The firm is said have dated from at least the 1750s and represented the very poshest end of barge building. Their barges were made for royalty and their racing vessels for the better class of competitor. Their entry in Debrett read: By Appointment to Her Majesty the Queen; His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales; and the Emperor of the French.  They remained into the 1880s.
Stangate Wharf. There was a draw dock here. It was bought by the Metropolitan Board of Works’ in 1864. By which time it had been occupied for some time by building and rubbish contractors – plus a sail makers workshop
Stangate ferry. This belonged to the bishop of Rochester. Use of this horse ferry continued even after the building of Westminster Bridge in 1860. This was a busy crossing point leaving from Stangate Wharf and Stairs and arriving at Horseferry.
City of London barge house. Storage facilities for very posh boats. The royal barge was kept there after it no longer became possible to use the Barge House in Upper Ground. Also kept there were the state barges of some of the City Companies like the Armourers, the Goldsmiths and the Barber Surgeons
Honey and Archer. Lambeth boat builders – the posher end of the trade
Lambeth Pier. This is a calling place for the Clipper service and other river boats. Café alongside. The pier was transferred from the Thames Conservancy to the London County Council for their steamboat service which started in 1905 and was finally abandoned In1907, after which it was handed back to the Thames Conservancy  - the Port of London Authority took it over in 1909

Royal Street
Said to be a medieval road from the Green (now Carlisle Lane) to Stangate ferry
Flats - nine-storey block of flats, by L. Creed, 1958, for people displaced by new buildings for St Thomas'.
10 Holy Trinity Institute - this is now an art gallery and venue

Stangate
The name Stangate dates at least from the Middle Ages and there is speculation that it is Roman
Until the 290th Stangate Street ran from Westminster Bridge Road where it joined Narrow Wall to Upper Marsh.  It had also run south along the river down to the site of the City Bargehouse.

Upper Marsh
13 Canterbury Arms Pub. Now demolished
Fields Soap Factory. This was founded by Thomas Field of Lambeth before 1642 and by 1800 was known as John and Charles Field, candle makers from Lambeth Marshes. In the 1850s they also made candles and nightlights but by 1887 there were no Field family members left on the board. In 1941 the company moved from Lambeth Marsh to Wimbledon and in 1960 became part of Aspro-Nicholas Ltd.
The Bower Music Hall. This was a saloon for those who ‘liked smoking and drinking’. It has begun attached to the Duke’s Tavern in Stangate Street but was rebuilt in 1875. It then became the New Stangate Theatre, and ended up a warehouse for candles in 1877

Westminster Bridge
The first Westminster Bridge. The first bridge here was opened in 1750. A suggestion for a bridge had been made in 1664, but in 1736 an Act was obtained and £5 lottery tickets were sold to raise the necessary £625 000. The designer was Charles Labelye, a Swiss engineer. The bridge was of Portland stone and had 13 large and two smaller arches, each semi circular. It suffered badly from increased scour after the removal of Old London Bridge and suffered from subsidence – but was widely painted by many artists of the time
Westminster Bridge. The bridge was designed by Thomas Page in consultation with Sir Charles Barry. The contract was let to C. J. Mare of Millwall and work began in May 1854. It is of gothic design, with details by Charkas Barry and has seven iron-ribbed spans.  The roadway is 58 ft wide with 13 ft footways on each side. The bridge was of structural interest as it was one of the first to use Robert Mallet's buckled metal plates patented in 1852, as the decking material. These have since been replaced by reinforced concrete. The bridge was completed by Cochrane & Co., and was opened on 24 May 1862. In 2005–2007 it was refurbished, including replacing the iron fascias and repainting the whole bridge. It is the oldest road bridge across the Thames in central London.

Westminster Bridge Road
The Lion. This is on a plinth at the end of the bridge next to County Hall. It was sculpted by William Woodingham and cast in Coade Stone. It was commissioned as almost the last work done by the Coade works by the Red Lion Brewery to stand on the skyline on their roof.  This was on the main site of the brewery looking over the Thames. There were two smaller lions on other roofs – one of which was missing before demolition. They were originally painted red but are now cream.  When the brewery was demolished there was a public campaign to keep them and they were taken into care by the LCC. A trapdoor with mementos was found in its back. The lion was at Waterloo Station during the Festival of Britain and then handed to British Rail. In 1966 because of redevelopemtn it was moved to its present site by the GLC, The smaller lion is now at Twickenham.
172 Walrus. Old pub. Now a ‘hip hostel’.
163 The Kings Head. Closed in 1941 and now demolished
149 The Old Crown and Cushion Pub. Closed in 1897 and has been demolished.
242 New Bridge House Pub. Closed in 1963 and demolished.
Wilcox Assembly Rooms. This was present in the 1870s
143 The Canterbury Music Hall was set up in 1852 on the site of a skittle alley adjacent to the Canterbury Tavern. It was the first purpose-built music hall in London, set up by Morton. The theatre was rebuilt three times, but the third theatre was destroyed by Second World War bombing in 1942
214-216   Gatti’s Palace. Built in 1862 by the Italian, Gatti family as a restaurant. It was re-built in 1883 to the plans of a Mr. Bolton of Lincoln’s Inn Fields, and opened as Gatti’s Palace of Varieties. The stage was only 10 feet deep, and there were two dressing rooms thus it was a music hall of the original type, with a chairman announcing each act. It had ‘Gatti’s’ in the centre of the stonework at the top on a concave facade matching the curve in the road, In 1898, the Edison-Thomas Life Size Pictures appeared and in 1904, Mutograph films were screened. It was converted into full time cinema use in 1924. It was bombed in 1940, and it never re-opened.
County Hall.  There are now flats in what was built as the headquarters of the London County Council.  The Council was created in 1888 and opened up in the offices of the Metropolitan Board of Works in Spring Gardens. The new site was to be what was known as Pedlar's Acre. Ralph Knott won the competition for the new building in 1908 with the assistance of W. E. Riley, the council's architect. It is built on ground recovered from the river with beneath it a concrete raft 5 ft thick.  Building began in 1912, but was interrupted by the Greater War when it was used by the Food Ministry.  In 1965 the London County Council became the Greater London Council in 1965 and additional rooms were added  in the 1970s , by William Whitebread. A Chapel was set up in 1955. Some fireplaces came from historic buildings like Lindsey House in Lincoln's Inn Fields.  The Entrance Hall and the Ceremonial Staircase, were decorated with Italian, Belgian, and Ashburton marbles, and panelled in English oak. There was an octagonal Council Chamber which is said to be still there and intact. The GLC was abolished by Thatcher in 1986 and much of this sold off. The rest is now – built for the people of London is now ‘privately owned’.
Carving on County Hall. By Charles Manbey, Jnr. These are coats of arms of the constituent borough but some were never added.  There are also sculptures of figures in the window niches. By Ernest Cole and Alfred Hardiman. – they are: by Cole - a kneeling archer, Humanity supporting the world, Benevolence  and Humanity, two make nudes, the creation of Eve, The spirit of the Thames, and by Hardiman – Town Planning, Child Education, Recreation, Healing the Sick.
Memorial plaque to Ralph Knott by Gilbert Bayes. Knott was the architect of County Hall; who died before it was finished.
280 Coronet Pub, Closed in 1920 and since demolished
Rail bridge. The original bridge of the 1840s by the London and South West Railway from Nine Elms to the new York Road station, was built on a skew, which worried the inspectorate. In 1902 it was rebuilt to take six tracks
Necropolis Station. This was moved here in 1902 from Leake Street with two platforms and a turntable. It offered a funeral service and transport to Brookwood Cemetery

York Road
Waterloo Station. This square covers only the south western portion of the station. In the early 1840s the London and South West Railway built a line from their Nine Elms Terminus to York Road.  It was put onto a brick viaduct and curved to avoid major works. It crossed twenty one roads on brick and cast iron bridges. .although this was considered as a through station -and built in an area to the east not covered on this square - one line went out on a spur to the west with an engine shed, sidings and a turntable. Additions were made with extra platforms to the east and centre of the station. In 1885 what was known as the north station was added in the north east part of the area adding six more platforms. The station was completely rebuilt in the early 20th. Southern Railway offices on the corner were destroyed in blitz
Waterloo International Terminal.   This was on the west side of the station with platforms numbered 20 to 24, covered by a  glass and steel vault of 37 arches forming a prismatic structure. The first Eurostar departure was in 1994 and the last in 2007 and the station was then disused. All of the international platforms were brought back into use as part of the refurbishment of the main station starting in 2013
Portrait Statue of Terence Cuneo by Phillip Jackson.  Cuneo was a wartime railway illustrator.
Waterloo Underground Station.  Opened in 1898 it is the terminus of the line to the Bank on the Waterloo and City Line. It lies between Embankment and Kennington on the Northern Line and between Embankment and Lambeth North on the Bakerloo line and between Westminster and Southwark on the Jubilee Line. The first was the Waterloo and City Line which opened 1898 with rolling stock left on the surface at Waterloo if there were any problems. In 1906 the Baker Street and Waterloo Railway opened from Baker Street to Kennington Road.  It was built as an intermediate on extension from Charing Cross to Kennington.  That opened provisionally in 1906 with stations designed by Leslie Green in the form of a plinth so that offices could be built on the top. It had the characteristic ruby red bricks. In 1926 it was joined by the Charing Cross, Euston and Hampstead Railway as the Northern Line. This had a substantially a new station with a new ticket hall and concourse. In the Second World War electric flood gates were installed in the tunnels.    An extra ticket hall was added in York Road for the Festival of Britain and in the 1990s extensive changes for the Channel Tunnel and Jubilee Line services were made.  Very little of the original Leslie Green station remains and the York Road frontage has been demolished.
Turnpike was outside the site of the tube station. Demolished 1848
Festival of Britain entrance and Station Gate t
Statue - Group symbolising the origins of the land and the people by Mitzi Solomon Cunliffe on the viewing platform at the Station Gate Entrancr to the Festival
Sculpture by L.Peri on the north wall of the entrance to the Festival of Britain
Rocket Restaurant by the gate at the Festival of Britain. Self help service of light refreshments
Fairway Café at the Festival of Britain in the information kiosk by the Station Gate/ Waitress service.
56 Rising Sun Pub. Demolished for the Festival of Britain site
57 Duke of York. Closed in 1961 and now demolished.
BEA London Terminal. This was on the site of the Shell Centre.  In 1953 the York Road entrance to the Festival of Britain site re-opened as the BEA Waterloo Air Terminal serving passengers on BEA flights and other airlines operating out of Heathrow. It was in use between 1953 and 1957 and provided c heck-in facilities, luggage drop-off and a regular coach / bus service provided passenger transport to the airport. In 1955 a helicopter service was run between the Waterloo Air Terminal and Heathrow
Elisabeth House. This was built in the 1960s. It was a John Poulson building designed by a house architect. It consists of a seven-storey office building, with shops at ground level. A 10-story office block. A 16 storey Tower Building: A 16-storey office block
Smith and McGaw and Co. Moulding Mill. This is a woodworking factory. Making mouldings from Pine, etc.
General Lying in Hospital . This was a small 19th hospital built by Henry Harrison. It was one of the first general (non-denominational) maternity hospitals in Great Britain. It opened in 1767 as a maternity hospital with Dr. John Leake as its first physician. The hospital admitted single mothers as well as married women. Early in the 1820s this build was erected. : Later A training school for midwives was established. In 1879, Joseph Lister became consulting surgeon, and the hospital was the first to practice antiseptic midwifery in this country. Under the NHS it became part of St Thomas's, the building was then unused and became derelict. It was refurbished in 2003 including a grant from the Guy's and St Thomas' Charity. It was then used a training facility and offices. At least 150,000 babies were born at the hospital. Since 2013 the building has been part of the Premier Inn Hotel
York Road County Hall blocks.  Two additional wings, North and South Blocks, were planned in 1937, by the London County Council with Sir Giles G. Scott as consultant.  It was built partly in 1939, and finished in 1950-8.
75 Jubilee Tavern. Plain, but popular pub which relied on office trade. Closed in 2008 and now demolished
94 Wellington. Closed in 1918 and demolished

Sources
British History On line. Web site
Cavanagh. Public Sculpture of South London
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Day. London Underground
Faulkner. Railways of Waterloo
Festival of Britain, Brochure
Francis. History of the Cement Industry
Gibberd. On Lambeth Marsh
GLIAS Newsletter
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Jackson. London’s Termini
London Encyclopedia
London Gardens. Web site
Lucas. London
Marine Society. Web site
Nairn. Nairn’s London
National Archive. Web site
Old Lambethians. Web site
Pevsner and Cherry. London South
Port of London Magazine
Renier. Lambeth Past
Smythe. City Wildspace
Southbank Mosaics. Web site
Thames Basin Archaeology of Industry Report
Vauxhall Society. Web site