Riverside. South bank west of the Tower. Bankside
Post to the east Tooley Street
Post to the west Southwark
This road runs alongside the railway going to Charing Cross from London Bridge. The road however predates the railway, and was once was lined with houses and ran to America Place to the east. It is in directories from 1810. A Roman cemetery was discovered here following an investigation before redevelopment
1 America Street. This large block is now used by Bennett Urban Planning and also hosts art and architectural events and exhibitions plus some flats.
Bank End. This was an important landing-stairs and plying place. Although the stairs have gone there is an area near their site where customers of the pub and others can stand by the river.
Pond - In mediaeval times there was a large pond here. It was fed partly by streams and partly by fresh springs which arise when gravel and clay meet. The water was used for drinking. Later a water works was built in Park Street
Five bollard posts. Four of them are reproductions but are gun shaped and inscribed ‘’Clink 1812’’
1 Vinopolis. This was a commercial visitor attraction by Wineworld, which opened in 1999 presenting wine and oenology through exhibits and wine tastings. It is now closed down.
There were clearly many pubs along Bankside in the 16th and 17th these included The Elephant, the Crane, The Swan, the Vine, the Beerpot, the Bullhead
Southwark Wharf. In the late 19th Southwark Wharf was owned by Voss, chemists and druggists. When among other things they were handling shipments of gold ore. It is now occupied by the Financial Times
1 Anchor Pub. In 1775 this was part of the Castle on the Hoop built along with warehouses and a wharf. Earlier it had been called Drew’s Rents. There are supposed to be secret hiding places there. It is a low much rebuilt late 18th pub, at the edge of the Bishop of Winchester's Clink territory. It has a typical riverside '"flavour" and there is part of a concrete river wall was reinforced after the damaging floods of 1927-8 when -the cellars were flooded.
Financial Times. 12 storey computer centre block
Riverside House. Commercial building next to Southwark Bridge. It has a ‘spinnaker’ front. Currently HQ of Offcom
Southwark Bridge. Below the bridge is a pedestrian tunnel with a mural of the Thames Frost Fairs
6-7 Central Wharf. Warehouses built 1912. The site is said to have been owned by the Tallow Chandlers Company and their arms were displayed on the wall.
Red Lion Wharf. The wharf present in the 1980s replaced a Venetian Gothic warehouse of 1865. This wharf is shown in two separate parts in the 1890s but it has now been demolished.
Ceylon Wharf. Owned by Harrison and Crosfield and was their largest tea warehouse. The partnership dated from 1844 and moved to London in 1854. An In the 1890s took on the blending and packing of teas, and imports from Ceylon at Ceylon Wharf, Bankside in Southwark. They diversified into managing plantations and much of the company's interest in tea was disposed of in 1916 on the formation of Twining, Crosfield. The wharf was demolished in 1982.
Scott’s Wharf. Mr. Scott was a timber merchant here in 1805.Subnsequentlyu the wharf had many different operators. It was alongside Southwark Bridge.
11 Eagle Foundry. This is said to have been in the site of the Bear Garden, round 1820 it moved to 11 Bankside and was occupied by John and Richard Bradley. Later it was occupied by James Benbow,
Bankside Pier. This handles the Clippers and other riverboat services
37 Welsh Trooper. Pub present in the 19th and since demolished
Stone Wharf. This wharf related to Green Moor quarries in Yorkshire. In 1827 the quarry owners had this wharf. They produced blue stones, grey stone, edge coping, steps and gravestones. The quarries closed in the 1930s. It later became the site of Southwark’s rubbish tip.
45-46 Imperial Wharf. In the 19th this was used by a variety of chemical and paint manufactures, including Randall Brothers in the 1850s who later moved to Runneymede. This is now part of the Globe Theatre site
47 British Lion wharf. This was used by Craig and Rose; colour manufactures, and is now part of the Globe Theatre site.
44 Globe Wharf. This wharf appears to have been used for coal transshipment
45 Phoenix wharf. Moss Iron used it in 1873
49 Cardinal's Wharf. The site was empty from 1470 to 1530, when an inn was built which survived until the early 19th. The cellars are still there, and the layout reflects the original inn. The front door onto Bankside opens straight into a front room - a Georgian building would have had a hall. The cellars are entered from the back, where there is less risk of flooding. A plaque on the front of the House says it was used by Christopher Wren during the building of St Paul's Cathedral, and by Catherine of Aragon on her first arrival at London. Neither is true: In the second half of the 19th the waterfront was gradually taken over by wharfage for stone, and coal. The houses became wharf offices, interspersed with warehouses. The Sells family were coal merchants in the mid-18th and eventually merged with Charringtons, and moved to Rotherhithe. During the Second World War the next door house was bombed and rebuilt afterwards.
51 Provost's Lodging. The home of the Provost of Southwark Cathedral. It has since been sold for £6m
White Lion Wharf. In the early 19th there was a stable here which was used by the gas works.
Masons Stairs. Another set of watermen’s stairs, now gone. ,
Waterman’s Arms. Now demolished.
67 Three Compasses. Pub dating from the 19th, now demolished
Bollards. There are 4 posts located along Bankside. There is a replica on the south side, west of Southwark Bridge; a genuine canon on the south side on the north-west corner of Bear Gardens; and two on the north side New Globe Walk one inscribed 'Clink Liberty 1839'; and the other inscribed 'Clink 1826'
Sackler Studios. This is Shakespeare’s Globe Education Centre – studios, rehearsal space, etc.
1 was the site of the last bear baiting arena in Southwark. It was built after 1660 and visited by Pepys. The site of the main ring of the Tudor bear pit. It was a Bear and Bull pit in the 16th owned by Philip Henslowe and Edward Alleyne
Hope Theatre. This was an adaption of the bear pit built so that it could be used as a baiting ring as well as a theatre; that is, with a movable stage, supported upon trestles and the 'heavens' over the stage, borne by the outer structure, without any support from the platform. It opened in 1614 set up by Henslowe and Alleyne to compete with the newly constructed second Globe in the Jacobean period. However, an auditorium sharing playing and bear-baiting does not appear to have been successful although it was the most modern of these theatres. Bear baiting was presumably more profitable. In 1656 it was demolished. The site was also used by Davis Amphitheatre and was later called Glasshouse Square.
Glassworks – Bear Gardens may have been the site of an early glassworks. This was set up in the early 17th by Edward Salter, who erected a furnace and produced tableware items. It may also have been at Winchester House. Later a plot on the east side became a site for Bowles and Lillington who had a substantial works there. By 1759 the site had became a foundry,
Bear Gardens foundry, Opened by John Bradley set up in 1780. The site was redeveloped before 1916 as Empire Warehouse (the foundry may/may not have a link to the Eagle Foundry)
Bear Gardens Museum. This was the precursor of the Globe Theatre set up by Sam Wanamaker as a theatre exhibition and school along with some local and Shakespearean history.
Stone seat. This is in the wall of Riverside House offices and is called a “wherryman’s” seat. Such seats were the resting places for the Thames boatmen,
12 White Bear Pub. This pub was there before 1830 and probably closed in the late 19th. It has since been demolished
Previously called Foul Lane and later York Street
Globe Tavern. A traditional market style pub within the heart of Borough Market. Part of the pub is under the railway arches, with trains thundering above. It opens early for those working in the market. It was built in 1872 by Henry Jarvis with an unusual, almost heart-shaped, planorough Market entrance – art deco entrance of 1932 on the south side.
7 block which included 2, 4 6 Green Dragon Court. This was built in 1832 by Robert Smirk as part of his unfinished scheme for a new approach to London Bridge. Much of it was demolished in the 19th when the railway was built. There were late 19th shop fronts. Entirely demolished in 2010 and replaced by new entrance to Borough Market facing on Borough High Street.
Railway Bridge. The older bridge dates from the 1860s as the extension from London Bridge Station into new stations at Cannon Street, Blackfriars and Charing Cross Station
Thameslink Bridge – this new bridge was installed in 2011 and is not yet in use.
Borough High Street
This area at the southern end of London Bridge was named as ‘Southwarke borow’ in 1559, the ‘borough of Southwarke’ in 1603. Thus ‘borough’ means 'suburb of a city outside the wall'. The High Street was called ‘Long Southwark’ in 1603. Time Southwark High Street was for a long time the only exit from the City to the south and coaches from Dover and the south took passengers to the south bank of the river. The road had many pubs. This area was built up by the early 17th, and the medieval and Tudor pattern of narrow buildings with courts and alleys leading to buildings behind the frontages is still in place. The northern end was realigned when London Bridge was rebuilt in the 1830s to the west of its predecessor and the present numbering of the buildings on the street is confusing because of piecemeal alteration over the past 150 years. There are many railways and this includes the City of London and Southwark Railway Co. built below the road to save money by going under the street
2 Hibernia Chambers. Built in 1858 this is an Italianate warehouse by William Cubitt. It was reconstructed in 1976, and previously the two storeys below street level were warehouses. The London Provision Exchange was established here at the beginning of the 20th. It is now, as 9 Montague Close, below Glaziers Hall.
4 Bridge House. Built as a hotel in 1836. As one of the first grand hotels in London, serving the new railway terminus opposite. It had about 150 rooms, but was never very popular and closed afer4 about thirty years. The building was later used by the Southern Railway as offices. It is now shops and offices
6-8 Barrow Boy and Banker. Pub. This is in what was built as the Southwark Branch of the Westminster Bank. Later this was known as Bank Chambers.
7 Shop built into the railway bridge with a clock on the façade above. Once used by a tobacconist it was ’Findlater’s Corner’.
Thameslink Railway bridge. This was installed in 2011. The approach viaducts are through deck plate girder design supported on concrete piers. It is 9 metres, 9m high in the centre with a trapezoidal girder constructed from large diameter tubes with tapering ends in the main span. This had to be installed over a weekend, when the bridge was rolled across the street at the rate of a few centimeters per minute and was then lowered down onto the new concrete supports. It doubles the number of lines passing westwards out of London Bridge.
Railway bridge. This dates from 1866 when the line was put through from London Bridge to Charing Cross and Cannon Street Stations by John Hawkshaw.
Glazed market building and entrance which replaces the Smirke range in Bedale Street. This dates from 2010 and the installation of the new railway bridge.
Borough market entrance – the Art Deco entrance dates from 1932. At one time there were underground toilets alongside.
Pillory and whipping-post near the prison, opposite Bedale Street
Southwark Street junction – when the street was built in 1864 it created a 'fork'. South of this is a triangular area at the junction with Southwark Street. This is the area of the old market place. On the island stood St Margaret's church and later the town hall.
Clock-tower, - this was a gothic structure designed by designed b. Arthur Ashpitel, to look like a market cross. I5 stood in the centre of the road and was erected in 1854. It was removed when the railway extension was built and moved to Swanage.
St.Margaret’s Church. This dated from the 12th. At the Reformation St. Mary Overy became the parish church and St. Margaret’s was sold off. It burnt down in 1676 and was replaced by a new Sessions House in 1685. This was replaced by a Town Hall in 1793 which itself was pulled down in the mid 19th and rebuilt
32 -34 Slug and Lettuce The Westminster Bank originally built as the London and County Bank by Frederic Chancellor in 1862. This is in the building which was the successor Town Hall 1753-1859. There is a plaque on the building about the town hall and other buildings. On the wall there is also a war memorial erected by the London Hop Trade by Omar Ramsden.
Borough Comptor. This prison was set up in the 1550s and was either in the old church or on buildings on the site. Clearly there was another Borough Comptor off Tooley Street. It appears this prison had some special accommodation for women and conditions there were one of the factors towards prison reform
War memorial by Philip Lindsay Clark. This was Unveiled in 1922. It represents advancing infantryman in battledress with bayonet fixed rifle on shoulder. Bronze reliefs represent aerial and naval combat. There is also a representation of St George and the Dragon and an also of a mourning woman, Grief, with a babe clasping a dove. Big row about it when it was put up – too many posh people involved.
19a Post office. This originated as part of the 1852 development of St Thomas; Hospital – which was relocated when the railway was extended. It has three storeys, with a high basement. It was the wing of the hospital front court, rebuilt by Samuel Robinson and James Field as part of the new approach to London Bridge. There is a plaque on the building to say that St.Thomas’ Hospital was the site of where the first English language Bible was printed in 1537. This was done by James Nicholson, who lived here and who printed the Coverdale's translation.
45 The King's Head. Most of the buildings in the Kings Head Yard were destroyed in Second World War bombing. Roman remains found here indicate the site was occupied then. The pub is thought to have been the Pope's Head before the Reformation. It was the property of St. Thomas's Hospital in the 18th and leased to Henry Thrale and later to Barclay Perkins and Co. Ltd. It has a late 17th bust of Henry VIII.
61 The White Hart. The name relates to the badge of Richard II. In 1450 it was the headquarters of Jack Cade. It was burnt down in 1676 and rebuilt. The Dickens mentions it in Pickwick Papers. It is now closed and demolished
50 Calvert's Buildings. In its yard is a timber-framed building used as an inn with overhanging upper floor. These are warehouses, built to hold a year's supply of hops, could be enormous
52 hop warehouse built in the 1870s to the designs of A Pope.
54 Field & Sons. Property Managers in a building which covers the area of a burgage plot. This is a timber framed building from the mid 16th and apparently a brothel. In the 18th it was the “The Hen & Chickens”, a coffee house. The Field family bought it in 1875 – having opened elsewhere in the area in 1801l and have been there ever since.
67 W. H. & H. LeMay. Late 19th hop merchant’s premises, with a decorative panel of hop gatherers above - and it has a weather vane. This is on a burgage plot.
74 Maidstone Buildings and Mews. This is described as a warehouse conversion to modern flats. The warehouse was said to be built on what was Bell Yard.
85 Talbot Yard – site of The Tabard. This was demolished in 1875 following a fire. It was probably one of the earliest inns here and in and famous of the Borough inns as the meeting place of Chaucer's Canterbury pilgrims. It was renamed Talbot in the 17th.
105 The Queen's Head. This was demolished in 1886. In the 15th it was called the Cross Keys and in the 17th it belonged to John Harvard.
121 The Grapes. This is the site of a pub called The Christopher. The Grapes dates from the mid-19th
London Bridge Station Entrance
This was the area of the south side of London Bridge, slightly to the east of the present bridge
Bear Inn. This was at Bridgefoot. It could be dared to 1319 and there are many references to it. There was archery in its grounds, and adjacent was a landing stage from where -boats started for Greenwich and Gravesend. It was demolished when the bridge was widened
Borough Water Works. This stood alongside the river on the west side of the bridge and, dating from the 1750s, was the Old Borough Water Works (which rather implies it had been around for some time before that). They installed a steam engine from Boulton and Watt.
Cannon Street Railway Bridge
This bridge carries trains from London Bridge over the river to Cannon Street Station It was originally named Alexandra Bridge after Queen Alexandra. It was designed by John Hawkshaw and John Wolfe Barry for the South Eastern Railway. It was opened in 1866 to carry the railway on five spans standing on cast-iron pillars. It was widened in 1893 by Francis Brady and renovated by British Rail in 1982,
Cardinal Cap Alley
This runs south from Bankside alongside a row of remaining 18th houses. It is said that it once led to a tavern called Cardinal Cap or Cardinal Hat Inn.
St Saviour's. This is the oldest building in the London Borough of Southwark. Mentioned in the Domesday Book. It was then the priory church of St Mary Overy which may have been founded by Mary Audrey or Overy, said to be a ferry-woman who gave her earnings to it. There is another story which is about John Overy, a ferryman in the 6th. It is also said to be on a ley line. In 862 A.D., Swithun, Bishop of Winchester, dissolved the nunnery and established a College of Secular Priests and in 1106 two Norman knights, founded the College for Canons Regular of St Augustine and elected Aldgood as the first Prior. It was then called the Priory Church of the Black Canons and the church was built by William Gifford, Bishop of Winchester. A small; part of this Norman structure remains but the church itself burnt down in 1212. It was rebuilt by Peter de la Roche, Bishop of Winchester and this is what remains in the oldest parts of the Cathedral. A parish church was then opened in a chapel called St Mary Magdalene Overy, which was adjacent. It was in this period that what became St. Thomas’s Hospital was set up. In the 15th the roof to fell in and the resulting wooden substitute remained until 1830. At the Reformation the parish church of St Mary Magdalene Overy was joined to St Margaret's-on-the-Hill and they became St Saviour’s and parishioners leased the building from the Crown. Under Queen Mary Gardiner and Bishop Bonner endorsed Protestants to die as martyrs here. Until the reign of Charles I, the Chapel was let out as a bakehouse, a storehouse and a pigsty. In 1614 the parishioners, purchased the main church and the avowdson from the Crown. By the beginning of the 19th, the Lady Chapel was in a bad state of decay and in parishioners raised money for its restoration but it was demolished in 1830 for the approach road to London Bridge. In 1889 Bishop Thorold oversaw restoration work by Arthur Blomfield and a foundation stone for the present nave was laid in July 1890 by the then Prince of Wales. Eventually in 1905, St Saviour's returned to the See of Winchester and was consecrated as Southwark Cathedral. In 1937 it was renamed 'The Cathedral and Collegiate church of St Saviour and St Mary Overy'. There are monuments to many churchmen and others, including Shakespeare and there is a memorial window to the war dead of the South Metropolitan Gas Company. Another window dedicated by the Glasssellers Company shows a glass making furnace. The diocese which it serves stretches from the Thames to Gatwick Airport, from Thamesmead in the east almost to Thames Ditton in the west. It has a population of two and a half million people, served by over 300 parishes.
Extensions. In 2000 major extensions, designed by Richard Griffiths, were added north of the Cathedral. The Cathedral had purchased Montague Chambers in 1996 and the new facilities were added including an Education Centre, a new Millennium Courtyard on the riverside and of a new building to the north of the Cathedral for a contains a refectory and library. Two artists' commissions include stained glass by Benjamin Finn, and work on the new north entrance doors by Wendy Ramshaw, on the theme of pilgrimage through maps. The new buildings are linked to the Cathedral through a glazed link following the former 19th alley between the church and the warehouses on the river.
Churchyard and garden areas. There were graveyards for the two churches, St.Saviour and St.Margaret from 1540. St Saviour the west and St.Margaret to the east - as the Bull Head or St Margaret's churchyard. In 1570 it became a stonemason’s shop for Dutch stone-masons who had come here around 1570. The churchyard was in use until 1853 and is now much reduced in size. There are 19th stone gate piers. It was restored by Elizabeth Banks Associates in 2000/2001 and opened in 2001 by Nelson Mandela. Areas of the precinct were redesigned to with railings, straight and meandering paths, lawn, and trees. The foundations were discovered of the Bishop's Chapel, demolished for the building of London Bridge. This inspired a new herb garden which would memoralise the Apothecaries' Garden of St Thomas Hospital, once nearby. A new courtyard is surrounded by new planters with Liquidambar trees and with aromatic shrubs. Elsewhere plants were used with Shakespearean and/or biblical resonance with box-edged beds and ferns below a London plane. There is a grapevine and a passion flower while roses and lady's mantle lie against the church walls, and there are wooden benches. . There is a sculpture of the Holy Family by Kenneth Hughes erected in 1981.
This was once called Church Street, and leads to St. Saviour's Dock.
Borough Market. There had been a market here from the time of the Bishops of Winchester in the 13th. The Crown fixed its boundaries and the rights passed to St.Saviour’s in 1562. It claims to be the oldest municipal fruit and vegetable market in London and is a successor to a market held on London Bridge in the 13th. It was moved to its present site, at what was then Rochester Yard, in 1756 because it was an obstruction to traffic. It was given a charter by Edward VI in the mid -16th. In 1893 it became ‘Borough Market’ and profits relieved local rates. It was rebuilt in 1820 and again in 1867 because if the railway extension to Charing Cross. There is a glazed roof with iron framework supported by cast iron pillars. It has a brick front of 1932. Another refurbishment began in 2001. This included in 2004 part of Covent Garden’s Floral Hall. Throughout most of the 20th it was a wholesale market, selling greengrocers’ shops but recently it has become a centre for selling specialty foods to the general public and this includes a variety of street food. The market is a charitable trust administered by a board of volunteers.
Borough Market. West side of Cathedral Street. The area on the west side now covered by an extension to the Market was once the site of a series of wharves and warehouses divided by Primrose Alley.
Bell Pub. A pub called the Bell was at an address of 4 Borough Market throughout the 19th.
Primrose Alley, this narrow passage separated Rosing's Wharf from a "yard full of staves" on the north.
West Kent Warehouses. In the 19th some smaller premises were collectively known as West Kent Warehouses, mainly in the east side of the street. From some time before 1863, the site later covered by Rosing’s and Stave Wharves was occupied by J. Hartley & Co, wharfingers, and they also occupied and rebuilt West Kent Wharf in 1858. In 1890, Messrs. Rosing Brothers & Co., coffee cleaners and merchants took over the West Kent Warehouse, which they renamed West Kent Mill in 1891. The premises were eventually taken over by the Proprietors of Hay's Wharf, and it became integrated into Hays’ Hibernia Wharf, also occupied by Hay's.
Rosings' Wharf. This had a bridge from the West Kent Wharfs. It was served only by lighters and coastal vessels. Unit sizes remained small and all internal handling was by manual means. It had 5 storeys and basement. It probably dates from the second quarter of the 19th with timber floors with massive square beams, and cast iron columns to a grid pattern. In 1870, hops, sugar, seeds and corn were stored in the main warehouse and corn, flour and bags of feathers in the others. From 1872 there was also storage by a Danish provision broker with butter, bacon and cheese. In 1890, Rosing Brothers & Co., coffee cleaners and merchants took this on with West Kent Warehouse. The interior of the building was reconstructed for a change in use and to take machinery. Offices for the Borough Market Trust were built on the site of the smaller granary in 1897. Rosing’s' left in 1921 and the premises, by then known as Rosing’s' Wharf, were taken over by the Proprietors of Hay's Wharf. In 1964, the building ceased to be used for public storage. A wine importer, Michael Wooley Ltd, installed new offices and toilets in 1967, but it was disused by 1979. A modern bottling machine, a roller conveyor, a single line of trap doors and sites of chutes remained along with a re-mounted 19th wall crane. It was demolished by the end of 1983.
Stave Wharf. At first a bridge gave access from the former West Kent Wharves' waterside premises, by then also owned by the Proprietors of Hay's Wharf. It was served only by lighters and coastal vessels. Unit sizes remained small and all internal handling was by manual means. This was built in 1912/13 on a site which had been previously occupied by a cottage, stables, and a yard for storing staves. It was built as an extension to the West Kent Warehouses. It was built of non-combustible materials, with a windowless basement. A chute delivered goods to floor level from the platform above. A spiral sack chute was added on the west side in 1916. It was mainly used for the storing and working rubber although it also held canned goods and wine storage. The cellars were used as an air-raid shelter during the Second World War From the mid-1960s the building was let as a store, its last occupiers being Cosmos Freightways. Various firms used it until 1981. It was demolished by the end of 1983
Stable unit of Winchester Palace– this became the Great Bottle House sited on the corner with Stoney Street.This was occupied by a succession of glassmakers from 1661 to 1703. Here Sir Kenhelm Digby invented the English globe and shaft bottle. It was later converted into a warehouse.
Bollard. This is at the corner with Winchester Walk. It was erected in 1812 and has the word ‘Clink’ on it.
Gun post at north end of the street inscribed ‘Wardens of St Saviour’s 1827’
8 Borough Market Offices and offices of the Trustees
The name relates to the medieval estate of the Bishops of Winchester, known as the 'Liberty of the Clink’ and around the area is various street furniture and signs which relate to this. This was part of the 'hide of Southwark' granted by Henry I to the Priory of Bermondsey in 1104-09. They sold it in around 1149 to the Bishop of Winchester and the Bishop's London house was built here. The area lay outside the jurisdiction of both the City of London, and Surrey County and thus allowed some activities forbidden there – hence the theatres. It was gradually subsumed into metropolitan local government throughout the 19th and eventually became part of the County of London in 1888.
The Clink. The Clink has become known as a term for prison. It seems to be derived from the name of the Bishop's prison, which was also the gaol for the Liberty. There is a museum in part of the area of the old prison describing life in a medieval prison. There has been a prison here since 860, although then it would only have been one cell. By 1076 punishment included, scourging with rods, solitary confinement, and bread and water in silence. As a senior member of the government the Bishop dealt with those accused of heresy and such religious offences. Prisoners with money outside were able to pay for privileges… A new prison was built following riots against the Statute of Labourers in 1450 and by the 16th it was mainly used for heretics. Later it was a debtor’s orison. By 1745 the Clink was too decayed to use and it was burnt down in 1780 by Gordon rioters and never rebuilt.
The Bell'. This pub is said to have been in Clink Street and to have taken its name from the bells in St Mary Overy's. It may be the pub mentioned by Chaucer/. It was also said to be the Kings Warehouse from 1628 for saltpetre and later a recruiting centre for the navy.
Old Thameside Inn. Pub/wine bar built in the shell of an old riverside warehouse. Said to be ‘an old spice warehouse’. From maps it appears the pub is on the site of St. Mary Overie Wharf – which was built as a granary - and is either a new building or a reconstruction
St. Mary Overy Wharf. This stood between Clink Street and the river on the west side of Cathedral Street with direct water access. It was served only by lighters and coastal vessels. Unit sizes remained small and all internal handling was by manual means. This brick warehouse was first a granary for. George Doo in 1882. The terra cotta roof-top balustrade in terra cotta was by Doulton. The wharf closed in the 1960s, although various firms used it until 1981. It was probably planned to use hydraulic power and in 1883, was the first customer of the public hydraulic supply network – and this included a number of riverside cranes. By 1885 the lower floors were used as a general warehouse. By 1890 it was used by Cole & Carey, general wharfingers. In 1948, the Proprietors of Hay's Wharf acquired it. From the end of the 1960's, the building was occupied intermittently and the waterside cranes ceased to be used. The last tenant was a grocery wholesaler. A fire destroyed part of the roof in 1979. It was demolished by the end of 1983.
St.Mary Overie Dock. This little dock was owned by the parish and parishioners can land their goods here free of charge – and a notice on the dock used to say so. In the 17th it was said to have a house for Anabaptists and Fifth Monarchists. In the 19th century they landed coal, wood and ivory. It is said that this was the end of the southern section of Watling Street and that a ferry went from here to Dowgate. This also seems to be called St. Saviour’s dock although this is also the name of a small dock downriver in Bermondsey. It is currently the site for a replica of Francis’s Drake’s ship ‘Golden Hinde’ and it was previously used for the Kathleen and May said to be the last remaining wooden three- topsail schooner
St.Mary Overie Stairs, also called St. Saviour's Stairs. Watermen’s stairs. This was the site of the landing stage for the Bishop at Winchester House
Railway bridge arches. The road passes under the approach arches of Cannon Street railway bridge
Pickford’s Wharf. This belonged to the removal company and the warehouse and was typical of wharves of its period with its loading doors on each floor and hydraulic cranes. In the mid 19th it had giant pilasters to the river. It was originally built in 1864 by Fitch & Cozens, wharfingers as Phoenix Wharf. They constructed warehouses A & B and an enclosed brick and stone staircase. They extended forward from the previous river wall to give increased capacity and deeper water alongside. Goods doors were provided on both the river and landward sides. On an iron platform above the river at top floor level were boilers for working steam hoisting engines. The warehouses were then used for flour, hops and seeds. In 1882 it was taken over by the Phoenix Wharf Co. who were succeeded in 1897 by Pickford's & Co. who used A & B as granaries and C & D as a general warehouse, renaming the complex 'Pickford’s ' Wharf. The site was not used for their business as furniture removers, or depository owners. The Proprietors of Hay's Wharf Ltd took over in 1921 and premises became redundant in the 1960's. It now appears to ne flats.
Winchester Palace site. Remains of the palace can be seen on the south side of the street. The complex covered other roads and wharves in the area – but the rose window here is the main thing visible. This was the town residence of the Bishops of Winchester from the 12th to the 17th with gardens which covered 60 - 70 acres. In the mid-12th Henry de Blois, Bishop of Winchester, acquired this land and a house was built in 1190 by Bishop Gifford. Most notably the wedding of Joan Beaufort and James I of Scotland was held there when Henry Beaufort was Bishop of Winchester. Parts of the south and west walls survive and above are the remains of a rose window, restored in 1972, made up of an inserted hexagon with eighteen triangles around a smaller hexagon filled with radiating daggers of alternating widths. It is 13 feet across, and in a complete circle in shape. The last bishop to live here was Lancelot Andrews who died in 1626. During the Civil War it was a prison for political offenders and from 1663 let to various tenants. It was later sold to a flour factor. The buildings were burnt down in 1814 and only fragments remain.
Winchester Wharf. Building on part of the site of the palace which was two Warehouses later linked. Built between 1814 and 1827 and the Waterfront. It was used by a number of businesses including a coal merchants and a seed crusher. It is now flats and businesses – allegedly called ‘Silicon Wharf’.
Glassworks. The early 17th glassworks belonging to Edward Salter was either here or at Bear Gardens. By 1613 Mansell had established plate glass manufacture here and Nicholas Closson from Amsterdam was making looking glasses. Cristallo glass was also made here in the same period by Vincentio Serino. By 1617 the Great Hall of the Palace was divided into four industrial units.
Horseshoe Wharf. The original building dates from the 1830s and was used by lightermen. It was later used as a granary. Ire was demolished after the Second World War and flats built.
Clink Wharf. This is now flats. There is a plaque “Clink Wharf stands as a memorial to Gary King, 1957 - 2000, whose vision and commitment to building this wharf led to the redevelopment of this area.”
Soho Works. This had opened in 1902 by L.Noel and Sons making potted meats, and soups. They had a grocery premises in Soho Square where they specialised in French Cheeses. In Clink Street they were joined by a first floor gangway to Clink Wharf.
This was previously called Orange Street
All Hallows Church Garden. There is a paved area and steeper steps up to a crucifixion statue pot plants. Down stone steps on the far side through an archway is the grassed-over are of the church nave. The buttressed wall on the corner with Pepper Street once was the entrance into the church.
All Hallows Church and Presbytery. This was by George Gilbert Scott Junior and darted from 1879-80. It was damaged in Second World War bombing, but some restorations were carried out in 1956. The church was closed in 1971 and let for as a recording studio and offices for a charity.
Thereby are two stone archways a chapel which is now part of a block of flats, designed by T.F. Ford in 1957. The parish was merged with that of Saint George the Martyr and Saint Jude.
The Vicarage and Church Hall. Late 19th house built in the Arts & Crafts style.
Winchester Cottages. Built by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners in 1893
Cast Iron bollard. This is on the south-east corner with Pepper Street and has on it ‘Clink 1812’. It is probably one of 60 made by Bishop & Co for the Clink Paving Company Commissioners.
The name refers to the Borough Comptor, prison, which stood alongside from the 1550s.
Duke Street Hill
This runs parallel to Tooley Street running up to meet London Bridge approach. It dares from 1824 and was named for the Duke of Wellington.
Memorial slab. These have a plaque which said “London Bridge 1825 – 1967 These granite slabs are coping stones from the former London Bridge which was dismantled in 1967 and re-erected in Lake Havasu, Arizona, USA. Designed by John Rennie, the bridge was opened in 1831 and has since featured in many films and books including those of Charles Dickens. Substantial parts of the abutments and walls still remain and are preserved as part of the fabric of the new bridge, where two large granite stair chambers (including 'Nancy's steps') still exist as part of the original Rennie southern vault.
Granite seats. These two pieces of granite were discovered when the foundations for the Southwark Needle were dug
2 Benjamin Edgington Ltd. Edgington was primarily a canvas and tent manufacturer whose company operated throughout the greater part of the 19th. They diversified into flags and similar items. The business was set up in the early 19th as a Tarpawling and Sack Cloth Manufacturer and moved here in the mid 19th. It was a large premises with 5 floors and an imposing shop front plus a displayed Royal Warrant.
This was previously New Thames Street and renamed for an ancestor of the American Ralph Emerson who is thought to have lived here
Appleby Engineers were here from 1858. They were manufacturers of steam cranes, dredgers, brick making machinery, steam crabs, pile drivers, pumps, portable and stationary engines and moved to Greenwich in 1966
Only the north south portion of Ewer Street is in this square. This appears to have once been named as part of The Grove
Chapel Burial-ground. Under the railway viaduct on the west side of the road is a plaque and small garden. This is in memory of what was known in the 1820s as Crawford's ground, owned by an undertaker named Wild. It was removed in the early 1860w when the Charing Cross Railway. In 1990 workmen came across about a skull. About 200 skeletons were eventually unearthed.
Railway Viaduct. Part of the 1864 extension into Waterloo and Charing Cross Stations from London Bridge Station.
Henry Prince & Co. Foundry. Here they cast statues and art works, including the statue of Albert in the Hyde Park Albert Memorial, and much else. Closed in 1875
Flat Iron Square
The square was formed as part of a project where this stretch of Union Street was pedestrianised in 2011. The road name was changed and the design was by Witherford Watson Mann Architects
1 Island Cafe. This is the old public toilets and tram shelter. Before this was built it was the site of a drinking fountain
Cast iron bollards either side of the access crossover on the northern side of the square. Part of a batch erected by the Clink Paving Commissioners.
The George Inn. This is a galleried inn that dates from soon after the Southwark fire of 1676. Since the 17th it has been in use as a pub. In 1889 the owners, Great Northern Railway demolished part of it but it is now owned by the National Trust. Borough High Street was once lined with inns like this. It was originally called St George and the Dragon. It is marked on a map of 1542, there was also a reference to it in 1554, and it is mentioned by Stow. Some ground-floor rooms still have 18th and 19th fittings
Great Northern Railway goods office. In the 19th this took up the majority of the yard.
Great Guildford Street
The numbering has changed on Great Guildford Street and the street has been reconfigured more than once. Confusing.
2 Queens Head
9 Crown and Anchor Pub. Demolished
18 Bankside community space, café, meeting rooms, wifi etc.
Sadler’s mustard – this seed crushing and mustard manufacture business is listed at a variety of numbers in the street from the 1820s to the 1860s
Peabody flats and entrance to Peabody’s Southwark Street Estate
Housing. This is at the corner of Union Street built in 1937-8 for the Ecclesiastical Commissioners by E. Armstrong.
16-48 The Grove Works. Factory building with advertisement - "Barclay & Fry Ld. Printers, stationers & Tin Box Makers". Barclay & Fry produced offset lithography items including decorated tins for tea, coffee, biscuits, cakes etc. here from 1889 to 1941. The firm dated from 1799 with offices in Cannon Street. They were taken over by Metal Box Co. in 1921 and by 1964 were the largest users of tin plate in the UK. In the 1960s, when the building was in use by them producing cheques and labels they said it was one of 41 factories in the UK and 32 abroad. The building is now in use as offices
Great Maze Pond
This is now an internal road in Guy’s Hospital. Maze Pond was a road that lay on grounds owned by the hospital. These had been gardens which belonged to the Abbott of Battle. The road that was made in the 1720s, but as the hospital expanded do it took up more space. The pond itself was at the south of the site and was fed by small stream – an early Romano-British boat and roman timbers have been found here.
Guys Hospital. The hospital was founded in 1721 by Thomas Guy, a City bookseller who made his money from South Sea stock, and was originally built as an extension to St. Thomas’s Hospital to help meet problems with overcrowding, Guy’s intention was that it should be for 'incurables' for whom St Thomas' could not cater but it soon became a general hospital. The oldest part is built round a forecourt with and two inner quadrangles, which was damaged by Second World War bombing. The iron gates and railings at the entrance are the originals. The original design was by Thomas Dance and the ranges around the courtyards were built in 1721-5; with a wing added in 1738-41 by James Steere and another in 1774-7 by R. Jupp jn. These courtyards, used as wards, originally were open but were a glazed in 1788. They included a Matron’s House and Superintendents House and remained in use until 1962. The medical school, where Keats was a student, was established about 1769 and now, along with the dental school of 1888, is affiliated to London University.
Main building entrance. The original building was by Thomas Dance. The sculpture by John Bacon, the Elder, is said to date from 1774. This has a central group and three side panels with surgical instruments and scenes of blood letting. There aerie also statues of Aesculapius and Hygeia. Bomb damage has been repaired in facsimile.
Statue of Lord Nuffield by Maurice Lambert, 1944. He is shown standing wearing the robes of his honorary doctorate. Nuffield was a benefactor to the hospital, and at this date its Treasurer.
Alcove from old London Bridge. This is in a quadrangle having been removed during widening in 1902-4. It contains a seated statue of John Keats
New Guy’s House. Thirty-storey block built 1963-75 by Watkins Gray Woodgate International UK Group 3. This is one of the highest hospital buildings in the world. It houses the maternity ward children's wards, research departments, and at the top the dental hospital and school. At the top is a projection with the lecture theatre.
Thomas Guy House. This is integrated with New Guys House. In the atrium is a sculpture Out of the Blue by Paul Marc Davis installed in 2000. It is of two female figures floating in water.
New Hunts House. This replaces Hunt’s House a 19th block funded by a bequest of £200,000 by William Hunt in 1829 which provided a hundred beds. This was replaced in .2000 by new academic buildings for King's College, known as New Hunt's House.
Boer War Memorial. This is in the colonnade with Royal ciphers VR and ER and a canopy supported by cherubs. It sys “To the Guy's men who died in the South African War 1899-1902 Ante diem perierunt sed militantes sed pro patria
Chapel. Thomas Guy is buried here along with Sir Astley Paston Cooper, the surgeon who founded the Guy's Medical School. The Marble arch over the altar is by Lou Osman. There is a monument to Guy by John Bacon, the elder, with an inscription which refers to Guy’s burial nearby and his good works in founding the hospital. It shows Guy helping a sick man and below is Prudence, Industry, Temperance and Charity.
Statue of Guy in bronze alloy by Sheemakers erected in 1734. Guy is in the livery of the Stationers Company and holding a document. He has no wig. There are panel with scenes of Biblical good works and the hospital’s coat or arms. It is made of an alloy known as ‘Dutch metal’.
Greenwood Theatre. This theatre can hold 460. It was built by Anthony Cox Architects Co-Partnership, in 1975.
Shepherd’s House. Built in 1921 on the site of previous clinical accommodation. It is named for its Benefactor, William Sheppard.
Henriette Raphael. This was the nurses’ home built in 1901.
Hodgkin building. This was the main medical school.
Wolfson House, a hostel for medical students, was complete in 1977.
York Clinic. 20th addition W. J. Walford and Murray Easton 1939.
Memorial Park, with a plaque which says “The Memorial Park. Established in memory of Guy's men & women who died in the First and Second World Wars. Re-designed in 1992 through the generosity of the Special Trustees of Guy's Hospital”. The Portland stone arch which forms the focal point for the site was unveiled in 1921 by the Duke of York.
Nuffield House. This is the private wing with a Memorial Arch in front
Green Dragon Court.
An old lane trapped by the railway viaducts and called after a pub which stood in what is now Bedale Street. It is shown under that name in the mind-18th Roque map but. In the 14th it had been known as Cobham’s Inn and related to ownership by the Cobham family. In 1562 St.Saviour's parish leased the house for use of their school
St. Saviours Grammar School. The parish leased the former Priory of St Mary Overie, and the lease of 1559 included a conduit that a free grammar school would be set up and to this end they leased a building of the Green Dragon Inn. The school received a Charter in 1562. The great fire of Southwark in 1676 destroyed the school building in 1676 although the school's foundation stone was saved, and a new building was built on the same site. There the school remained until 1839, when they relocated it to Sumner Street to the west. This was actually smaller than the previous building. It is now in Orpington.
Free English School set up in 1681 by Dorothy Applebee for thirty boys. Demolished in 1838 for the extension to Borough Market.]
Bollards. There are six at the entrance from Borough High Street, and three behind the Globe pub. They are cast-iron posts with '1813 BORO MARKET' on them.
Lamp post. This is behind the Globe pub and has 'Bailey Page & Co. 81 Bankside London 1884' at the bottom with acanthus leaves and other decoration.
2 Whiskey Ginger. Pub
Guildable Manor Street
This is a small street built in 2012 as part of the construction of the Shard and the changes to London Bridge Station. It was previously part of ‘Railway Approach.
Guildable Manor is a Court Leet in Southwark. 'Guildable' is first recorded in 1377 and refers tax collection. It has a permanent organisation, consisting of Officers working as part of the City of London Corporation. To some extent it defines Southwark both as an independent borough but also its relationship and jurisdiction within the City of London.
This ancient alley ran parallel to Southwark Bridge approach on its east side
Dyehouse. This is said to have been on the junction with Bankside and owned by Arclay and Child. The area was owned by ht the Cordwainers Company and until the 1950s their arms were displayed on bollards here.
Dutch House. There was a Dutch almshouse or hospital here belonging to ‘the Dutch Congregation’.
Horseshoe. This is the pub after which the alley was named. It was later called the Sugar Loaf Inn and had a bowling alley
George this is said to have been here in the 19th. In the 1940s it was the site of Borax Consolidated
Saltpetre House. This stood at on the west side at the south end in the 17th.
Greyhound. Pub with medieval origins which belonged to the Cordwainers Company
Joiner Street is a strange street with two ends and no middle. It emerges into Duke Street Hill at one end and St. Thomas Street at the other - but in-between it is essentially a concourse under London Bridge Station. Until the building of the Greenwich Railway in the early 1830s this was a street lined with buildings which ran from St. Thomas Street to St. Olave's Church in Tooley Street
London and Greenwich Railway. The railway, the first suburban railway in the world, was built from 1834 and eventually opened in 1836. Built on a massive viaduct which left the first London Bridge Station to continue to Deptford. It did not at fire cross Joiner Street but ran into it. The approach road crossed Joiner Street not the line. From Joiner Street an arcade ran under the line for seventeen arches, and was intended for a market. Five years later, early structures, a railway hotel and railway offices were cleared away.
London and Croydon Railway. This railway opened its London Bridge station in 1839 with a booking office in Joiner Street.
The Joint Station. This opened in 1844. In Joiner Street were the short lived management offices of the Joint Station committee.
London Bridge Jubilee Line station. This opened in 1999 and is accessed from Joiner Street/
London Bridge Station, current rebuild. Joiner Street effectively ran under the bus station and in the 21st rebuild. It was decided to close Joiner Street and to turn it into a concourse under the newly built station linking the various elements and lines.
Joiner Street Bridge. This is carrying an extension of the station concourse across Joiner Street. It was built in 1850 by P. W. Barlow and is supported on an early form of the Warren girder, patented in 1848. Inverted cast iron equilateral triangles are combined with rectangular wrought iron ties.
It has six composite cast- and wrought-iron trusses built to James Warren’s 1848 patent. It was reconstructed after a collapse in 1850 and converted to pedestrian use in 1890.
Remains of earlier railways. At the Duke Street end of Joiner Street it appears that some relics of the earliest railways here remain. These appear to include: the entrance to the arcade through a rustic segmental-arch under the London & Greenwich station of 1836; part of a brick arcade which was the frontage of the London & Croydon railway station of 1839, and thus one of the earliest fragments of railway architecture in London; the stone facade of booking offices for the London and Croydon Co. of 1838 into which the Greenwich Company moved in 1844.
Until the beginning of the 19th this was known as Christopher Alley. It is on the site of the inn yard of the Christopher Inn marked on the plan of 1542,
121 -123 18th houses with red brick fronts.
20 Citizen M. "Another world is possible" big painted sign. This is a Dutch hotel chain
20 Surrey House, Marine Division. This had responsibility for ships, their masters and crews, safety of life at sea, navigation including pilotage, and lighthouses
The Crane Building is a seven-storey office building which is a refurbishment and extension of a printworks dating from the 1950’s which had itself been reclad in the 1980’s., the building is clad with ribbed terracotta tileswith white glazed finish reminiscent of the public baths which once stood on the site
Public baths. These baths were condemned by the council in 1927. There was no filtration plant and the baths had to be emptied 2 or 3 times weekly.
Roman bridge: The main entrance to the Roman city was a wooden bridge near the site of the present bridge. The site was chosen to link two natural promontories and became the place at which Watling Street and Stane Street converged from the south to cross the river in the City. Initially there may have been a ferry. A timber bridge was built about 90AD and this was followed by a stone bridge built before 120AD. Coins have been found in the river near the site of the bridge, as has part of a statue to Emperor Hadrian. The bridge is assumed to have became derelict when the Romans left in the 4th
Saxon and Norman bridges. It is thought a bridge was built in the 9th. This was a central part of attacks during Viking and other raids. – In particular its partial destruction by Olaf Haraldsson, who was later canonized in Norway. Local churches in Southwark were dedicated to him. In 1066 William of Normandy forces were unable to cross from Southwark because of the defences. This – pr these- wooden bridges seem to have been downstream of the medieval bridge. It is unlikely it was on the site of the Roman Bridge. A crossing was restored by about 1000, and twice replaced in the 11th—12th after bridges were destroyed by flooding. These were all wooden bridges although the techniques of the bridge abutments began to change in the 11th.
Old London Bridge. This famous stone bridge was built by Peter Colechurch in 1206 and took 33 years to build. It had nineteen arches and a central drawbridge and had a Chapel dedicated to St.Thomas of Canterbury on it served by chaplains which built out over one of the central cutwaters. Initially it was managed by Friars and Bridge House Estates took over from them with a depot on the south bank and they have maintained it and its successors ever since. There have however been a number of collapses possibly caused by the constriction methods of the starlings – although these were always dealt with quickly. In the 1450s the whole of the southern abutment was rebuilt. The limned of starlings produced the effect of rapids which boats would try and shoot through leading to many accidents and deaths. They also led to increased ice formation upstream and thus to the frost fairs. The drawbridge was not used after 1480 although it had been the scene of various battles including the Cade rebellion and it was on its gate way that decapitated heads were displayed. . It was famously lined with houses, first mentioned in 1201; but there were often fires although they were rebuilt, this included a number of pubs. There were however a number of fires. By 1700 houses were rebuilt in a more formal but less picturesque style. In 1722 some form of traffic management was introduced which included tolls and the rule or keeping to the left side when driving – and establishing that as the norm in England. In 1758-62 George Dance and Sir Robert Taylor cleared them away for widening and replaced the two central arches with a single navigation span; they also built stone alcoves on each pier. Tolls were removed. The bridge was the datum point from which distances were measured. It eventually was removed in 1832 and the bones of Colechurch were still in the chapel. Examples of the piers are preserved in Guy's Hospital, Southwark, and at Victoria Park, Hackney and there are many relics elsewhere.
Nonsuch House. This four storey building stood on London Bridge from 1579. It is the earliest documented prefabricated building. It was originally made in the Netherlands and shipped to London in pieces in 1578 and it was reassembled.
Great Stone Gate. This was on the south side of Old London Bridge and designed to jeep the south London hordes out of the City. . A gate at the Southwark end was built in 1576 and decapitated heads sometime displayed after the demolition of the drawbridge gate
Rennie’s bridge. This was designed by John Rennie and built under the direction of his son. The foundation-stone was laid on 15 June 1825. It was upriver of Old London Bridge. It was opened in 1831 by William IV and Queen Adelaide. It had five elliptical masonry arches of up to 152 ft span resting on troublesome timber-piled foundations. It cost £2,000,000 and was built of Merstham stone with granite footways and wood paving used in 1924. It was demolished in 1968, and the granite face work was sold and re-erected at Lake Havasu City, Arizona, USA.
London Bridge. The present bridge was built in 1967-72 by Mott, Hay & Anderson with Lord Holford as architectural adviser. It is in prestressed-concrete with cantilevers which form three slender spans and founded on concrete piers dug deep in the clay.
Morris Water works. The most northerly arch of Old London Bridge was leased to Peter Morris from 1582 for a water wheel which pumped water into a tower for domestic water supply... It remained there until 1701 and was then sold to Richard Soames
Nancy’s Steps. These were to the west of the bridge and feature in Dickens’ book, Oliver Twist. Dickens himself explained that the stairs were part of the bridge;
London Bridge Approach
The line of this road was set when the Rennie bridge was built. Old London Bridge was to the east and the area on the south side was called Bridge Foot
No.1 London Bridge. Office block by John S. Bonnington Partnership, completed in 1986. It is a pentagonal tower in pink polished invites with a deep recess cut into eight storeys of its thirteen; with a linked by a slope of glass roof that continues over the riverside walk. It replaced Fenning's Wharf .
1 London Bridge. This was the London Provision and London Egg Exchange in the 1960s.
Southwark Needle. The inclined needle is made of Portland stone and 16m high. It won a Natural Stone Craftsmanship Award 2000. It appears that it commemorates the spikes on old London Bridge that were used to hang decapitated heads ion. It was built as part of the Southwark Gateway project by Eric Parry Architects. It included a Tourist Information Centre and had becoming a rallying point for cyclists.
London Bridge Street
This was previously Denman Street
2 New London Bridge House by R. Seifert & Partners, 1962, built as part of the redevelopment of the station demolished
The Shard. This is a 95-storey building which is the tallest building in London and the fourth tallest building in Europe. It is the second tallest free standing structure in the United Kingdom, It was cimo0keted in 2012. It has a privately operated observation deck opened to the public in 2013 It is a glass-clad pyramidal tower with 72 habitable floors, a viewing gallery and a n open-air observation deck on the 72nd floor. It was designed by the Renzo Piano and strands on what was previously Southwark Towers. It was developed by Sellar property Group and the State of Qatar.
32 Southwark Towers. Thins was offices by T. P. Bennett & Son, built in 1977-9 as headquarters of chartered accountants Price. When it was demolished in 2008 it was the tallest building ever to have been demolished in the UK.
28 Fielden House. This was built in 1953 as the headquarters of the Emergency Bed Service for King Edward's Hospital Fund for London. The architect was John Lacey. It has demolition consent.
London Bridge Station (Main and suburban rail). London Bridge Station was opened as the London and Greenwich’s London terminus... It was the first suburban terminus in the world and almost the first station in London. It has been built many times since and is undergoing yet another rebuild in 2015. London Bridge is a very busy station which caters for vast numbers of commuters most of whom are long past noticing anything. The main line station has (or had) nine terminal platforms and six through-platforms for services from the south and south-east of London. Through services continue to Charing Cross, Waterloo and Cannon Street. It is the fourth-busiest station in the United Kingdom In terms of passenger arrivals and departures, handling over 54 million passenger arrivals a year but not counting those who transfer between lines here. The Station handles Thameslink trains running between Bedford and Brighton as well as South Eastern services from to destinations in southeast London, Kent and Sussex, It is also the terminus for Southern services to south London and destinations in South East England. These services also interact with London Underground’s Northern and Jubilee Lines as well as local bus services. The original station was very simple consisting of a ramp from the street to the platforms. Before it was finished the London and Greenwich Railway agreed and arranged with the London and Croydon Railway who built their own adjacent station. They were soon joined by the London and Brighton railway and the South Eastern Railway and the station was enlarged when it had barely been opened. Within another two years more lines had to be added into the station and it was soon decided to rebuild the station again. This was designed jointly by Lewis Cubitt, John Rastrick and Henry Roberts. There were then a number of changes among the companies and in 1849 another new station was planned. More tracks were added in to the station and the South Eastern Station was rebuilt to a design by Samuel Beazley. It was rebuilt again in 1864 when it became a through station and the main line continued to Charing Cross and in 1866 to Cannon Street. In 1899 the SER became part of the Soothe Eastern and Chatham Railway Companies Joint Management Committee to enable to reach the stations at Holborn Viaduct and St. Paul’s. A new temporary station was built in 1859 and rebuilt again in 1853. More platforms were added. In 1909 electrification began. The Southern Railway was formed in 1923 and the various stations went into single ownership. The rest of the lines were electrified using the third rail system. The station was badly bombed in the Second World War. British Railways took over in 1948, and by the early 1970s the station could no longer cope with the volume of traffic. And here was a major redevelopment of the station and its approaches with a new concourse designed by N. D. T. Wikeley, regional architect for the Southern Region. This was opened 1978. Now in 2015 another new station is being built here.
London Bridge Underground Station. The underground link to London Bridge originates with the City and South London Railway. In the 1880s this line was built from Stockwell to King William Street in the City, but a proposed station at what was to be called Denman Street was never built. A station at London Bridge was eventually opened following problems a King William Street and further extensions to the line northwards. A crossover and siding were also built here and it had two platforms on the same level and connecting passages. Trains kept to right hand track instead of left. In due course it was joined to other lines and became part of the Northern Line following extensive work to integrate it into the system during and after the Great War. From 1924 there was through running although the station had lost its sidings, electric lifts had replaced the original hydraulic ones. In 1999 the Jubilee Line opened at London Bridge and a new ticket hall was created in the arches under the main-line station to provide an improved interchange
Abandoned tubes tunnels. These tunnels were built for the original City and South London line to King William Street plus the beginning of a bore to Islington, which was abandoned. The London Transport ventilation shaft at London Bridge was once the entrance to London Bridge underground station on this line. They consist of twin tunnels which run between King William Street, and a point just north of Borough station. They were started in 1886 and finished in 1890 but their working life was only ten years. The current trains run in a by-pass tunnel built later and which now joins Bank and London Bridge stations. During the Second World Ward the tunnels, which were owned by London Transport, were rented to the London Borough of Southwark and converted into shelters for 14,000 people. There are said to be posters still in place reminding shelterers that "Careless talk costs lives", and about investment in 'National Savings'. It is also said to be possible to look down on the Northern Line platform through a grille in the floor. There is a flood door as the tunnels pass under the Thames. The tunnels lie one above the other and are connected under the centre of the river, where there is a sump to collect drips and which is pumped out at intervals. The average depth of the upper tunnel beneath the river bed is 26 ft. There is a heavy drip and the whole of this section is decorated with stalactites and stalagmites.
London Bridge Walk
1 Colechurch House. Built in 1973 and opened the Lord Mayor. Brutalist office block owned by Bridge House Estates
All new housing built here in an area which would have been inside the brewery
This road once ran through the area now covered by Guy’s Hospital
Maze Pond Particular Baptist Chapel, this had a grave yard and vaults. It opened in 1692 following a break up with a church in Horseleydown and met here in a wooden building. The chapel itself dated from the 1730s.and closed in the late 19th.
Maze Pond School, founded in 1714, as a subscription school for the children of Protestant Dissenters in Southwark.
Latta’s Hop Warehouse – there were a number of large hop warehouses in this and surrounding streets.
St Olave School. The school was here in temporary premises in the mid 19th after its previous buildings were demolished for railway use
This footbridge is a steel suspension bridge linking Bankside with the City It is owned and maintained by Bridge House Estates overseen by the Corporation of the City of London. It opened in June 2000. The design of the bridge was the result of a competition in 1996 by Southwark Council and RIBA. The winning entry was "blade of light" from Arup Group, Foster and Partners and Sir Anthony Caro. Construction was by Monberg & Thorson and Sir Robert McAlpine
The close covers the site of the cloisters of St. Mary’s Priory. The poet, Gower, lived here when old and blind and, left money here in 1408. Archaeology has shown there was a Roman road here aligned on Lambeth with gravel pits on either side. After the dissolution the priory buildings passed to Sir Anthony Browne, Master of Horse to Henry VIII, later they were the Viscounts Montague. They built a house in the Close, on or next to the site of the Prior's House. As a priory it claimed to keep the rights of sanctuary and as such it became a hide out for debtors, one of several known as Alsatia. In 1625 Viscount Montague sold the property and the new owner, Robert Bromfield, operated a lease of a wharf there and built low value cottages and Montague House became a pub. Most buildings here were demolished in 1830 when Rennie’s London Bridge was built. Until then the west entrance to the Close was still through the priory gatehouse.
Pottery. In 1612 –1750 there was a Deflt ware pottery in the chapter house with three kilns outside the North Transept. There had been a previous Delft ware potter, Simon Vandolin, in the area in 1567. In 1613 Edmund Bradshaw and Hugh Cressey had a licence to make glazed earthenware pots. They were joined by others and may have been exporting to Virginia.
Overman's Almshouses. In the 18th the estate passed to the Overman family. Alice Shaw Overman built almshouses, eight small cottages for poor women in 1822. They were demolished for the building of London Bridge.
Charity School. Opened in 1706 in an area called Angel Court and was the gift of a John Collett. It later moved to the site of the Crossbones Burial ground. These were the Red Cap Boys.
5 Minerva House. Pleasantly undulating brick offices and flats, by Twigg, Brown & Partners, 1979-83 as the London office of Grindlays Bank. It was on the site of Hibernia Wharf.
Minerva – statue by Alan Collins – this is an abstract piece commissioned by National and Grindlay’s Bank
Hibernia Wharf. This dated from 1838 and was extended in 1858-61. At the beginning of the 20th refrigeration plant was installed and it became a cool and cold stores for perishable foodstuffs, It was disused from 1968 and was later demolished
9 Glaziers Hall is owned and used as The Company Hall by the Worshipful Companies of Launderers, Glaziers and Scientific Instrument Makers. The original Glaziers Hall in Fye Foot Lane was burnt down in 1666 and not relocated for another 300 years. Its current home was built in 1808 as a warehouse. It was opened by the Duchess of Kent, a Freeman of the Company in 1978. The Worshipful Company of Glaziers & Painters of Glass is First recorded 1328 and received a Grant of Arms in 1558 with a charter in 1638. The Worshipful Company of Scientific Instrument Makers was formed in 1955 with the support of clockmakers and spectacle makers. A Grant of Arms was achieved in 1956 and the Letters Patent as a Livery Company of City of London were granted in 1963. The Worshipful Company of Launderers was founded in 1960l The Grant of Livery was achieved in 1977. This building is also Hibernia Chambers at 2 London Bridge
4 Mudlark. Nicholson’s pub
New Globe Walk
Globe Theatre. This theatre is a reconstruction, as faithfully as possible, of the Elizabethan theatre. It is built in timber, plaster and thatch, and is the first thatched building to be built in London since 1666. A permanent exhibition describes the world in Shakespeare's time and the theatre offers an experience of Elizabethan drama. This International Shakespeare Globe Centre is the fruit of 20 years' work by the American director, Sam Wanamaker. As a young man he was shocked to see how little there was to commemorate of Shakespeare's original theatre. He bought a house locally and began to harass individuals and firms around the world. The new Globe was finally opened in 1994 but Sam Wanamaker had died the previous year.
21 The Swan Pub. Restaurant and bar adjacent to the Globe Theatre
This street ran south from St. Thomas Street and is now entirely under Guy’s Hospital.
35 Fountain Pub. Now demolished.
Most Precious Blood Church. The Catholic Parish of the Most Precious Blood was founded in 1891 by Bishop Butt as the result of a legacy. Until 2012, the Parish was served by the Society of the Divine Saviour. In 2013 this changed to the Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham. The architect was Frederick Arthur Walters
Park Street once ran across the Bishop of Winchester's park. It was called Maid Lane from a junction which is now with Sumner Street but which was then with Gravel Lane. It then ran to Bank End, then turned south, as now, to its junction past Redcross Street where the Cure almshouses stood in an enclave. Then turning north east to a junction with Borough market.
1-13 terrace built by Henry Rose, 1831 with later 19th- shops. This is owned by United St Saviour's Charity which was founded in the reign of Henry VI as the Guild of the Fraternity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. It was later incorporated to manage parish affairs and local charities as the Corporation of Wardens,
7 Plaque about Thomas Cure, and his almshouses which stood to the rear of these buildings. This building was at one time the Yorkshire Grey Pub.
9 this was the White Hart Pub in the 19th
11-13 Alley way. The almshouses were reached through this entrance. Thomas Cure, local MP, and Master of the Horse to Edward VI, Mary and Elizabeth bought Waverley House here from Montague and established a ‘college' - an almshouse - here. Every year the old people gave the president a pair of gloves. In 1863 it was bought by the Charing Cross Railway Company and the almspeople were moved to new buildings at Lower Norwood and then in 2006 to Purley.
15 building which is an integral part of the railway viaduct with decorative pillars framing it. It has loading doors on three storeys.
17 door into railway arches, apparently this is part of a restaurant.
16 Bakery in Brewhouse Yard to the rear. This was converted in 2015.
18 Thames House. Early 20th century brick commercial building. Possibly this was a hop warehouse.
19 Golden Anchor Pub. This pub dated from at least the late 18th.
Dog and Duck. This is said to have been at the junction with Redcross Way. It was also the site of a gate into the Bishop’s Park.
20–26 were built about 1807. Barclay Perkins and Co. Ltd. Were the owners, and the houses were occupied by employees of the firm.
21-23 Pair of houses with attached railings built around 1820. In front of them are five cast-iron Cannon posts. Inscribed ‘’Clink 1812’’
25, these buildings are on the site of Blue Anchor Passage and the Blue Anchor public house. The pub was bought by Barclay Perkins and Co. Ltd. in 1834 and used to house senior staff...The ‘Take Courage’ sign on the side of the building dates from the 1950s when Courage took over the brewery. This was ‘the most expensive council house’ sold by Southwark to fund the building of other housing.
26 Plaque which says ''An International Incident Has Occurred Here". This is about an attack on Julius Jacob Von Haynau, an Austrian General in the mid 19th. When he was spotted on Park Street in 1850, local Southwark brewery workers threw mud and dung at him and chased him shouting 'Down with the Austrian butcher!'
27 Lucy Brown House. Sheltered housing
Deadman’s Place Burial Ground. On the Horwood Plan this is shown with an entrance slightly to the north of the junction of Redcross Street and Park Place leading westwards to a large square plot. This has been identified as some of the land covered by 1980s housing and the Southwark Rose Car Park. It was called Deadman's Place because it was said to be a burial place for plaque victims. Until the 1840's it adjoined an Independent chapel, and was used for the interment of ministers. Then it became subsumed into the land owned by the Barclays Brewery
Anchor Brewery. – The main entrance to this vast establishment was in Park Street – which, in the 19th, was the largest brewery in the world. It was built on the site of what had been a large pond in the Middle Ages. The nucleus of the Brewery appears to have been the brew house established early in the 17th by James Monger on a site, which lay between Deadman's Place and Globe Alley. James Child, owned the brewhouse towards the end of the 17th. He died in 1696 and was succeeded by his son-in-law Edmund Halsey. He bought additional ground on the east side of Park Street which was cleared by Henry Thrale for a garden called Palmira opposite his house. The business was taken over by his nephew, Ralph Thrale, who had worked in it for many years. Ralph Thrale and his son, Henry, enlarged and developed the brewery. Among other properties, the sites of the Globe Playhouse on the south side of Maid Lane and the parish workhouse in Fountain Court were absorbed into the brewery grounds. The dwelling house of the brewery stood on the west side of Deadman's Place There Henry Thrale and his wife entertained Dr. Johnson, Sir Joshua Reynolds, David Garrick, Oliver Goldsmith and other celebrities. The brewery continued to flourish under the managership of John Perkins. Thrale died in 1781 and the brewery was sold by auction to Robert Barclay for £135,000. John Perkins was made a partner and took possession of the dwelling house. They were later joined by a Mr. Bevan. The extent and layout of the premises at this period can be seen on the plan made by George Gwilt in 1792. One of the biggest extensions was that southward to include the burial ground and meeting house in Deadman's Place. The freehold of the site, which is now covered by the cooperage of the brewery, was purchased by the firm in 1857. In 1820 the firm leased and later purchased the site of Potts' Vinegar Works. In 1832, the greater part of the brewery, including the dwelling house in Deadman's Place, was burnt down. The buildings extended from the river bank south to Southwark Street, west to Southwark Bridge Road and east to the market connected overhead by suspension bridges. On the west side of Park Street was the mash tun house. The malt came from the Company's maltings in Norfolk and hop from Kent were unloaded at Bank End, and conveyed to the brewery through pipes. On the other side of the road was the yeast house where the liquor was fermented, the cold store for the hops, and the cellars where the barrels were filled and stored. The production of the three kinds of liquor, ales, porter and stouts, and lager - introduced in 1922 - was carried on in different sections of the brewery. There were bottle washing and labelling machines. In the yard, the barrels were cleaned, their insides scoured with water and stones. Barclay Perkins was an early adoptor of lager production in the UK from 1922. In 1955, Barclay Perkins merged with rival London brewer Courage but brewing continued at the Anchor site until the early 1970s. In 1981 the brewery buildings were demolished. The site is now modern council housing.
Bank End Water Works. As part of his expansion of the brewery Ralph Thrale purchased a plot at Bankend where he built a waterworks to supply the business. This is thought to have been somewhere in the current vicinity of Cannon Street Rail Bridge behind what was then the Castle Inn. Later these works were purchased by The Borough Water Works which hands been set up in 1715 by James Whitchurch to supply the inhabitants of the Clink with river water and to lay and repair pipes in the streets. They company used machinery worked by horses, to extract water from the Thames. In the 1820s John Edwards Vaughan who by then was the proprietor of the Borough Waterworks, bought a licence from the New River Company to supply water in the area. He in 1829 installed a Boulton and Watt double-acting crank engine. It was not until after 1834, when the Southwark Water Company was established by Act of Parliament, that reservoirs and filter beds were constructed at Battersea and the old waterworks were closed down. The site was later incorporated in the brewery.
34 Premier Inn, this is connected to the Anchor Pub in Bankside
United Public Brewery. This is shown on either side of the road in 1819. It is clearly separate from the Anchor Brewery although adjacent to it. In this period some new structures were tried in Brewery management – as in the Golden Lane Brewery.
46-48 Red Lion Court
52 Windmill Tavern. Demolished.
Financial Times. There is an entrance to the building here as well as on Southwark Bridge
Anchor Terrace. Lower areas and car park of the Terrace which stands above in Southwark Bridge Road.
Anchor Terrace Car Park. Globe Theatre. The Globe stood just south of modern Park Street, just east of where it runs underneath Southwark Bridge Road. Extending from the west side of modern Southwark Bridge Road; eastwards as far as Porter Street southwards as far as Gatehouse Square. A small part of the foundations was discovered in 1989 beneath the car park at the rear of Anchor Terrace. The shape of the foundations is now replicated on the surface. The Globe was owned by actors who were also shareholders in the Lord Chamberlain’s Men, including W. Shakespeare. It was built in 1599 using materials from an earlier theatre in Shoreditch. It was probably completed by 1599 in time for the opening production of Henry V. Many of Shakespeare's plays had their first public performances at the Globe including Hamlet, Othello, Macbeth and King Lear In 1613 the Globe Theatre went up in flames during a performance of Henry VIII. It was rebuilt but like other theatres the Globe was closed down in 1642. It was later pulled down to make room for new housing.
Plaque. This is on a piece of wall by the car park. It has a relief showing Bankside in the earthly 17th, and a medallion bust of Shakespeare. It says ‘Here stood the Globe Playhouse of Shakespeare, 1598 – 1613’ and ‘Wm. Martin MA, LLD, FSA designer, Ed.Lanteri. Commemorated by the Shakespeare Reading Society of London and by subscribers in the United Kingdom and India’. This was originally on the wall of the brewery and was unveiled by Herbert Beerbohm Tree who was President of the Shakespeare Reading Society.
Globe Meeting House. This was built soon after Charles II issued his second Declaration of Indulgence in 1672. One of the chapel's preachers was Richard Baxter who had been chaplain to one of the Parliamentary regiments. The Globe Alley Meeting-house was later known as Skelton's Chapel after Philip Skelton, an Irish preacher. The meeting-house was afterwards used as a warehouse, and later a bone-grinding mill was erected on the site.
56 The Rose. A Plaque marking the site of the Rose Theatre. The Rose was built in 1587 by Philip Henslow. It was the first purpose-built playhouse to stage a Shakespeare play. The theatre was built on a site with rose gardens. It was in timber, with a thatch roof. It was a typical of Elizabeth theatre with thatched galleries surrounding an open yard into which the stage projected. Edward Alleyne, founder of Dulwich College and famous actor of his day, made his name here, and Shakespeare's Henry VI and Titus Andronicus were first performed here. When the lease ran out on The Rose in 1605 it was abandoned although there is a record of its use for prize-fighting in 1620. In 1989, the remains of the Rose were threatened with destruction by building development and a campaign to save the site was launched. It was decided to suspend the proposed offices over the top of the theatre's remains, leaving them conserved beneath. In 1999, the site was re-opened to the public, underneath the new development. In 2007 part of The Rose was opened as a performance space with actors performing around the narrow perimeter of the site.
Cast-iron cannon bollard located at the west corner of Rose Alley inscribed ‘’Clink 1812’’. It is painted in black and white stripes
Cast-iron cannon bollard located at the west corner of Bear Gardens and inscribed ‘’Clink 1812’’. It is also painted in black and white stripes
60 Union Works. This was built around 1867-68 as a workshop and engineering premises for David and Andrew Derrin. A series of engineering companies followed them in the building.
62-67 HSBC HQ
66-76 Wrights Coal Tar Soap. The drug laboratories and soap factory were moved here from Southwark Bridge Road in 1899. The factory was enlarged in 1920 and in 1942. This has now gone and the area rebuilt.
92 Noah’s Ark pub Demolished
95 Smiths Arms. Demolished
Granite setts on the carriage way at the south end.
Cast iron bollard on the northeast corner of Pepper Street. One of a group erected by the Clink Paving Commissioners.
Road of new housing inside the brewery site and named for one of the owners
Road of new housing inside the brewery site and named for the beer
Roadway running under the rail lines to London Bridge Station.
Bus Station. This is outside the main station concourse. Buses have stood here for many years in the area outside the station and the bus station was set up and refurbished following the 1970s rebuild. There are three stands at the station which serve five routes and two night buses. The bus station was renewed as part of the Shard scheme which was open in 2012
11 Borough Tavern. This was renamed Approach Hotel in the 1890s and remained until the Second World War.
Bridge Bar. On the London Bridge concourse. This has now closed
Oast House. On the London Bridge concourse. This has also now closed
Hunter Penrose building – this has an address in Southwark Street
Cromwell Buildings. The first flats by the Improved Industrial Dwellings Company, 1864, with typical cast-iron galleries. There were integral shops in and one of the earliest housing improvement projects in the Borough
10-20 Boot and Flogger. Up market pub and restaurant. The rest of the building is flats called Triangle Court and is said to have previously been a meat smokehouse.
10 -20 George Siggs & Sons, wholesale cheesemongers were present from the late 19th
17-18 Quaker meeting. In 1762 the Society of Friends, leased land on the west of the street where they already had a burial ground, and built a meeting house. This stood back from the road roughly on the site of the Triangle with the burial ground at the back. This was in use until 1860, when the whole site was sold to the Metropolitan Board of Works who were building Southwark Street. The burial ground was then cleared of bodies.
18 Two Brewers Pub. Demolished, active in the 19th.
22 Presbytery for the Catholic Church in O’Meara Street. Thus was built in 1891-2 designed by F A Walters in Arts and Crafts style
19 Moulders Arms. Now demolished
Jubilee Line electricity sub-station and works site. Concrete batching plant with Big Dave’s Gusset, now gone.
Crossbones graveyard. This was marked on maps as St.Saviour’s burial ground until 1853 it was used as a parish burial ground. . It is also said to have been an unconsecrated graveyard is said to have been for the ‘outcast dead’. however, the ground was held on lease from the Bishop of Winchester and that it was customary only to consecrate freehold ground. .It was closed in 1853 because further burials were thought "inconsistent with a due regard for the public health and public decency". In 1883, an attempt was made to sell the land for building and subsequent attempts to develop the site were opposed by local people. Some remains were sent to Brookwood and the site was used for warehousing and eventually a works site for the Jubilee Line and a new electricity sub station. An excavation found an overcrowded graveyard with a high percentage of babies and most of the adults were women. A garden is now being prepared on the site.
St. Saviour's Parochial Schools. In 1791 the vestry agreed to use the south-west corner of the Redcross Burial ground as a schoolhouse for the Boys' Charity School from Montague Close. This was supported Collett's Gift, voluntary subscriptions and the Newcomen Charity. The school later occupied the whole site o the burial ground
The Rose Estate can be traced back to the reign of Edward I. From the early sixteenth century there was a tenement called The Rose, with gardens. In the there was no Rose Alley but just gardens with a stream running north and south,
This is the second bridge on the site. The first was opened in 1819 and designed by John Rennie. It was called Queen Street Bridge and had the longest cast iron span ever made. There were seats on the piers, and it was built of Merstham stone and commonly known as The Iron Bridge. It had been set up by a private company with opposition from the City Corporation and was tolled. This opposition is the reason why the approach road is badly integrated with other main roads in the area. The company became bankrupt and it was taken over by the Corporation’s Bridge House Estates
The current bridge was opened in 1921, designed by Ernest George and Basil Mott and built by William Arrol and Co. On the west side is a plaque which says ‘Re-built by the Bridge House Estates Committee of the Corporation of London 1913-1921 Opened for traffic by their Majesties King George ~V and Queen Mary 6th June 1921 Sir Ernest Lamb CMG, JP Chairman Basil Mott CB Engineer Sir Ernest George RA Architect”
Southwark Bridge Road
1 Financial Times
2 Site of Universal House by Joseph Emberton built 1933 for Beck and Pollitzer. In 1863 Mr. Sigismund Pollitzer, London Paper agent, and Mr. John Beck established a general carrier and warehousing partnership which grew. By the turn of the century the business was booming and the Company purchased additional premises along the Thames. They expanded into exhibition contracting. In 1933 the Company moved its head office to a state of the art building at Universal House on the Southwark Bridge. In 1961 the remaining Pollitzer family decided to sell their interests in the business to the Transport Development Group and the business continues to grow
2a Riverside House. Built in 1966 with 3 floors. Plans by Stone, Toms & Partner A renovation complete in 2002 added another two floors to the existing building. Structurally unable to support this weight an exo skeleton was constructed around the building to provide extra strength. This was built on the site of Universal House originally for Laing Development Co.It is now the offices of Offcom.
2 Rose Court. Office block. Currently home to the Crown Prosecution Service
3-13 Anchor Terrace. Anchor Terrace is a large symmetrical building dating from 1834 and made up of eight houses. its original inhabitants were senior employees of the nearby Anchor Brewery then owned by Barclay Perkins & Co. Ltd. Whose registered office it was, and later that of Courage.. It was converted into flats in the late 1990s.
Grey & Marten's City Lead Works, The works was below in Park Street alongside the bridge. They had been established in 1833. Besides making lead pipe and sheet they were manufacturers of solder. The firm became part of the Billiton Group and the building was demolished in 1981. They were amongst the first customers of the London Hydraulic Power Company in 1883.
16 Oxo factory. This has been demolished but featured a horned bovine head above the door.
24 offices building dating from 1981. In the 1890s Booth interviewed a hat manufacturer on this site – this was Jays whose designer Thomas Bowler, invented the bowler hat.
32 Offices plus a restaurant and meeting rooms to let. In the 1960s this was a publishing house for IPC’s Building and Contract press.
36 Notcutt House. This is a renovated 19th warehouse
42 United Friendly Insurance 1960s
43-47 The Southwark Rose Hotel. This replaced smaller offices and shops on the site
50 This block is now used as offices by several companies. In the early 20th this was Cropper and Co.’s cardboard box factory which employed an almost entirely female workforce as bench-hands. In the 1920s it appears to have been the print works of Loxley Bros the Sheffield and London printers with a specialty in high quality posters.
53-61 Novotel. London South. This replaced smaller offices and shops on the site
54 This is now an estate agents. In the 1950 and 1960s it was V Belt House, one of a chain belonging to J.H.Fenner, Power Transmission
Railway bridge. This carries the lines between London Bridge and Waterloo Stations
This was a small turning off Southwark Street west of Great Guildford Street and north of what is now Copperfield Street. The large engineering works on it essentially stood in Southwark Street
Easton and Amos. This had been set up in 1837 by Charles Amos and James Easton describing themselves as plumbers. They were however making beam engines and pumping engines among many other things. In 1864 William Anderson joined the company and planned the new works at Erith. They were then making pumping machinery of all kinds, centrifugal pumps, cranes, boilers, and paper and sugar machinery. They moved to Erith in 1866.
This was a small turning off Southwark Street on the south side slightly east of Southwark Bridge Road. It was entirely built over in the 19th – and said to be the site of Measure’s structural steel and hoist works.
The street was built in 1864 as the first road built by the Metropolitan Board of Works following a petition to them in 1856 by the St Saviour's District Board for a street to run from London Bridge Station to the west end. It was designed for the Board by Joseph Bazalgette – who is also said to have designed, among everything else the lamp standards which remained in place for the next century. It was built with a system of subways under the road along with side passages. These were to carry gas, water, and drainage pipes, plus telegraph wires. This system included grilles on the south side of the street. One tunnel served to conduct all services and faults could be detected, repairs made and replacements installed without the need to dig up the road.
2 Stanley Tavern. This pub appears to have functioned from mid 19th to the 1950s. The building is currently an estate agents
Entrance to Borough Market – art deco entrance installed in 1932 with plaques with information about the market and the market trustees. There are also doors leading to what used to be public toilets and a customs and excise office. Before the entrance was built this was a offices including a bank, several hop merchants
Three Crown Square. This tiny space dates from at least the 18th and was at one time accessed from Borough High Street and surrounded with buildings and isolated from the market. It is now a space within the market which is available for hosting events Although an outdoor space, it is sheltered and protected by its fully restored, 19th glass and ironwork roof.
3 Costa Coffee. This was previously Harper’s Cafe. This was built as a warehouse in 1864-5 on a curving corner in Italianate style. This was one of the first buildings to be built as a 'gateway' to the newly opened commercial road for the Metropolitan Board of Works as their first town-planning venture.
Bicycle hire stands
Margaret's House'. Built in 1958 by the Trustees of Borough Market as offices at the junction with Stoney Street
15 Measures. This firm of Manchester based structural steelworks engineers were here in the late 19th. This firm was at other addresses in the street and were said to have a steel hoist works on what had been Southwark Square.
22 Southwark Tavern: Large pub which catered for market traders. The pub is adjacent to Borough Fruit and Vegetable market and for many years opened between 06.30 and 08.30 Mondays to Fridays serving breakfasts. It is said that the downstairs bar is built on the site of the original London Debtor's Prison – although this isn’t mentioned on their web site.
Central Buildings Hop Exchange. In this area of Southwark there were many hop merchants' warehouses and so this was built to provide a single market centre for hop dealers. However by the time it was built in 1866 by R. H. Moore most had their own premises and did not use it. Directories of the period however give a long list of those who had premises in the building – but by the beginning of the 20th this included, for instance, the Newcomen Domestic Trade School for Girls, and the Corporation of wardens of St Saviour's. A fire in 1920 led to the top two storeys being removed, and the whole building was then converted into offices called Central Buildings. There are relief decorations above the entrance of hop-related scenes; a hallway lit by natural light and surrounded by glass walkways, all decorated with hop vines. Above the main entrance is an eagle and below him hop related scenes. There is also an isolated head of a man. The exchange hall with offices opening off decorative balconies on four levels survives. There were many similar exchanges across London, but this is the only one still standing.
24 The Sheaf. This was previously known as the Wheatsheaf and Located in the basements of the Hop Exchange Building. It is described as ‘A beautiful subterranean bar in the vaults of the equally beautiful Hop Exchange’ and before that it was Ball’s Brothers’ Hop Cellars. It was also Barkers (Dive) Bar, also known as "The Dive". It was then a below-ground-level bar with original flooring with ‘a character of its own not to be found anywhere else in London. It had first been Becky’s Dive Bar.
Becky’s Dive Bar. “Becky's was the place to go, a filthy insanitary haunt down dangerous stairs. Becky had married an elderly pub landlord and moved into the Dive Bar, then a sandwich shop, in 1954. By the 1960s it was a pub specialising in serving hard-to-find out-of-town ales from casks mounted on the bar. Becky was proud to say she could offer 250 different beers. The bar had a 78rpm gramophone record player with Flanagan and Allen, and the speeches of Winston Churchill and there was also a Hammond Organ. The furniture was mostly beaten up sofas and a visit to the toilets was extremely hazardous. It was forcibly closed for Health and Safety reasons in 1975.
25-33 Universal House. Willcox occupied this building in the late 19th and early 20th.
Railway Bridge. The bridge carries trains from both London Bridge and Cannon Street stations to Waterloo. Government pressure, led to the extension being planned from 1859 but because of Southwark Cathedral the line had to swerve southwards before running west. The extension to cannon street was built in 1863 and designed by Sir John Hawkshaw. This set up a triangle south of the river with initially three tracks two going to Charing Cross and one to Cannon Street. It had been planned initially to run all trains into Cannon Street and then on to Waterloo and Charring Cross. Clearly this didn’t happen. Under the bridge are bright multi colour circular lights, which also act as an informal clock with the lights slowly changing from a shower of multicolour to a wall of solid colour on the hour and half hour
32 Hunter Penrose. In the 1930s this was Wilcox leather belting factory and export department. The current occupants provide printing and hi tech office supplies.
36 Willcox. Willcox was founded in 1878, moving from premises in Upper Thames Street to 36 Southwark Street in 1880. The firm was both an engineers' suppliers and a refiner of lubricating oil. The firm grew and by 1912, when a new building was erected for then at No.38, they had taken over 32, 34 and 23 Southwark St, as well as premises in nearby Castle, Redcross, Emmerson and Worcester Streets. The building remained ruinous following war damage for many many years while remaining in use but now appears to have been rebuilt and tarted up. Willcox appear to have left in the mid-1980s. Wilcox appear to have occupied many buildings in the street during the 20th.
42a Sandeman Stanley Cotton Belting Company - Manufacturers of Belting, Conveyors & Wood Pulleys. This began as Sandeman cotton and jute manufacturers in Dundee. After taking over the Stanley Cotton Company the Sandeman Stanley Cotton Belting Company Limited was set up. The company also had factories in Dundee, Glasgow, and Manchester as well as overseas factories in the US and Australia. They appear to have been on this site in the 1920s.
44-46 Thrale House 44 and 46 were used by Wrights Coal Tar Soap.
50 Wright’s Coal Tar Soap. William Valentine Wright, was a wholesale druggist and chemist who had a small business who developed a reputation with his recipe for non-alcoholic communion wine. The coal-tar soap was first sold in 1860 named Sapo Carbonis Detergens. In 1867, Wright, Sellers & Layman moved here and soon after 44, 46, and 48 were added to the original warehouse. Above new frontages here the upper parts remain. By 1909 the company was one of the leading pharmaceutical houses in the country, and became a public limited company. In the late 1960s they were taken over by London International Group who sold on to Smith and Nephew in the 1990s. The soap is now made in Turkey for the current owners of the brand, and is called Wright's Traditional Soap. It is now is part of Unilever UK Ltd.
48 Saxon House. This has an additional modern attic storey. For much of the 20th century, Wright’s Coal Tar Soap occupied all these properties.
49 one of the first buildings in the street by E. Bates. Warehouse, now offices. Built 1867 for Robert J Bates. The unusual Gothic windows with plate glass survives, as does the fanlight above Southwark Street, entrance. There is a Projecting iron canopy above the hoist range and there is a timber roof structure. At the top it has been carefully restored in High Victorian Gothic style. In 1938 this was used by the Radio Active Mineral Water Co.
50 this has an additional modern attic storey. For much of the 20th, Wright’s Coal Tar soap occupied the property.
51 Menier Chocolate. Built in the 1870s, this was converted to an arts complex that incorporates an art gallery, restaurant and theatre which opened in 2004. Menier were a French chocolate manufacturer, Paris based, who built a factory in London in 1860.
55 Lambert House. Lamberts were an engineering company specialising in hydraulic machinery, moving to this address in 1876.
57 City Bridge House. In the early 20th this was the London office of Haig and Haig Whisky.
59 A shipping warning bell (buoy), a pun on the name of Bell's United Asbestos Co. Ltd, is above the door. Designed 1890 by T. M. Lockwood, with a door case with the bell-buoy motif. This firm had begun as John Bell and Son who were manufacturers of asbestos for use in steam engines and electric machines. In 1909 they merged with United Asbestos to become Bell’s United Asbestos.
59 Scandinavia Belting. This Cleckheaton firm was here in the early 20th. They made Reinforced Cable Slings for suspending Electric Cables. And eventually became part of Turner and Newall.
Joseph Hunt’s playing cards. The Hunt Playing Card business has introduced new methods in the early 19th in playing card design and manufacture. This southwark factory was set up by a descendant of the original firm and remained in business until the 1880s.
60 Southwark Rooms ‘great food and outstanding cocktails’. This was previously the Shakespeare Tavern. In the 1860s it was a Truman’s Pub called The Metropolitan. It is also thought to have been called The Ben Truman in the 1960s, and been rebuilt with the rest of the block in which it now stands
63 Winchester Arms. Pub, now demolished
65 The Harlequin Building. Modern gaudy office block
65 P.Kinnel, who were iron founders and greenhouse manufacturers. Also of the Vulcan Ironworks Thornaby on Tees. They were here in the early 20th. The site had also been used as the ‘New Surrey Works’ of Thomas Green. Green came from the Smithfield Ironworks, Leeds, and made steam rollers and locomotives.
80 Pelican. Pub which dated from the 1880s and has now been demolished.
St. Margaret's Court
This was once called Fishmongers' Alley. This small court is between 62 and 64 Borough High Street. In the time of 16th this area property belonged to the Fishmongers' Company who sold it in 1554–5. The name Fishmongers' Alley survived until 1835.
St. Thomas Street
The street is named for St. Thomas's Hospital, which for over six centuries lay on the north side.
St. Thomas Hospital. On the north side of the street is the site of St. Thomas Hospital. This had been Becket Spital under the direction of the Augustinian Canons at St. Mary Overy and described as ancient in 1215, which suggests it may have been founded after 1173 when Becket was canonised and when it was moved to what became St. Thomas Street. It was previously in the precinct of St. Mary Overie and there may have been an earlier infirmary there from 1106. the priory was burnt down in. 1213 and a new hospital to St Thomas the Martyr was built by Peter de la Roche on the east side of Borough High Street. Later it also absorbed the 'Almerie' of Bermondsey Priory. In the 15th Richard Whittington endowed award for unmarried mothers. The monastery was dissolved in 1539 when it had forty beds for poor and infirm people. The hospital then closed. The premises were then used by the School of Glasspainters who provided specialist art work on glass for posh people. They introduced the renaissance art style to London. The hospital reopened in 1551 when it was purchased from the Crown by the City Corporation for £647 4s. 1d. It was repaired and enlarged and reopened. A year later in 1553the City authorities were made governors of the hospital and a clerk, hospitaller and matron were appointed. It was then reopened and dedicated to Thomas the Apostle. At the beginning of the seventeenth century, it was still functioning as a kind of workhouse bur it was rebuilt in the late 18th through the efforts of Sir Robert Clayton using Thomas Cartwright as the architect.It was rebuilt in brick surrounding three quadrangles, each with a covered walk.. . Keats was a student there and lived in Dean Street under the railway. In 1862 the site was bought by 'the South Eastern Railway for £300,000 – a sum which represented the majority of the railway’s snare capital. In 1871 the hospital moved to Lambeth where it remains.
St. Thomas's Churchyard was on the south side of St. Thomas Street reached by a narrow lane. It was later a private garden to the houses and is now inside the grounds of Guy's Hospital. Appears now to be built over
2-14 This terrace of four-storey brick houses was built for St. Thomas's Hospital by a contractor, Mr. Johnson, in 1819. They were mainly occupied by medical staff from Guys hospital.
2 The Grapes was originally two houses.
St Thomas Church. This was built in 1703 as the chapel of St Thomas's Hospital. It replaced a church originally named for Becket and then renamed St. Thomas the Apostle following the reformation. It was built as the parish church in 1702-3, in what was the courtyard of the hospital, by the Hospital Governors under Sit Robert Clayton as president – a former Lord Mayor. It was built designs by Thomas Cartwright who had been master mason to Wren at St Mary-Le-Bow. The new church was part of the hospital and had a large garret. Road realignment has now meant that the square tower stands out into the street. It became redundant in 1899 and the parish merged with St Saviour's, and it then became the Chapter House. In the late 20th century it was used as offices.
9 Collegiate House. This was the Treasurer's house of old St Thomas's Hospital, of which part later was used as the Chapter House Annexe. Now used as, offices. Built in 1706 in brick, plus what was an entrance to a covered passageway leading to part of the old hospital behind. Outside are cast-iron area railings from 1852
9a Old Operating Theatre, This is a museum of surgical history which is in the garratt of St. Thomas’s Church. It was adjacent to the women’s ward and the patients were all women. There were no anesthetics until 1847 and no antiseptics. Students sat around as an audience. When the hospital demolished was this block was given to the Post Office and they still have it and in 1956 a researcher discovered the garret and the old theatre. In 1962 the operating theatre was opened to the public as the current museum.
Herb Garratt. When the church was built it had a large garret built in the 'aisled-barn' tradition. This was fitted with storage racks, and seems to have been used by the hospital's apothecary to store medicinal herbs. In 1822 part of this became an operating theatre.
11-15 houses which are now an administrative complex for Guys Hospital. 11 was built for the receiver and 13 for the minister of old St Thomas's Hospital. Outside are cast-iron area railings dated 1852.
K2 telephone box outside 17-19
20 New City Court. With offices and hospital staff accommodation, extending Back to George Yard, Designed in 1982 by Halpern Partnership.
Entrance to Guys Hospital. Original wrought-iron gates and railings to the hospital from 1741. There is a shield with an inscription "Dare quam Accipere".
24-26 Italianate building by Newman & Billing's 1862, built for Guy's Hospital medical staff with carvings by John Wesley Seale of Walworth – there are four heads of medical personalities. 24 is now called Keats House. They are now a private psychiatric practice.
Terminus Hotel. This was built in 1861 fronting onto St. Thomas and Joiner Streets. It later became railway offices. It was bombed and demolished in 1941.
London Bridge Station. The work being undertaken in 2014-16 will include a new entrance around the Joiner Street junction and to the south.
St. Thomas's Hospital Burial-ground. This lay on the south side of the street in an area now covered by the modern building of Guy’s Hospital. In the19th it was used as a site for St. Olave's Rectory and gardens used by students at Guys Hospital.
Stainer Street is now lost somewhere under the building works for London Bridge. It was originally named for John Stainer who was the organist of Bermondsey who sung at St. Olave’s and was also organist at St. Paul’s in the 19th.
Blue Plaque to a bombing disaster on air raid shelters in 1941. 90 people were killed.
The road dates from the 17th and ran across the garden of what was Winchester Palace. Until the 19th this ran down to the river and ended up at what became British Wharf. The road runs for its northern section alongside the arches of the approach to Cannon Street Railway Bridge.
Archway, this went across the street and some rough masonry was preserved in it. This was said to be part of the kitchen walls of the Bishops’ Palace.
Portico of the Floral Hall Covent Garden, Thus was Originally a space for hire alongside the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden and was moved her in 2003. It is a decorative frontage to Borough Market and has with first-floor restaurant. It was originally built 1858-9 by Edward Middleton Barry. While the main theatre remained little-altered after its construction, the roof of the Floral Hall had to be rebuilt after fire damage in 1956 and a 1980s extension programme meant it was taken down.
5 This is the only old house left in Stoney Street. It dates from the early 18th and is a three-storey brick building with a modern sop on the ground floor. In 1770, it was used by Foster Greenwell a brandy and hop merchant and after that a corn dealer, corn and seed factors; plumbers and glaziers, potato salesman; and fruit salesman.
9 Market Porter. This is an 18th pub which is now a free house and part of the Market Taverns Group. Situated next to Borough fruit and vegetable market. It is said that there are a number of curios in the pub and on the ceiling rafters
13. This was once a pub called The Feathers
18 The Wheatsheaf. Old pub rebuilt in 1840 with interior partly rebuilt in 1890. It is said to have had an interesting collection of prints of historic Southwark. It was named after the monogram of the craftsman who made the stained glass for nearby St.Saviour's Cathedral. In the 1830's; he painted his symbol on the glass used in the construction of the pub.
23 The George, this was demolished for the railway extension to Charing Cross in 1862. . It stood near George Alley which is marked on the Rocque Map of 1746, as a turning off Winchester Street which ran alongside. 'The George' was originally the 'Bishop's House', used by the retainers of the ecclesiastical establishments, possibly as early as the 14th... Until the end of the 19th the street was picturesque. Gone
35 Golden Lion pub. Gone
Red and black model cows on the roof of a Borough Market shop on the corner of Rochester Walk
Brew Wharf, bar in railway arches. The arches are those of Cannon Street railway bridge approach. At this point the line was widened for the approach to the river, and the bar was tucked into the space created. The rail area above which comes to a dead end once housed a turntable.
Bankside House. This is student accommodation for the London School of Economics. It was built as offices for the Central Electricity Generating Board
This was previously Castle Street. It is named after one of the owners of the Anchor Brewery. The road today is a narrow road with the backs of office buildings on the south side and a listed terrace of houses on the north.
Vinegar Works. This had been a garden and a piggery. A vinegar distillery was built here in 1641 by Mr. Rush and in 1790 it was acquired by Messrs. Potts who had has a works since the early 18th in Whitechapel. The site was eventually taken over by Barclay and Perkins as part of the Anchor Brewery. The entrance to the distillery was at the west end of the street
55-59 Terrace of five house built around 1800
James Spicer. Bookbinders and envelope factory. In the late 19th
Saxon road. The name is a corruption of St Olave’s Street by which it was still known in 1598. Later it was ‘St Tooley's Street’ in 1606, then ‘Towles Street’ in 1608, ‘and St Olave’s alias Tooly Street’ in 1682. This name relates to the location of the church of St Olave in the street. The earliest recorded name for the street is regio vicio - “royal street", meaning a public highway and elsewhere it in "Barms Street” - the street to Bermondsey, or sometimes "Short Southwark”. In the middle ages there were two grand houses here – one, next to the church, was owned by St. Augustine’s Abbey in Canterbury, and the other by the Priory of St.Pancras, Lewes.
1-3 The Mug House. Wine bar tucked unto the arches of London Bridge
Concrete stair case which comes down to Tooley Street from London Bridge Walk above.
Fennings Wharf. Archaeologists discovered a Bronze Age burial mound under the area of the wharf – together with many other important finds. Fenning's Wharf itself was a timber-stanchion warehouse of 1836 by George Allen - he was Surveyor to the parish of St Olave, and published Plans and Designs for the Future Approaches to the New London Bridge in 1827-8. This was a re-building of the wharf following its destruction in a fire of 1836. These warehouses were used for wines, spirits, groceries, and cold storage – and latterly ships from Holland and the Channel Islands.
Entrance to 1 London Bridge and public access to the riverside.
3 Sun Wharf. A smaller wharf next to Fennings Wharf. At one time it handled Australian produce
Bridge and escalator which comes from London Bridge Station, crosses Tooley Street and descends into Hays Galleria and various subterranean passages below. The tunnel was designed to connect all the new buildings of the London Bridge City development in the 1990’s, but the inspiration comes from a previous tunnel that used to link two sites owned by Hays Wharf. As a working wharf, they had two separate buildings with this underpass between them
St. Olave. The church – and the parish which covered this area - was named after the Norwegian King, Olav Haraldsson, who attempted to convert his people to Christianity and was martyred in 1030. He is said to have had helped King Ethelbert defeat the Danes in 1008 by pulling London Bridge down with boats tied to it. He also built a castle in Southwark. The wall came from the medieval abbot of Battle Inn with a house in the Borough.
St Olave Parish Church commemorated the sainted Olaf. The church is mentioned in the Domesday Book and thought to have had with royal patronage. It had probably begun as a private chapel of Godwin, Earl of Wessex from around 1018, who probably knew Olav personally. Its parish stretched form old London Bridge to the Bermondsey boundary. The original Saxon timber church was replaced by a stone church under the Normans. This Norman building collapsed in 1736 and was replaced by a new church designed by Henry Flitcroft which itself was damaged by fire in 184. This fire burnt out the roof and ceiling, and melted the peal of bells, which fell from the belfry. The church was restored but as the population declined it was less used. In 1926 it was declared redundant and demolished. Some institutions remain which were named when this was the parish church
St. Olaf’s House. This art deco office building by Goodhart-Rendel is on the site of St.Olave’s church. It was built in 1929-31 for the Hay's Wharf Company, whose name in gilded metal lettering is on the façade. It is designed to stand on legs to allow access beneath for vehicles going to the quay. On the river facade a broad band of black granite frames the boardroom and directors’ common-room and it is patterned with bronze faience reliefs by Frank Dobson, representing the chain of distribution - chains, bales, crates etc. On the Tooley Street frontage is a linear black-and-gold mosaic of St Olaf by Colin Gill and above the door are tube enamelled copper arms of chief families concerned with the development of the Wharf. There is a drawn outline figure of St Olaf at the corner Inside is enriched with veneers and Birmabrite, an early form of stainless steel and there was originally specially designed furniture. The building was a milestone in the introduction of the Continental modern style into England. It was restored by the Rolfe Judd Partnership in 1982-3. It is now London Bridge Hospital's Consulting rooms and Cardiology Department
Bridge House. This was the administrative and maintenance centre of Old London Bridge. The site is now covered by the London Bridge Hospital and the Cotton's Centre. The first ‘house’ was that of Peter de Colechurch the warden of the bridge from 1163 and probably a monastic building. The second property was the house left by will of Henry Fitz Ailwyn, first Mayor of London, in 1215. In 1700 this consisted of two warehouses, stables, and a dwelling house with 'buttery' and large yard containing a counting house, a hand crane and a crane house.
15 Denmark House. Built in 1908 by S.D. Adshead for the Bennett Steamship Company. There are nautical reliefs – including a steam ship and some cherubs - on the smooth red brick facades in elegant in artificial stone and the building is said to resemble a 17th quayside building in Holland and Boulogne. The Bennett Company originated in Goole in 1873. It is now part of London Bridge Hospital's Outpatient Centre, Physiotherapy Department and Pharmacy. The extensive cellars were used for storage of a variety of items, including the Czar of Russia's silver reserves, and later that of Lenin's.
17-25 Emblem House was previously Colonial House. It was built as the headquarters of Mills and Sparrow, butter brokers, who operated a cold storage warehouse in the building. Stanley Peach, Esq., was the architect. It is now used as consulting rooms and support facilities for London Bridge Hospital as well as the outpatient department.
33 this houses London Bridge Hospital's Women's Centre, Cancer Treatment Suite and consultation rooms. It was built in 1860 as shipping offices.
Braidwood Plaque. This marble monument is high up on the wall of 22. It says “To the memory of James Braidwood, superintendent of the London Fire Brigade, who was killed near this spot in the execution of his duty at the great fire on 22nd June 1861. A just man and one that feared god, of good report among all the nation”
Toppings Wharf. Topping's Wharf was owned by the Tallow Chandlers company. It was burnt down in the fire of 1845. In 1911 it was let to Perrier and soon after to Nestles who put a sign up on the riverfront. It was later sold to the proprietors of Hay’s Wharf.
London Dungeon. This was in the arches under London Bridge Station but has now moved following building work on the station. It was founded in 1974 by Annabel Geddes as a museum of macabre history. It became an actor-led, interactive experience. Kunick Leisure Group owned The Dungeon during the 1980s, and it became part of Merlin Entertainments in 1992. It closed in 2013
London Bridge Hospital. Private hospital converted from Chamberlain's Wharf in 1985 by Llewelyn-Davies Weeks. The centre was opened up as an atrium with a glass barrel vault but the landward facade is original. Walkways link it to Denmark House and Emblem House.
Chamberlains Wharf. This was a warehouse from the early 1860s handling potatos imports. It replaced earlier warehouses, frequently rebuilt, dating to the 17th. The previous Chamberlain's Wharf buildings were destroyed in the disastrous Great Fire of Tooley Street, in 1861. Chamberlain's Wharf was then rebuilt as a single building on footprint of previous multiple buildings. In the Second World War it was a major warehouse for storage and distribution of supplies for American Forces in the UK.
Cotton's Wharf. Thus was originally built 1857, and again Built after the fire of 186l by Snooke and Stock. It was converted to cool stores for butter, cheese and bacon, in the late 19th. Pigs were slaughtered in Denmark towards the end of the week and loading at Danish ports on Friday and Saturday, voyaging across the North Sea on Sunday and arriving here every Monday and Wednesday, alternating with a Dutch vessel.
Cotton Centre. This is an office complex of 1982-6 by Michael Twigg Brown & Partners. Outside is a broad piazza linked to London Bridge City pier.
Cotton’s Building. Centre piece of the development here. This is a seven-storey building designed around an atrium. It has sculpture and a cascade water feature with tropical planting. There is a basement car park and below a sport and leisure centre and sites which were planned as shops. There are also some toilets.
Dancers – sculpture by Allen Jones. This is a silhouette of people dancing the tango. This was commissioned by St. Martin’s Property Company in the late 1980s.
From Redcross Street onwards was called Queen Street. Then duke street from great Guildford Street. They were renamed in 1813. The eastern part of the street was laid out under a 1774 Act for making a new workhouse and for "making a carriage way from the … High Street, through the Greyhound Inn, into Queen Street, and for improving the passage from thence. The Greyhound stood in Borough High Street and was presumably demolished to allow for the road junction. It was called Union Street because it marks the boundary between the two parishes.
14 Chapel Yard. Price Waterhouse Training Centre. This is in a refurbished hop warehouse built in 1853, for W H & H Lemay, hop factors, which had several buildings in the area. Alterations by T P. Bennett & Son, 1973-5.
27 & 29 Durato Asbestos Flooring Co Ltd. Also Somerville laboratories electro depositors of precious metals in the 1960s
Union Hall. In 1782 the Union Hall was opened as the Surrey Magistrates Court in the borough, the JPs having previously sat at the Town Hall in the High Street. The facade of the Hall was retained on the new structure on the site in 2005. The Surrey Magistrates not only dealt with crime but with such matters as apprenticeships. The building has just undergone a major development and only the facade has survived. In the 1920 it was the headquarters of the 1st Cadet Battalion London Regiment and the Southwark Cadets Club,
Surrey Dispensary. This moved here in 1784, next door to Union Hall. There were now three physicians, two surgeons, one apothecary and a number of midwives. By 1839, this premises was too small and The Dispensary moved to Great Dover Street
Redcross Works. James Spicer & Sons Ltd, envelope factory. Spicer’s were paper merchants and office sundries manufacturers based in New Bridge Street. They took this factory over in 1886.
18 In the 1920s this was a works for William Johnson and Sons who were manufacturing stationers, and specialist loose leaf ledger manufacturers. This has been demolished.
18 George Gwilt, the elder, surveyor to the Surrey and Kent Commissioners of Sewers, district surveyor of St. George's Parish and surveyor to the Clink Paving Commissioners, lived here with his son, having built these and other houses here. Here he formed a museum of local antiquities. The house was demolished in the late 19th
Electricity substation. This handles power for the Jubilee Line
32 Catherine Wheel pub. Gone
33 W.Tice gas governor manufacturers and also Francis, Ryland & Co, brush manufacturers. These were present in the 1920s. Tice were Glasgow based gas engineers
39-41 St Saviour's house. Built in 1911. This is in use or child related social services and for some parochial activities and charity
48 Southwark Diocesan Board of Education – St. Saviour's parochial schools
St Saviour's Parochial and National Schools. St. Saviour’s parochial and National Schools. Built in 1908 they replaced the schools built nearby on the old graveyard. This two-storey building, has a roof-top playground” It is now let as offices
47-49 Ragged School with plaque “The Mint and Gospel Lighthouse Mission, Shaftsbury Society” Gospel Lighthouse Mission Shaftesbury society. The Ragged School, Built in 1907, this is a former mission hall and boy’s club. This is now flats
50 Thomas Keating, patent medicine proprietor. Keating’s Powder was a well known insect killer popular in the early 20th. Keating however were an older established firm making many patent medicines.
50-52 London Centre of Contemporary Music. This was founded in 2002 by Geoff Hemsley and Darius Khwaja, as an independent higher education institution for popular music.
54-58 the warehouse/former electricity substation on the corner of Flat Iron Square. The previous building was used by Keating.
59-61 this mainly dates from the early 19th but it incorporates part of an 18th house In the yard at the rear stood an old building which was for malting barley with stables on the ground floor. The firm of Allsop, turners and brushmakers, were here 1787 - 1880. Joseph Watson & Co., yeast manufacturers then took over the premises.
62 –64. Pair of terraced houses built 1835 including Devonshire House. These have been used as art galleries but are now under renovation
65 Rose and Crown. Two-bar locals' pub. With typical Courage style oak panelling. The pub name symbolises the union of York and Lancaster in the marriage of Henry VI and Elizabeth of York.
J.T. Davenport. The company moved here in 1904. They were manufacturers of patent medicines – including Chlorodyne, an opiate based nostrum which is now banned. They also made J.Collis Brown's Compound - an infamous but very dodgy medicine that contained now-illegal ingredients. It was known as a general cure-all.
85 & 87 Crown Pen Works Co, fountain pen makers. In 1922 this became the Union Pen Works
88 King Edward VII, Pub Now demolished. The site is now an architect practice.
90 Salmon Pub. Now demolished.
100-112 18th terrace which were badly bombed. In the 19th there were a number of hat manufacturers in these buildings. They have since been demolished.
103 Three Jolly Gardeners. Built in 1954, this two-bar pub replaced one which was bombed. It is no longer there
135 Monument Tavern. Victorian landlord was a murderer. The pub has been demolished,
171 Jerwood Space. This is on the site of the 1872 Orange Street School. In 1998 it was refurbished by the Jerwood Foundation with architects Paxton Locher to provide rehearsal facilities for dance and theatre companies, while the Gallery (the old bike sheds) is now Jerwood Visual Arts. The top floors, which had been lost in bombing, were restored by Munkenbeck & Partners in 2007, as rehearsal studios and meeting rooms.
Orange Street School. Built by the School Board for London in 1872 replacing housing owned by the Ecclesiastical Commission. It was designed by Robson. It had a babies' room so that older girls, otherwise left at home while mother worked, could come to school. It became John Harvard School in 1937. Orange Street was renamed Copperfield Street - Some of the early part of that book was based on Dickens' painful childhood experiences in that area. After John Harvard School closed, the building became a Southwark Council training centre. In 1998 it was refurbished by the Jerwood Foundation.
An Independent meeting house there was opened in 1640 and existed until 1788 when it was removed to a new building in Union Street.
Post Office Borough Parcels Offices built 1902. This has been the headquarters of the London Fire Brigade since 2008.
This covers the area which was the court yard of the Town House and Park of the Bishops of Winchester. In the 18th it was called Primrose Alley. It also covers an area of St. Mary Overie Wharf
Bollard at the north-east corner of Winchester Square and Cathedral Street which bears the inscription ‘Wardens of S. Saviours 1827
Stone archway bombed and demolished
14 The Rake. Pub
New Hibernia Wharf. 19th warehouse owned by the John Humphrey and set up for cold storage/
From 1687 there was a Baptists meeting house in Gravel Lane on. Zoar Street was cut through beside the chapel early in the 18th and named for it. By 1819 the chapel was used as a workshop with an adjacent school still in operation,
Aldous. Village London
Alsatia. Web site.
Beck and Pollitzer. Web site
Bird. Geography of the Port of London.
Boak and Baileys Beer Blog. Web site
Borough Market. Web site
British History Online. Southwark. Web site
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Cavanagh. Public Sculptures of South London
Clunn. The Face of London
Day. London’s Underground
Field and Sons. Web site
Field. London place names
Francis. History of the Cement Industry
Golden. Old Bankside,
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Greater London Council. Home Sweet Home
Guys and St. Thomas’s Hospitals. Web site
Historic England. Web site
Horne. The Northern Line
In the Aquarium. Web site
Jackson, London’s Termini
Lascelles. The City and South London Railway
London Bridge Hospital. Web site
London Borough of Southwark. Official Guide. (No date but guess mid-1960s)
London Borough of Southwark. Web site
London Corresponding Society. Web site
London Remembers. Web site
London SE1, Web site
Lost Pubs Project. Web site
Nairn. Nairn’s London
Pevsner and Cherry, South London
Pub History. Web site
SE1. Web site
Skyscraper News. Web site
Southwark Cathedral. Web site
Summerson. Georgian Buildings in London
Thames Basin Archaeology of Industry Group Report
Thomas. London and Greenwich Railway
Watson. Old London Bridge Lost and Found
Watts. Glassmaking in London
Workhouses. Web site
Yorkshire Archaeological Society. Web site